We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet gem in the middle of the city”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my first stay in Dublin, and I had left it up to my travelling buddy to book a hotel. I was not disappointed. This is a small, clean, friendly hotel in the middle of a city. The staff were friendly and could not help us enough - even when we had a very early morning check out. After being out in the hustle and bustle of the city, when we stepped into our room it was so quiet and peaceful you would have thought you were in a hotel in the country.

The room was large and clean and contained all the usual amenities. The hotel was within easy walking distance to the main shopping area and tourist attractions in Dublin. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank the_keys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We both started and ended our 3 week trip to ireland at the Schoolhouse Hotel and it was brilliant! The place was recommended to us by a friend from Dublin who thought we would like the place and the neighbourhood - well, she was right. The restaurant and bar are used by local people as well and that makes you feel very not "touristy". Food was great, the architecture is amazing, the rooms are lovely decorated (arts & craft), movies are free and the staff is really nice and helpful (special thanx to Sara!).
We'll definetely stay again at the Schoolhouse Hotel / Bar / Restaurant whenever we are in Dublin.

Room Tip: the rooms all have the same layout, so no need to worry ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Having heard of the noise problems of staying close to the enter of town, I explored hotels a bit removed, but in walking distance, from the city center. The Schoolhouse Hotel intrigued me because it was a former schoolhouse converted into hotel rooms and had received good reviews on Trip Advisor. I'm so glad we chose to stay here. It's within a 15-20-min walk to the center of town (Trinity College, etcl), and is also accessible to areas closer to the coast (slightly longer, but doable, walks). The rooms are comfortable. My only (very minor) issue is that there were no dressers with drawers; so, t-shirts and the like had to be stashed elsewhere. Again, no big deal. I would stay here again in a heartbeart. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. The surrounds along the Grand Canal make for a great walk as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Millerdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Went there recently and I was impressed by its old style charm and decor. It is a beautiful building full of its own quirkiness. It's about 15mins walk to the city centre and is situated right on the Dublin canal in a clean and safe area of Dublin. One downside is the price of a glass of wine is over €7, overall it's a nice place to have food or to stay, would recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank timothy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our last night in Ireland was spent at the Schoolhouse Hotel ... we could not have picked a better spot! The Hotel is lovely and fairly easy to find (we were driving into Dublin after driving through Ireland). Our room (we stayed in the Arthur Guinness room) was spacious and elegant. Our bathroom was huge - especially compared to most of the bathrooms we had in our travels. We had supper at the bar restaurant and our food was excellent! I had the mussels and my husband had a local beef burger - so yummy :) We had a fabulous breakfast the next morning after sleeping great in our comfortable bed. The staff were so helpful and kind, helping us figure out how to get to the airport the next morning. What a wonderful way to end our stay in Ireland! I would highly recommend the Schoolhouse to anyone travelling to Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJWC_KLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We enjoyed the stay very much, well located with regards to transport and access to the city and located in a quiet part of town.

The rooms are reasonable spacious, but the bathroom is a tad compact. Breakfast selection and service was quite good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Enjoyed the walking proximity to downtown, and ditto other comments about staff. We recently spent 2 nights at The Schoolhouse Hotel in Dublin. The staff was extremely helpful and went above and beyond to answer questions and get local tourist information for us and helped us retrive the ipad left on a taxi!. Everyone was very friendly The hotel is charming. Our room was sweet and comfortable

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VBader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 150 in Dublin
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,787 reviews
1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £93 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing