We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groundfloor nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #13 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Groundfloor nightmare”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Having prepaid a one-night stay at the Roxford Lodge, I arrived early to be told I was confined to a ground floor single room. Indeed, I could not get my money back and had no other choice than accept the punishment.

The door to the outside parking lot banged loudly next to my room every time someone used it - the last person came in after midnight, and the first one out left before 6am.
I could hear anyone using the bathrooms on my floor as well as the one above, which made for distractions when the parking door was quiet.
The room had the feel of a prison cell, with a small window up the wall to give a narrow view of the grey sky.

I am obviously relieved that I did not stay longer, but would assume that rooms above ground are modern and comfortable. It just felt unpleasant to be given the very worst room in the house, because I had paid in advance and was probably a passing visitor in town.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank FrenchLIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnsie O, Manager at Roxford Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very disappointed and saddened to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and we always endeavour to ensure that our customers are happy and even try to exceed our customers’ expectations. If you had let us know upon checking in that you were not happy with your room, we would have been more than happy to have moved you to another room. Even the very fact that you say that you arrived early, would have offered a greater chance for us to have been able to move you to another room, and we could even have been able to offer you a selection of rooms to choose from, as other guests would not have checked in yet.

We offer an advanced purchase offer to our customers on our website so that our customers can avail of the best offers and discounts by paying in advance. This by no way means that we do not offer our customers the best choice of accommodation when they avail of this offer. Under no circumstances is this the case at all. All of our rooms are done up to the highest of standards with every modern amenity for our customers to enjoy in comfort, which does not change whether a customer pays in advance or not.

It is a shame that you did not inform us that you were not happy being located on the ground floor, which is not underground, as our hotel does not have a basement, as we would have been more than happy to have moved you to another room.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity, at some point in the future, to show you the high standards of service we can and do deliver.

Thank you for your review and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Roxford Lodge Hotel again.

Kind regards,

Stephanie Kennedy
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    377
    77
    24
    10
See reviews for
225
618
116
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

A stay in Roxford Lodge Hotel will bring you excellent value with minimal compromise on quality. From here it is a short walk to St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College and most of the other tourist sites in Southeast Dublin, and if you are headed north of the Liffey, the bus stops across the street. You won't quite be in the thick of things, but you also won't be besieged with noise or traffic as you will find in the city center proper. The Hotel is on a lovely tree lined street, the rooms are nicely appointed, and the staff for the most part (one unpleasant woman was a notable exception) very friendly and helpful. Tea, coffee and biscuits are available at any time of day either in the lounge, which feels very much like the sitting room in an elegant Victorian home, or else by delivery to your room. We stayed in a triple on the ground floor and it was among the very nicest accommodations we enjoyed in over a month travelling through Ireland and Scotland. The room was very thoughtfully designed, immacutely clean and comfortable, and made exceptionally good use of space, so much so that it almost felt like two separate bedrooms. Glass doors led to a small garden (which unfortunately abutted the parking area). The room included any number of amenities including a small DVD library, excellent lighting (those who are well travelled will appreciate that by comparison many hotel rooms are dimly lit), a desk with a printer, and so forth. Unless you absolutely must be in the city center, or are in search of a large establishment with health club and the like, you simply won't find a better value inn a safe, fashionable part of town. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayfarer909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgee, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a very pretty street, parking was very secure. Within walking distance to some fantastic restaurants. We had a triple room which didn't leave a lot of room for suitcases, the Saunas take up so much space and we never even opened ours up. The spa bath was fantastic and the rooms are very clean. Breakfast was fantastic, best continental we have had so far in our trip!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Warm and friendly hotel in a quiet location a short scenic walk along the canal from Dublin city centre.
Rooms exceptionally well appointed ours across the courtyard 5*luxury.
Breakfast is not to be missed our first experience of a full Irish
No need for lunch after that.
Fabulous home made pastries and scones too.
Very friendly staff would 100% recommend staying here when in Dublin

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumpingjack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Recently had the occasion to seek accommodation for visiting guests to Dublin - although their budget was limited, their expectations of standards were not and they wanted the very best within walking distance of Dublin city centre - the search began and I settled upon Roxford Lodge hotel in D4. the service offered was absolutely exceptional and the personalised care and attention could only be found in a family-run enterprise. The rooms, though not very large (we booked singles) were exceptionally well made-up with unusual details like a sauna in one and a jacuzzi in another! the noise level were very low so good sleep and peaceful atmosphere was assured. Desmond also went out of his way to provide extra facilities when required, like afternoon tea in the private lounge, recommendations for an excellent meal only 5 minutes away and touring suggestions & reservations
So well done to the operators of this delightful hotel in D4 and thanks for giving us a new home from home to offer our guests in Dublin!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon. The service was wonderful (they let us check in at 10 AM after our flight got in, when normal check-in was 2 PM), and even brought us tea when we first arrived. The Executive Suite was well worth it. For a slightly higher, nominal price than an ordinary room, the suite came with a four-poster king sized bed, a jacuzzi, sauna, mini bar (with a complimentary bottle of wine - red or white - and a complimentary box of Belgian chocolates), a private use desktop computer and printer, a full kitchenette (range, minifridge, full-sized sink, dishwasher, etc.), and a balcony. Admittedly, the balcony isn't the greatest view, but it is comfortable. All in all, the suite was well worth the price.

The one downside is the Roxford Lodge isn't terribly convenient getting to or from the airport. The hotel has a flat-rate €25 agreement with cabs to get you to and from, and they run all hours, but aside from that, you'd be taking the bus. On the upside, the Roxford is a convenient 15 minute walk from downtown, and there's a mainline bus stop right in front of the hotel that takes you downtown in 5-6 minutes.

The Roxford Lodge was as fantastic stay, and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Dublin.

Room Tip: Reserve the Executive Suite if it's available. Great value for only a slightly higher rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkunk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The quality/price rate is average, the room n°106 was really small (even if furnished with a sauna). The position is not bad, cause you can reach the town centre in 15 min. by walk or 5 min. by bus. The staff is really kind.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefy_bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.9 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,541 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.6 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Property: Roxford Lodge Hotel
Address: 46 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#16 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#26 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing