We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Convenient”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed 4 nights in a single room at this hotel in October,while visiting Ireland along with my brother and sister-in-law. The rooms are quite small, and I found the inclusion of an in-room sauna somewhat puzzling. However, the room was very clean, with comfortable bedding, good heating and sufficient amenities (soaps, shampoo, body lotion, a kettle, teabags and instant coffee). The shower is in a bathtub, and the shower screen isn't entirely effective. The water takes some time to heat up. These are only minor negatives, though. The hotel feels very secure, and there is free (albeit cramped) parking available - a huge bonus. The breakfast was hearty and well cooked. I found all of the staff to be helpful and friendly. It's about 15 minutes of brisk walking to the tourist centre (Trinity College, Temple Bar) - not a problem when I was there, as the weather was "mild" for that time of year, but it would be a less comfortable distance if it was wet and windy. At a rate of around AUD115 per night, I felt that this was a good value hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    361
    71
    22
    10
See reviews for
213
595
109
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Ewell, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived early at this pleasant hotel and offered coffee and biscuits instantly, which was a nice touch! Our room was in the basement overlooking a court yard, the room was more than adequate although quite small, the bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have slept on in a hotel. The hotel was very clean and staff very helpful and knowledgable. Breakfast was huge, fresh and delicious. Location ideal with a bus stop right outside the hotel, 4 or 7 takes you to O'Connell Street. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAG95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I've been making an annual trip to Ireland for the past 8 or 9 years and always look forward to staying at the Roxford Lodge. The owners are constantly refurbishing and upgrading their rooms and they are doing a fine job. The rooms are spotlessly clean and their linens are top quality. I love that they offer free parking in their secured lot at the rear of the hotel. They also offer a variety of options for the included breakfast and each one is delicious -- fresh fruit, hot and cold cereal, full Irish breakfast, french toast, cheeses, just to name a few items. Ballsbridge is a nice, quiet area of Dublin and the American Embassy is just down the road from the hotel. Staff is super gracious and very helpful. They offered great suggestions for restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. They have a computer w/printer in the lounge which guests are free to use and complimentary wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A short bus ride takes you very close to Trinity College and Grafton Street, and the bus stop is right across the street from the hotel (if you take the same bus back, the stop is right outside the front door). I've stayed at 3 other hotels in Dublin as well, and this one is far and away my favorite one, and the rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suetvlnut2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for about a week in October. From the moment we got in at 5:30 am to the time we left for the airport we felt completely at ease and taking care of. My friend got really the sick the first day and the staff manged to check us in early and always asked how she was feeling. The room was very nice and big for European rooms. Plenty of space for two people including a sauna. They even give you DVD's to watch! The hotel in is Ballsbridge and is a bout a 10-15 min walk to downtown area. It's all one road and very safe. The neighborhood is actually really pretty and I recommend walking around a bit. You also get a good nights sleep due to little street noise if any. I would recommend the hotel to anyone and would be sure to pick it when I return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaz8610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a very nice B&B. Outstanding breakfast with service to match. We had a room overlooking the back parking lot. Very quiet. 2 double beds. Not a lot of room to move around with 2 suitcases open but adequate room. Very clean linen and bathroom. Our friends arrived 2 hours early to meet us and were welcomed with tea in a large sitting room with a fire. Irish manners are the friendliest in the world. Cab drivers were extremely friendly and kept trying to round the fare DOWN as I was rounding it up! These were not wealthy men, just very caring and warm towards myself and my wife. We stayed 3 nights and had no complaints about anything here. They have an agreed price for taxis to the airport posted on the door for guests. (23 Euros approx, I think.)
Walking to the center of Dublin was about 15 minutes and we walked it every day, walking home in the dark every night. Never felt uncomfortable in the neighborhood. Temple Bar is a bit of a hike if you're not used to walking but ok. I would not trade the Irish B&B experience here for a traditional hotel. Our friends were just a number at the downtown hotel, not a treasured guest. We had already driven ourselves down the West coast, staying at a different B&B every night so we expected and received the same warm welcome in the big city of Dulin at this place as we had in the rural coutryside of the West coast

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is an excellent hotel away from the city center in a quieter area of Dublin. It is only a short 15-20 minute walk to the city center.
The room was large and very comfortable and the jacuzzi tub and in room sauna were welcome additions. The front desk staff was very helpful and their restaurant recommendations were exactly what we were looking for.
This is probably the best hotel we stayed in for the 2 weeks we were in Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coloarap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Roxford Lodge for our first two nights in Ireland. We were lucky enough to be able to check in early after an over night flight. The staff was friendly. The room was clean and had everything that we needed. The location was a little bit of a walk to the highlights of Dublin, but we did not mind it at all. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanti_seeker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.9 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,566 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,197 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,034 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Property: Roxford Lodge Hotel
Address: 46 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#16 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#26 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing