We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

If you, like me, are not looking to stay in a large, modern hotel but rather someplace where you can have a more personal, local experience - look no further. About 5-10 min (bus) or 15- 20 min (very pleasant) walk to city center, this small hotel sits in an area of Georgian townhouses in an upscale area of south (below river LIffey) Dublin. Room was spotless, included a sauna and a jacuzzi, and in our case, doors out to a private patio. Desk staff extraordinarily helpful and pleasant (offering tea/coffee & cookies every time you enter...either in their beautiful lounge or in your room), including directions, and restaurant suggestions. Full Irish breakfast included, which was fabulous and fueled you for a day of walking and sightseeing. Linens, water pressure, TV, services - all were flawless. Came here from a week in Tuscany, so the bar was high...but they surpassed expectations! Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank educated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

Great hotel and they have a great location in te city. A small and confortable hotel. Asap i Will come back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I just stayed there for one night but I can say the bedroom is one of the most comfortable I ever been in my like. The bed is great, there's sauna, jacuzzi, sound system, DVD player (and a collection of movies for you to choose)... There's also tea and coffee in the room... Just great!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielCaruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Great hotel with great amenities. Also great value for the rate. Centrally located without being too close to the hustle and bustle. Would come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fineke j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

A small wonderfully cosy hotel near the southern city centre of Dublin. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast with all you can possibly ask for.
The rooms are a little on the small side, but absolutely clean and comfortable. They include a private infra-red sauna and jacuzzi-bath.
The city centre is a pleasant stroll away which is great considering that buses tend to run on their own schedule in Dublin.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There is an economy room at a great price - just be aware that it is really tiny! If you feel you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FliwatuetDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Most welcoming arrival by helpful male member of staff, met us at rear door from secure car park, and assisted with cases to room. Showed us around the room, and how to operate jacuzzi and sauna, Free wi fi within the hotel a bonus,well positioned modern
tv and dvd with films in room. Nicely laid out even though we didnt need the additional 2 single beds in the room. Offered a tray of tea and biscuits on arrival which we took in the lounge. Assisted us by providing a map of Dublin to help us get our bearing and information about local transport, and the ideal bus stop outside the hotel, but the City centre is only 15 mins walk so a good location.
When we returned from shopping we were offered another tray of tea and biscuits in the room, which was brought to us. This was a very nice gesture after a long day.
The room itself was a good size. The room and it's bathroom was capable of accommodating wheelchair users. It was very clean, with good bedlinen & towels& toiletries, & well stocked tea & coffee.
We had continental breakfast which included freshly made porridge and all the cereals, yoghurts ham, cheese & fresh juices. The full irish looked delicious - we only declined because we had been eating the full irish at other hotels durng the week & fancied a change. We certainly were not disappointed with the continental option. The service at breakfast was friendly and attentive, though it was very busy and everyone seemed to be down for breakfast at the same time that morning.
The only very slight negative was that the bathroom fan in the room seemed to stay on for a long time after using the bathroom. It may have been because the bathroom door wouldn't quite close properly, but we couldn't resolve it & if we were staying longer than one night we would have mentioned it to the staff.
The following day we were advised that our ferry home was 9 hours later than planned & the hotel staff kindly allowed us to leave the car & luggage in the secure car park. Then on our return we were offered the use of the hotel lounge to recover from our day of sightseeing before our journey home.
The exceptional level of attentive, friendly customer service makes this hotel very highly recommended by us & we would definitely return if visiting Dublin again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkndance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Good location- very near city centre and 10 minutes walk to Merion Square. I travelled alone for an exam.
Aircoach from Dublin airport stops 2 mins walk away saving cash on taxis.
Good deli cafes, restaurants (must try Junior's, ideal for a quick really tasty lunch amongst the office workers.)and small supermarket nearby.
Nice choice of DVDs in room, comfortable bed and spacious bath. Safe and fridge in room.
Only thing there was a motion sensor light near the doorway that comes on when I went to the loo which was annoying.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o-self
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,240 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,725 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,620 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Address: 46 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#16 Business Hotel in Dublin
#17 Family Hotel in Dublin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £74 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing