We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Roxford while in Dublin. We were welcomed with tea and felt like Royalty. Even though our room faced the street it was completely quiet. The room was lovely, but a bit small. Ours had an infrared sauna which didn't interest us - I would have preferred somewhere to put the second suitcase instead. However we didn't spend much time in the room so it wasn't really an issue. Our bathroom had a jet tub that we appreciated after a full day of walking around Dublin. The bed was very comfortable.

The variety of food offered at breakfast was amazing - fresh croissants that were fabulous - more than anywhere else we stayed during our vacation.

There is a bus stop in front of the hotel or if you're ambitious, a 25-minute walk to St. Stephen's Green. The Air Coach service lets you off less than two blocks away, when travelling to/from the airport, which was great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LH_Loves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our room was very clean, homey and accessible. The staff were extremely helpful and made us feel like valued relatives, not strangers. (Special kudos to Desmond.) There was a variety of breakfast options, so we did not leave hungry. We loved every minute of our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We began and ended our trip to Europe at this hotel and stayed in two different rooms here. The first room was in need of a decor update and felt pretty cramped; between two adults and two suitcases, there just wasn't a lot of room to maneuver. The second room was far more spacious and also featured a more modern-looking bathroom.

Positive points about the Roxford Lodge:
* The staff was extremely welcoming, friendly, and helpful with providing directions, information on area attractions, etc.
* The hotel and surrounding neighborhood were both quiet
* The breakfast was delicious

Neutral/not-so-positive observations (depending on your point of view):
* The clientele here is older. We're in our 30s and the vast majority of the people staying here were seniors. This wasn't necessarily a negative thing for us, but it may be for you if you are looking for a more youthful, energetic setting.
* There is a 15- to 20-minute walk to the main city. We personally enjoyed the exercise, and the OK weather combined with the late sunsets in June made for a pleasant walking experience. However, in foul weather, I'm sure the walk feels like an eternity.

Overall, we felt that the Roxford Lodge was an excellent value for the money and would recommend this place to people who aren't bothered about not being in the center of the action.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel. The service is superb. We had a room on lower level which included a patio with bubbling fountains, sauna (who takes a suana?), whirlpool and very clean!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

During our visit to Ireland in May 2012, we stayed one night at the Foxford Lodge Hotel, in Dublin Ireland. We thought this was going to be a stay at a hotel like facility but was very pleasantly surprised to find it more like a bed and breakfast. Our only regret was that we did not book a longer stay.

There were three of us traveling together and we stayed in the family suite, which consisted of 1 room with a double and a single bed, a full bath with a Jacuzzi bath, small sauna, as well as a small table and chairs. The room was clean and bright. There was a patio just outside our room.

When we arrived we met Desmond. He served us tea while we waited for our room and answered all of our questions with a smile and a genuine interest in making our stay memorable.

We opted for the continental breakfast which included a plate of ham and cheeses, fresh fruit and yogurts, porridge, cereals, croissants and Irish brown bread, tea, coffee and juice. Agnes, our server, was very pleasant and delightful.

I would highly recommend the Foxford Lodge to anyone planning a trip to Dublin. Location is ideal to the buses and is within walking distance to many of the city's attractions. We truly enjoyed the staff, the breakfast, and found the accommodations to be very pleasant. Should we return to Dublin, we would definitely book our stay at Foxford Lodge.

Thank you Desmond and Agnes!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

As we walked towards the door of the Roxford Lodge, we met other guests who raved about the place. We had booked the last room available, the ‘Executive Suite.’ It was a small, fully equipped apartment. We just wanted a room. The price of the suite was reasonable for what it was, but more than double what we need to spend. OK, I went in with my eyes open.
I have struggled for over 2 weeks about how to rate it. So, here are the positives and negatives.
Pros:
• The house has considerable charm, especially in its unique and personal decorative style. Although it is not to everyone’s taste. Some might call it a hodge-podge of kitsch.
• On arrival, the owner presented us with a nice box of Butler chocolates and a mid-priced bottle of wine. That eased the pain of the room charge a little.
• The office space included a desktop computer, printer-copier, speakers and plenty of work-space.
• The laundry room included a washer, dryer and ironing equipment.
• There are closets galore.
• The hotel is a courteous, hospitable place.
• There was adequate, secure parking behind the house.
• The Executive Suite is well worth the cost for a large family that is staying for a week.
• Decorations included an overdose of Tiffany-like furnishings (a chandelier, lamps too numerous to count, red velvet swan-arm settee, velvet arm-chairs, small tables, bar-stools and much more (telephones and TVs all over). Yes, that is a lot of stuff, and I cannot think of anything that was not there. It is like being at home.
• The bus stops in front of the hotel, so you need not walk.
Cons:
• What annoyed me no end was the non-refundable 15 Euro booking charge. I will grant that it cost us nothing since we stayed there. I do not EVER recall such an unfriendly request in any hotel, in any country – and I have seen a few hundred hotels!
• A few things were slightly worn on the edges (You expect that in such a large old house).
• The house is a good half-hour walk to the downtown.
• The breakfast was NOT included in the room price – but I knew that. We stayed in Ireland for two weeks. The English breakfast (which I did not try) and the omelet (which I did try) were the most expensive we found in Ireland, and the omelet was second-least satisfying. It was not bad; but, it was nothing special.
Neutral:
• Our suite on the top floor was actually split on 3 levels. The kitchen and bath were down a few steps; the Jacuzzi room (with flat-screen TV) was half a level up – over the kitchen and bath.
• The restaurant recommendations were good in that the food was excellent and the directions perfect. Roly’s had great food, but the service was unbelievably bad.
• The staff were always helpful and treated us with courtesy. What was missing was the warmth we felt in most other hotels and B&Bs in Ireland.

Room Tip: Do not take the Suite if you do not need it - that is, a large group, or a long stay. It has everyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a very spacious room which included a small sauna and a jacuzzi bath. The staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful. They served complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cold drinks (With packets of biscuits) all day either in your room or in the lovely lounge. There is also tea and coffee making facilities in your room. The continental breakfast was adequate for myself and my friends, although the full Irish breakfast looked very nice it cost 12 Euro's which we all felt was expensive. The hotel is in a quiet location, a 15/20 minute walk into the city of Dublin. We ate at the School house restaurant just up the road and the food was excellent. We would also recommend The Church, The Arlington hotel for the dinner and show (the one by the river) and the Seine cafe. Also look out for vouchers for 10% off prices and free coffees etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 118 for 3 people. We would recommend this room very nice and in a quiet position a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.9 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,662 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,160 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 151 in Dublin
1,643 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Address: 46 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#16 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#26 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £76 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing