We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked budget accommodation, Got budget accommodation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Regency Hotel Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Dublin
Ranked #116 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Booked budget accommodation, Got budget accommodation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Booked a last minute break in Dublin at the beginning of December which for some reason was a very busy weekend very little availability at most hotels.

Got this hotel at half the price of other similar hotels so can't really complain too much. The room that we got was very dated and worn, lampshade hanging off, carpet worn through and most of the furniture had seen better days. Despite all these problems the room was clean and we got fresh towel everyday.

The lobby was impressive as was the hotel bar appeared to have been done to a very high standard. We seen the fitness club but never used it so cannot comment.

I was aware that I would need to pay for parking at the hotel but found there to be several "free" spaces at the front of the building which save a few euro.

The hotel in general was ok it is not really convenient for the city centre especially at night as the buses get very confusing and stop about 11pm which is no good if you are on a night out.

I would probably have booked somewhere else if I had a little more time on my hands but it done the job.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamsieboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    363
    326
    220
    251
See reviews for
282
448
60
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

Really happy with Hotel. We booked 2 nights Bed & Breakfast & 1 evening meal for 59 Euros. Breakfast Buffet was very good and the evening meal was excellent! 10 euros per night for the car park was a bit steep but with the overall deal being so good we could hardly complain. Will definalely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

Stayed with my partner for her special 21st birthday. We had a brilliant time. The hotel was great and the staff couldnt do enough for us.
The room was excellent and well funished.
The Spa was lovely and well kitted out.
The Manager Michelle was more than accomadting for this special occassion.
Its good to see that some members of staff are still prepared to go that extra mile!
A great stay, well worth the money and we would dif stay there again.!
Totally recommend ths Hotel.
Well Done THE Regency. Top Marks!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bestgirlgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

My wife and I recently returned from a trip to Dublin. We stayed at the Regency Hotel. We have traveled to Europe many times and are accustomed to European hotels. I am sorry to say the Regency fell well below our expectations. We were located on the 4th floor of the hotel and on 2 consecutive nights were kept awake by music from the 1st floor banquet hall. The first night until 3:00 am and the second night until midnight. In our travels, we have come to rely on hotel staff for information. On 2 occasions we were given incorrect info, first regarding which bus to use, second on the times for services at St Patrick’s Cathedral. The hairdryer in the room was intermittent. It would overheat and shut-off after 30-45 seconds. We brought it to the attention of the front desk, and were told replacements weren’t available. The hotel boasted an indoor pool and spa. Because of this, we invited our 12 year old nephew and his dad, thinking that after a long day of sightseeing, a relaxing swim would be perfect. We did not realize that children are only allowed to use the pool until 5:00 pm, and also the entire pool and spa closed at 7:00 pm. Quite a disappointment for all. Our package included breakfast. I’m not sure what the typical charge is for the breakfast, but it was worth no more than 5 Euro. The most difficult part of breakfast was finding a clean plate. To be fair to the hotel, there were a few items they did well. Check-in and check-out were accomplished quite smoothly, and they provided wake-up calls at the requested time.
I am not in the habit of providing hotel reviews, but for the Regency, I decided to make an exception.

Don't let this stop you from going to Dublin. An awesome city, with incredible people.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmirto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Philadelphia, Pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights recently and had a great experience. Literally no complaints, except one of the front desk staff said that the shuttle to the airport is 5 Euro when actually it is complimentary. In any case, the room was big and clean and the staff was helpful regarding maps, bus schedules, etc. I see no reason not to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeybren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regencymanager, Manager at The Regency Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 5 January 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I just wanted to clarify the misunderstanding regarding our Airport Shuttle Service. There is a charge of €5.00 Euro per person for the Shuttle. Some Treavel Agents have an agreement with us to include the Shuttle complimentary and I think this may be what happened with yourselves.
I hope this did not cause any inconvenience to your stay.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

We got a room in the newly renovated section and it was simply beautiful! Had a great view, and everything was spotlessly clean. Loved the food, the breakfasts are excellent. We took a bus into town, which was very convenient as the bus stops very close by to the hotel. Posting photos of our room and the hotel below!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zach-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

I stayed in this hotel a couple of years ago when they were carrying out renovations, but it now appears that all the work is finished. I could not fault this hotel. Staff could not do enough,leisure centre was really nice. Hotel food was fresh too. Was a little apprehensive bases on the other reviews but when you ask for a new room, you will see the difference!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuffyWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
West County Hotel
#87 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Towers Hotel
#132 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Dublin

Property: The Regency Hotel Dublin
Address: Swords Road | Whitehall, Dublin D9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel is a Superior 3 * leisure & business hotel located on the north side of Dublin City. The Flagship Hotel of the McGettigan Family Group, it enjoys a prime location midway between Dublin City Centre and Dublin Airport offering easy access to all that the bustling city of Dublin has to offer. Located just a short walk from Croke Park, home of the GAA and venue for major sporting and music events, The Regency is also just a quick taxi journey from the new 3 Arena or Aviva Stadium for Rugby & Soccer fans, leaving you in the perfect location for all major Dublin events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your The Regency Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Dublin
Regency Dublin
Regency Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing