We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Dublin
Ranked #116 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

In Dublin to see Biffy Clyro in the grounds of Kilmainham hospital. Aside from the concert being unreal, the hotel wasn't too bad either.
The staff were friendly and professional and on the night we stayed the hotel was booked out as well as being host to several functions (karate comp/ weddings) but the staff assured us noise would not be a problem, and they were right. It was refreshing to hear nothing outside our room which was located on the first floor.
The entrance to the hotel is quite modern but the actual hotel is a little dated, bland colour schemes and old fashioned decor, although in some respects this added to its charm.
In the room we had a few issues that we didn't think were worth raising with staff as they were clearly busy that night, and it was after all just a place to lay our heads.
The bath had no plug, although the bathroom was finished quite nicely, and the TV turned itself off at regular intervals. Also the bed was a little hard for my liking. The halls around the cooking and eating area also smelt a little of stale grease, but I cant fault the general cleanliness or attitude of the staff.
We only ate in the bar, not the restaurant, and although we thought the food and drink a little pricey, the standard was good and the meal enjoyable.
There is also a handy centra next door for any odds and ends you may need: cigarettes, toothbrushes, morning papers etc.
There is a gym, spa and pool attached to this hotel and it is free to guests, the gym is well laid out with modern equipment and weights and the pool looks lovely with waterfall effect features (there is a 5 euros refundable deposit for lockers and 1 euro charge for towel rental).
This is just a nice old fashioned hotel, becoming modern in places.
Transport into the city centre is cheap and very nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    370
    333
    224
    254
See reviews for
288
456
62
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tacoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were fine for one night and I think it's geared more for the overnight or quick business trip. For some reason I had to go get our food instead of it being brought to the room but I did enjoy a drink at the bar and a nice conversation with the bar tender. I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank thereal253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After our disappointment at Donegal we travelled back to Dublin for our last night, on looking on trip advisor we did not hold out much hope of improving our hotel standard from Donegal But having arrived at the regency & being given our room 4434 we were amazed how nice it was. When we went to the bar a young couple we spoke too said we were lucky to be in the newish bit rather than the old side which was not very nice. Food was good & our time there was more pleasant than we thought.

Room Tip: ask for the new side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The regency hotel is definitely the worst hotel ever, I'd rather stay in a prison cell.
Holes around the boarding of the room, rust and stains everywhere, curtains don't close, shower glued onto the wall. room directly above smokers area, constantly stinks of smoke if window open. Above the private function area where music goes on till late, so loud the floor vibrated. Complained yet no apology. Also asked to move room, they reckon they'd over booked and there was no spare room. Not worth the money at all. Don't waste your time. Would never recommend and definitely never stay here again. Good luck if you do!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily9001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

uk
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

After reading the reveiws of this place - I was dreading it. So what did I find. Pleasant & helpful staff. A great room with a wonderful vew over Dublin. Breakfast was basic but did the job,. The bar staff could have been a bit more switched on, The racket outside the front of the hotel at chucking out time was horrendous. But would I stay here again? for the price? yes?.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlannoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Due to random flight delays, I stayed at this place two separate times during my short Ireland visit. It was the cheapest hotel I could find with last minute availability.

The service was actually pretty good, the staff quite friendly and helpful, but overall the hotel itself was rather shabby. Carpets were old, bed was springy, lighting was dim. It was also a long walk from the parking lot to the entrance.

The first time I was there I got a room in the newer(?) wing, and it did have a nice shower tub. But the second time I got a tiny room in the old creepy wing, tucked in a corner. The elevator up was slow and wobbly, the floors were creaky and un-level. I also got lost through random corridors when taking the stairs down. The hotel kinda reminded me of the movie The Shining, but the maze was indoors.

This place would make a great setting for some sort of haunted mansion event for Halloween!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank capsacin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

After being let down very badly by a 4star hotel on the 16th June me and the hubby ended up staying here for our romantic getaway. Not very swanky or romantic to be honest, definitely not posh. But truth is we were desperate, all of Dublin was pretty much booked up solid due to fab weather and world flower show being on. I was really looking forward to this much needed time alone with the hubby. And to say I was disappointed with this hotel was an understatement. However, after a night arguing and crying we decided to make the best of things as we couldn't Change our flights home and would be here for 3 more nights. We ended up having a brilliant time, Dublin was great, people very friendly, hotel, although a little drab and difficult getting served in the bar/restaurant at times, they tried there best, and at least they treated us better than the very expensive hotel that we were originally going to be staying in. Beware no A/C room was hot.

Room Tip: Although the rooms at the back are not so nice they are quieter and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#124 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West County Hotel
#89 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#95 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Dublin

Property: The Regency Hotel Dublin
Address: Swords Road | Whitehall, Dublin D9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel is a Superior 3 * leisure & business hotel located on the north side of Dublin City. The Flagship Hotel of the McGettigan Family Group, it enjoys a prime location midway between Dublin City Centre and Dublin Airport offering easy access to all that the bustling city of Dublin has to offer. Located just a short walk from Croke Park, home of the GAA and venue for major sporting and music events, The Regency is also just a quick taxi journey from the new 3 Arena or Aviva Stadium for Rugby & Soccer fans, leaving you in the perfect location for all major Dublin events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regency Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Dublin
Regency Dublin
Regency Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing