We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont book the cheap room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Dublin
Ranked #119 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

we booked a cheap room online after we checked in we went to our room to find the curtains were being replaced wich was fine so we waited for him to finish room was a fair bit dated but obviously they are working on it our main problem was the toilet didnt work properly water just kept flowing i fixed it myself because it was late then as we went to sleep there was massive spot lights outside our window and the curtains that had just been replaced would not shut so we had to sleep in pretty much daylight all night im sure we just lucked out on this one but... food was good in the bar and the staff were friendly

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Aidan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,421)
There are newer reviews for The Regency Hotel Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just had my sceond stay in the Regency over the World Cup Final weekend. What more could we have asked for, a beautiful, hot, sunny Dublin in a lovely wee confortable hotel. We stayed 3 nights and had an absolutely lovely time. The staff from reception and right throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and giving of their time. The manner of the bar and waiting staff made the stay very relaxing when having a meal and or a drink or two. Keith, Stephen and co behind the bar made for good craic with plenty of chat. Barbara was always around fussing to see if everything was ok and her friendly chats made us feel welcomed like family. We really had a great time, my wife and children enjoyed the pool, we thought the room was lovely with a nice view over to Croker. The food was very nice, though I preferred to avail of the bar food (that was just me) but I did like the the restaurant food too. Overal a thoroughly relaxed and enjoyable stay, and you know what, I'm contacting them again now to see if I can organise another we stay in a few weeks time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, nicer view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BefastStraycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was really worried about booking into the Regency with my group: 35 members of a brass band. I'd read all of the other reviews, and they seemed to be from one extreme to the other, but I talked to the company who I'd booked with - they spoke to the Regency and found out that the old rooms which haven't been refurbished are those which are only sold online, and very cheaply....groups like mine were always put into the refurbished, newer rooms, which is exactly what happened. We all had fabulous rooms, and were delighted with the hotel generally. The staff are brilliant - really friendly and helpful. The Leisure Centre is fabulous - great pool with two amazing jets/fountains going into it, which are exactly what you need after a long journey/busy day..... Breakfast was extremely good: lovely, fresh eggs, great bacon and sausages etc, and apparently the white pudding was the very best part of breakfast, but I never eat it so I wouldn't know! We all got taxis home each evening, as it is very easy, and I would certainly stay there the next time that I am in Dublin. You get what you pay for.......so if you do book online and go for the cheapest option, do not be too surprised if it isn't that great.......

Room Tip: The rooms are all extremely good value, so go for the best that you can afford, and ask if it is ref...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 27Tibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We came on a five day trip via Shearings Holidays, arrived at hotel and staff were very helpful and polite. We we stayed on a half-board basis and can say that the breakfasts and evening meal were superb! Our room was clean and fresh with all facilities you would need, including air conditioning, and considering we stayed during one of Dublins heat waves it was very welcome. The hotel staff responsible for cleaning our rooms even put the air conditioning on for us ready for our return from exploring Dublin City, how good was that! They are in the middle of a refurbishment and you are informed of this, we were lucky to stay in the refurbished rooms, definitely no complaints here. Although there is a pool and spa we didn't make use of them but our fellow visitors only had good comments to make to us about it. There is a bus stop on the m in road and a 10 minute drive will get you into Dublin City on the number 16 bus, this is €2.35 each way. Bus drivers very helpful and will tell you when to get off if you ask them when you get on. We will most certainly be returning to The Regency in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I found this hotel disgusting, I stayed twice and the both times I stayed there, the toilet was never flushed it's like staff are going in and using it, the room was frezzeing, windows wouldn't close right, it's was very expensive to stay for one night and been told you have to leave for 11:00am, before we even got up out of bed alarms went off at 9:00 too tell us to get up basically, the staff were just so rude, the bed looked as if it wasn't changed because there were stains or dirth in the bed from someone's shoes? It was the old part of the hotel we stayed in, but if they are charging high prices for these rooms they should at least clean them, I didn't feel comfortable at all as I was too cold and it felt as if I had no privacy, you could hear everything from the room next door, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone I was not happy with my stay as it was just disgusting, smelly and cold!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmieeCorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

For some reason this hotel is listed twice my review is on the other one called The Regency Hotel Spa its titled "Good value but a little noisy". Please read it I hope you find it useful it is a nice place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Read lots of poor reviews after booking. I stayed some years back and didn't remember anything to worry about.
Booked the 2 night BB and one EM deal. I have to say it was super value,with free use of the leisure club. Had a renovated room so that probably helped. Centra right next door which is a bonus. 15 euros taxi to town
Food was basic school dinners style, the bar was busy and reasonably priced. Staff were all friendly.
Saturday nights entertainment was good. The place was buzzing so it must be doing something right
I would have no hesitation returning..

mpo

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mpo8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
1,950 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,392 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#117 of 150 in Dublin
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Dublin

Address: Swords Road | Whitehall, Dublin D9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £69 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel is a Superior 3 * leisure & business hotel located on the north side of Dublin City. The Flagship Hotel of the McGettigan Family Group, it enjoys a prime location midway between Dublin City Centre and Dublin Airport offering easy access to all that the bustling city of Dublin has to offer. Located just a short walk from Croke Park, home of the GAA and venue for major sporting and music events, The Regency is also just a quick taxi journey from the new 3 Arena or Aviva Stadium for Rugby & Soccer fans, leaving you in the perfect location for all major Dublin events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Regency Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Dublin
Regency Dublin
Regency Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing