We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Dublin
Ranked #116 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't do it”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Where do I begin!

On arrival the reception staff were rude the two women who were on reception at the time were having a jolly conversation mocking customers which was easily over heard by my partner and myself. Got to the room to find it was a decent size (that's the only good part). The bath wasn't cleaned properly their were stains on the bed linen, the TV remote didn't work (when asked for a new one it took a day to be replaced) light above the bed was hanging out, the phone for reception didn't work. To top it off some other couple had been allocated the same room as us and tried entering luckily they didn't know how the card worked in the door properly.

The breakfast was decent and most of the restaurant staff were nice. I can not drink the whole milk that was in abundance in the hotel when I asked for some semi-skimmed (low fat as they called it) the hotel had none and I was forced to by my own from the centra shop next door!
The bar was probably our favourite place to eat and drink the staff were lovely can't fault the food either.

The pool and spa is probably the best part about this hotel the only place to get some peace and quiet!

The location was quiet good halfway between the airport and the city centre (bus stop right outside, buses take you to the heart of Dublin).

Ideal hotel for just a night stay. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone that likes their sleep parties were going on late into the night and other guests were so inconsiderate to others.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJayMKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    378
    345
    236
    256
See reviews for
295
470
64
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawton, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Tiny, dirty room. Parking that is a half-block away with no luggage carts or anything to help get luggage from car to our room (at least none offered). Unfriendly front desk people. There was some kind of wedding reception going on and enjoying the "live music" at the bar - the only bad (and it was terrible) live music that we ran across in a week and a half trip. Oh, and the music kept up till the wee hours of the morning.

The room photos on their website must not be of this hotel. Don't move a nightstand, you don't want to see what is underneath.

Did we mention the exorbitant price?

Room Tip: Find one in a different establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vs17panel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Dundalk, Co.Louth
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed in the regency hotel recently with ( lots) of kids going to the one direction concert close by in croke park.
The hotel is very handy for croke park, rooms fine nice big family rooms hotel took full advantage of the concert they had cardboard cut outs of the band in reception and a special post concert buffet in the dining room afterwards. All a nice touch which kids and parents appreciated.
Only drawback I would say is the place was pretty understaffed obviously they were aware that it would be packed but did not seem to put on extra staff, 10 out of 10 to the staff working they were troopers.

Pool was lovely, nice and clean again staff lovely and very helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scirish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

never again would we stay at this hotel ,booked a double room on arrival we were asked by a very grumpy guy called Kristi if we wanted a double room as there was 2 of us and we had booked a double we said yes ,we went to our not so nice room and I decided to have a shower before heading out for the evening ,no towels!! ph reception with a request for some they said yes a few min someone would pop up some after 20min ph again same yes will send some 20min later hubby went down to get them they sent him back 5min later towels arrive whoo,..came back to not so nice room after night out to a lot of noise which went on til about 4is so not much sleep because of noise lumpy bed and bloody cold room in JUNE awakened at 7.30 to more noise so got up for a freezing cold shower got dressed and legged it out of this awful hotel oh and 8e for parking...... avoid this hotel I KNOW WE WILL

Room Tip: book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EireDodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Me and few of my family members stayed here for one direction concert we were told when we booked would be 2 double beds or 1 double and 2 singles (we booked 2 families rooms) as they were 4 of us staying in a room each both rooms only had 1 double and 1 single we asked if we could move to another room where could sleep 4 as we paid for two family rooms they wernt any help at all couldn't do nothing for us just a camp bed which we never got in our rooms so 3 had 2 sleep in the double bed. We paid 320euro for the 2 rooms we didnt mind paying this if we got our the right room we booked a family room always sleeps 4. We would of went to a different hotel only the others were booked out. I wouldnt recommen this hotel if bigger crowd than 4.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrykeel, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had to book a hotel last minute for emergency reasons and overlooked the room description of un refurbished room, in my opinion these rooms are not fit for use with stained carpets, evident dust build up and damaged fittings and fixtures without a working TV. We also had to switch rooms which was of course was no fault of the hotel due to another guests persistent knocking on the adjoining wall before 10:30 pm which I can only assume was due to the fact that we disturbed their sleep as the sound carries too easily for structural reasons which we also found out between 3am and 5am when other guests were returning to their rooms. I cannot comment on the standard rooms as we did not view these and do not have any intention of staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here whilst attending a concert in Croke Park, the location was perfect with ample car parking facilities. Having read some of the reviews I was sceptical but our room was clean and spacious, the requested camp bed wasn't in the room when we arrived and the bathroom only had two hand towels but once we made staff aware of this both were brought straight away.
The pool area was lovely with large changing areas. We didn't eat in the hotel as we were out & about. The only real gripe I have is housekeeping, they knocked on the door at 8.40am wakening both children, checkout wasn't until 11 after this I put the do not disturb notice on the door and we had no further instances

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,919 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,366 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#118 of 151 in Dublin
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Dublin

Property: The Regency Hotel Dublin
Address: Swords Road | Whitehall, Dublin D9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel is a Superior 3 * leisure & business hotel located on the north side of Dublin City. The Flagship Hotel of the McGettigan Family Group, it enjoys a prime location midway between Dublin City Centre and Dublin Airport offering easy access to all that the bustling city of Dublin has to offer. Located just a short walk from Croke Park, home of the GAA and venue for major sporting and music events, The Regency is also just a quick taxi journey from the new 3 Arena or Aviva Stadium for Rugby & Soccer fans, leaving you in the perfect location for all major Dublin events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Regency Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Dublin
Regency Dublin
Regency Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing