We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed one night at the Roxford Lodge Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The rooms were spacious, clean and quiet at night! The location of the hotel was great - close to good restaurants in a quiet part of the city.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast that we decided to pay the extra fee for was delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I am writing this here on my last of 4 nights. Upgraded to the new rooms in the back and it's very nice. The best part is the service and the staff goes out of their way to help. This morning I asked if they had a DVD copy of Michael Collins and not only did they go buy it, they picked up a documentary on him as well. Wonderful service!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FunTrvlCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Roxford Lodge for 3 nights.It was okay but the room was quite cramped, there was a "sauna" room within the room I would have preferred a usable space rather than sauna but that is probably just a personal thing. It was dark in the room and difficult to get to the window to open the drapes as there was a small table and chairs there and we needed to put a suitcase on the floor there too. Breakfast was pleasant with a small but reasonable choice. You can catch a bus easily into the city or walk if you like a good walk. It is in a pleasant neighbourhood which we enjoyed walking around. A nice shopping area nearby with some good eateries. Overall a nice stay but not wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I enjoyed the Roxford Lodge, loved the big rooms and the Sauna. Everyone at the front desk was incredibly helpful and the front room was very relaxing. Bus stop close by and really liked the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at Roxford Lodge for two nights in June 2014. Single room, small and a bit strange as it has a sauna inside the room and I was afraid of using it. The window of the room is turned to the outside stairs of the hotel so I could never open the window, not even the curtains.
The bed very confortable, good shower, free wifi with great speed and this was really important for me. The sauna occupies lots of space in the room and most of all I was afraid of increasing the temperature of the room by using it.
Continental breakfast was ok and the lady at the breakfast room is very attentive and nice.
Everyone I met at the reception was always very nice. The hotel is not very close to the city main atractions but I easily walked (15minutes)
There's a bus from the airport (number 702) stopping really close to the hotel, no need to take a taxi.
There's a great place to eat very close to the hotel: The School house Hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

More a guest house than ' Boutique ' hotel. Sub standard, small room and bathroom, all very dreary and in need of a good overhaul.

Very over priced, breakfast also not included.

All in all a total rip off!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnsie O, Front Office Manager at Roxford Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Mr. Peter B.,

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.

I am incredibly sorry and disappointed that you felt your stay was not up to our usual high standards. May I start by apologizing unreservedly for failing to meet your expectations, it is unacceptable and I can assure you we take your feedback very seriously indeed.

I will review the points you have raised with the wider management team here at the Hotel and address them accordingly. Our rates are usually highly competitive and we have often been told several times that we offer far better value than most hotels in our area. We also offer all of our customers the option of room only rates and/or B&B rates.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity, at some point in the future, to show you the high standards of service we can and do deliver.

Thank you again for your review and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Roxford Lodge Hotel again.

With renewed apologies,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

It's not exactly in the center of the city, but if you don't mind a quick walk (15min) or using the bus it will be a great location for you. Our only problem was the parking situation at first: We arrived on a Friday afternoon of a bank holiday, and had been a little overwhelmed by Dublin traffic. Huge accident on the highway, but going back roads was almost just as bad. My husband ended up parking on the sidewalk while I ran in to try to figure out where he should park. The gal at the front desk was helpful in directing us to the back parking, and the rest of our stay was great after that. The bedroom we were in was a little dated in decor, but it still was nice. It was fun to have a sauna to relax in after all the hiking we had been doing! It has wifi and the staff was kind. No problems for us and it was a great deal compared to some of the hotel deals I saw for Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.9 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,189 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,646 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Address: 46 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#16 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#26 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £67 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing