We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Accommodating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roxford Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and Accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed there twice. On our first arrival the room was quite small for three people. Since we only stayed for two nights, it was bearable. The room was clean and the hosts were friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were wonderful. Plenty of on-site parking. Easy walking distance to downtown.

On our second return, we were upgraded without requesting it. To our pleasant surprise, we stayed in their penthouse room, which actually was an apartment. Very comfortable for long term stays. Sadly for us, we were staying for only one night. We arrived by taxi from the airport. It was a tight fit with all our luggage and three people in a small car with small trunk space. However, the driver was pleasant and even set-up a taxi van to take us to the airport the next morning. That driver was pleasant as well and full of information. He made a wonderful tour guide for our ride from the hotel to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    340
    68
    20
    9
See reviews for
197
566
104
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

My wife, teenage daughter and I just came back from a trip to Europe that included a 5-night stay at the Roxford Lodge Hotel (RL). I decided to stay at the RL due to the good reviews here at TripAdvisor, the problem of finding a triple downtown at a reasonable cost, and the fact that it was reportedly quiet - I'm a light sleeper.

At first I was hesitant when told we'd be on the ground floor - I always think people walking by will be looking in - but the very nice patio that the room looked out on made up for it, even if the patio was shared by other rooms and indeed we sometimes had to keep the curtains closed for privacy.

The room was L-shaped and quite large - my wife and I of course took the double bed while my delighted daughter slept 'around the corner' in a bed with her own TV. The fact that the room was large was offset by the fact that there was a big sauna in the room - I'd read about it but really think the RL should consider removing them - without them the hotel would lose some quirkiness but gain a lot more useable room.

The staff was great - coffee and/or tea w/cookies offered pretty much every time you return, and delivered to your room. I had trouble connecting to their free wi-fi and was very happy when offered a network cable to connect with instead, free of charge. The breakfast was a la carte or cooked to order, with french toast my favorite.

My only caveat was that the hotel is a ways from the town center. While only 15-20 minutes the walk itself passes very safe but fairly drab buildings - kind of makes the walk a drag instead of fun exercise, especially after walking all day in the town center. On the other hand Dublin seems to have a vast bus system, and if you want to ride you won't walk far or wait long.

Lastly, if you go here, be sure to take a left out of the hotel and eat at the nearby restaurants in the direction away from the town center. The first day there was no one at the desk to ask and we ended up going on the long walk towards the city mentioned above just to find something to eat - we learned the next day to take a left vs a right for nearby dining.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaJoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

just so amazing!! me and my boyfriend are from Dublin and we just stayed here one weekend for a bit of luxery!! we loved it!! sauna is great!! there was a jaccuzi bath too and the bed was possibly the comfyest and cosyest iv ever been in!! nice then my own!!
iv already recommended it to loads of my friends!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazz9t9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks in Ireland and stayed with our adult daughters at Roxford lodge What a jewel to be found! Near city center but out of the noise. Our daughters shared a room but it was L shaped and each had their own privacy. We both had the lovely little patio outside to sit with morning coffee. Bus stop in front if you do not want to walk, restaurants nearby and excellent service. Very friendly staff, always welcoming and willing to accomodate needs. We would return from seeing Dublin in the afternoon and need ice/water/sodas and they were in our room within minutes. Lovely tea to be had at all times. Rooms were lovely and very comfortable. Breakfast was extraordinary- do not miss it. Dinner nearby at Old Schoolhouse hotel/pub was outstanding. Cannot say enough good things about Roxford Lodge. and the wonderful staff

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldltravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
293 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

We chose the hotel because of the good ratings and the free car parking (we drove with a rental car). The hotel is in a quiet residential area, not in the centre of Dublin. It's about a 20 minute walk to Trinity College (pretty much walk straight NW on the road in front of the hotel). There is also a bus stop right in front of the hotel. By the way, there is a very nice bar/pub in the street behind the hotel.

We were very happy with our stay. We had a triple room, with 3 beds, a large bathroom (with jacuzzi), and a sauna in the corner of the room (very unique). The beds were comfortable although not as long (if you are 6 feet/180 cm or taller, your feet will be outside of the bed).

The service (by the owner) was great, she provided us with tea, coffee and cookies and all the information we needed (and a map). The continental breakfast (6 Euro per person) was good, liked the fresh fruit and juice, and well-cooked scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed there during my visit to Dublin. I booked my first night there, found it to be the gem I've read it up to be, traveled other parts of Ireland, then ended a 10 day great trip with my last 2 nights, once again, at Roxford Lodge. I think that in itself says a lot. But to add, the rooms are clean, modern, and well kept. The service and hospitality was genuine and more than I could ask for - she, likely the owner, helped with taxis, airport buses, local restaurants (Roly's bistro is classy and tasty), and the like. She also ran the kitchen and personally served us our delicious, full-Irish breakfasts! Parking was easy since my girlfriend, from Ireland, had a car (this is one of the initial reasons why i chose this place, in addition to her being scared to drive in Dublin!) I'm definitely coming back here! Thanks for a wonderful stay...twice!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alajay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

I stayed together with 5 family members at the Roxford Lodge recently. When we arrived by bus from Galway we almost thought we'd come to the wrong place. Situated in a quiet almost suburban street we were a little surprised, since we expected at least a few restaurants and stores in the area. Nevertheless we were greated with a nice complimentary tea and biscuits in front of the fire place in the lounge. Since we arrived at 10 pm there were nothing to eat, and we got really good help ordering pizza assisted by the nice woman in the reception.

The rooms are quite nice with large lcd-tv with both good quality picture and a good amount of both Irish and International channels. Bed was very comfy and we slept well. Internet is available both wired and wireless and was free, fast and worked well. There's also the the slightly weird sauna and a jacuzzi bath-tub. We tried them both and whilst the sauna felt a little weird using in your own room, the jacuzzi were great after a day of walking around Dublin.

We had breakfast at the hotel most of the days and the continental breakfast at 6 euros were in our opinion great value with freshly made fruit salad, freshly squeezed juice and cold cuts, cereal, cheeses and bread. The full Irish breakfast was good, but not really worth 12 euros.

As to location, the Roxford Lodge is about 15-20 minutes walk from Grafton Street (city center), and 10 minutes from Merrion Park. The bus to and from the city stops right outside the hotel, and it was 1,15 euros one way.

We used the lounge a coupled of times, having a beer after getting back to the hotel at night. The prices were good but there were no bar, you just ordered a drink from the reception-staff. It did'nt seem to be used that much as beer wasn't replenished during our four-day stay and there was a little limited selection to choose from.

The feel of the hotel is in my opinion a little to stay in someones home. It's a quite nice difference from busier 'business hotels' and we enjoyed our stay at the Roxford Lodge. It could be a little cleaner, our bath room lock for instance wasn't working, it's a bit far from the city center, and there's not much party going on. But it was a really good value for the about 90 euros we paid per night. A quite strong four star rating. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.9 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Property: Roxford Lodge Hotel
Address: 46 Northumberland Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#16 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#26 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing