We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable,affordable but with minor flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Dublin
Ranked #117 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable,affordable but with minor flaws”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Booked this hotel because of the leisure centre mainly even though it was a bit out of the city, regret it now as it is a good bit out and we were in and out, in 2 days we raked up about 25£ each in taxi/bus fees. On arrival I remembered I satayed at this hotel in 2007 and had the worst hotel stay I have ever had, absoutly horrible. But this time in 2013 it was clear renovation work had been done. Reception area immaculate, staff very very friendly. Asked for a room upgraded as stated on the website,it says if available you could have, we were told they were all booked. LIE! I checked the booking engine and they had loads available to book for that night!
Went to room, well look, clean and comfortable, but paint was diffrent in places and if you looked at the wall in the right light you could read "English out". Too had for cleaners to spot but it was wrote on the wall mabey by a dirty finger of a previous guest. Went to leisure centre, vey nice. TOP CLASS! friendly staff however be sure to get back your towel deposit of 1 euro as they arent forthcoming with it as they can be busy when you return the towel. Shame you have to leave the hotel to get to the leisure centre 1 minute walk, but it is worth it, few tiles missing in the pool but nothing major.
Staff left an executive room open by mistake I went in for a look, really comfortable and amazing resiliant carpets, hopefully there is an on going renovation plan for the hotel to get every room to this standard. Now security, but of an issue, we came home from a night club, were not asking by reception who we were, we just went straight for the lift to our rooms, there were 2 young men were walking the halls on our floor. Asking us did we have vokda where was our room etc. We were scared and went down a floor then came back up and sneaked into our rooms without them seeing us. We said it to the reception the next day, they said they would check the cameras but they didnt really take on board the point that they were letting anybody walk into the hotel at any hour of the night. Never got back to us on the findings either, however were again very freindly. Breckfast is okay, nothing amazing, but nice selection. On our second day there a member of our party fell violently sick, she couldnt leave the room. The next day our train was at 5pm. We asked for an extended checkout so we would not have to drag her into town to wait for the train. Recption gave us an extention.
Overall this hotel has the right attitude and hopefully will get to where they want to be with more renovstion, cant change the location to closer to town but if it was closer to town id stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade try get a room on the front door side of the hotel, nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David190186638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    377
    343
    232
    255
See reviews for
293
466
63
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Cant believe the good reviews this hotel got. Myself and my wife arrived in Dublin late (11.30pm) one night with our 9 year old son. Booked into the Regency. As we walked to our room it was obvious that the place had not been decorated or painted in years. On entering our room we were shocked. The furniture was grubby and dated. The dirty old carpet did not fit the floor. There was cobwebs all over the ceiling and the window was smeared with tissue paper. The bed linen looked equally uninviting. Despite the late hour we decided to check out immediately. Travelled 4/500 yds towards the city and booked into the Skylon for €15 more. Lovely clean and well furnished hotel. The only positive thing about our experience with the Regency is that it will provide a few laughs in the future.

Room Tip: If you want a good room dont stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank MMary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We arrived with our two kids on Easter Saturday for a bank holiday weekend at the Regency Hotel, Dublin. On Check-in the staff were unfriendly and could at the very least pretend to smile. The decorated reception area gave a false impression of quality which soon falls apart as soon as you exit the lift to your room. Its like you've travelled back in time in the lift. Corridors are old and have a musty odour. Rooms are old and dank.

We had gone to the hotel pool around the corner before dinner. On arrival we were told they had no towels and we could wait half an hour or go back and get some from our room.

Our room had no travel cot bed for our 9 month old. Which was requested on reservation. We had asked 3 times since this until they arrived at almost 8pm with a broken one which had to be replaced.

The small TV in the room was broken also and after 3 requests to have someone repair or replace...nothing. For a family staying in a room together, if there's no TV its not good.

Dinner was an absolute disgrace. A free dinner for the family was included in the price on the first night. We had turned up at our reserved time of 6pm and were told they had no baby chairs left. So having to sit with 2 under 3 year olds on our lap wasn't enjoyable. Even worse when we are forgot about for over half an hour. Finding us a table was the height of service here. We had to just get up and leave. Awful service.

We had booked to stay the 2 nights, we ended up staying just the 1. Couldn't wait to get out of there. Please book somewhere else its not worth it!


  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harkinadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I've never write any review before but after staying in this hotel, I think I should do. By far, this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed. We bought a living social voucher for a little getaway in Dublin, thinking that we got a brilliant deal. The room was clean and the location was perfect. Other than that everything was terrible. When we arrived, the guy receptionist did not even smile or say hello, he just took the voucher and say nothing to us at all. That night then we decided to have dinner in the restaurant, but restaurant was closed so we have some bar food instead. One of the barmaid (again) was very rude, she keep ignoring us even when we call her. Everytime we asked for something she just gave us a blank stare and walked away and just sent someone else instead. Never had a service so terrible in my life! The next morning then we going for breakfast and it was shocking. They have a really really bad selections. The bread was stale, there's no fruits or youghurt or any salad, there's not even a scooper to get some cereals. The second day we were there, I decided to go to the spa and get some facial treatment. The treatment itself was quite nice but my god, when you walked in the building, they were water not dripping but running from a light in the hallway. How dangerous is that? and they were water everywhere on the floor and they just put towels over it. Anyway, let just say NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Bedrooms were a bit old but it was nice and clean. Not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkunkFunkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Old hotel,tiny rooms, tiny bathrooms bad tv, cold rooms and food menu very poor! Very un'romantic and we went for valentines weekend,....paid for valentines package advertized and very disppointed. Very busy hotel, location good, near the city.

Room Tip: not sure, we were put in an up'grade room.....more like a boxroom!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed here after a gig in Ireland for St Patricks Night and was amazed at the value, had a wonderful sleep and only thing that dismayed me was that my busy schedule meant that I was unable to use the Leisure centre as would have liked to have used that as well! Will definitely be staying here again, located close to Dublin - was only a 2 euro bus ride either side of the airport!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The West
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed whilst attending a match. Overall poor. Reception was adequate but corridors were very cold. Ok for me but not for the boss. Entered nice room which was warm. Opened curtains to a brick wall and a flat roof which was strewn with broken glasses, cigarettee butts, empty cans and a pair of dirty socks. No excuse for this as it would have taken someone 1 minute to clean it. the room staff must see this every day and dont do anything about it. After that our attitude was not great. Leisure centre ok - even good - but you had to go outside to get to it. Corridor leading to it also very cold and bare. Decent service for dinner - good maitre'd and very friendly bar staff. Friday night sleep was ok. Breakfast on Saturday morning was funny as you had to get everything including cutlery, milk, sugar, napkins. Great day was had in Dublin on Saturday - really good city to visit. They should make more of it. Got one day family bus ticket for €11.50. Great value and some very funny and helpful bus drivers. Dinner and drinks on Saturday night were good with very good bar staff. Sleep Saturday night was horrendous with guys setting off fire alarms, running up and down corridors, banging on doors. No security really. And these were Irish people causing the trouble. There was a large foreign party of young people that made no noise at all. God knows what they think of the country after this. This hotel needs a huge makeover as it has some good qualities including a very good location. Is there any manager?

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the end of a corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emelynthehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
1,892 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,346 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#118 of 151 in Dublin
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Dublin

Property: The Regency Hotel Dublin
Address: Swords Road | Whitehall, Dublin D9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel is a Superior 3 * leisure & business hotel located on the north side of Dublin City. The Flagship Hotel of the McGettigan Family Group, it enjoys a prime location midway between Dublin City Centre and Dublin Airport offering easy access to all that the bustling city of Dublin has to offer. Located just a short walk from Croke Park, home of the GAA and venue for major sporting and music events, The Regency is also just a quick taxi journey from the new 3 Arena or Aviva Stadium for Rugby & Soccer fans, leaving you in the perfect location for all major Dublin events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Regency Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Dublin
Regency Dublin
Regency Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing