We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff, mediocre food and terrible attitude.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bonnington Dublin
Ranked #120 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 23 January 2010

Myself and my wife stayed here over a long weekend to dublin. We chose to stay here as it was nearby the city centre adn thought it cheaper than staying within the city. On arrival I followed the signs for customer carpark only to have my car bounced off 3 insanely large speed bumps. The Bumps scraped all along the underside of my car and bumper. When i Informed managment they didn't show much interest merely stating that the bumps are sign-posted. However The sign says "speed ramps" not "3 brick walls in the middle of the road" Our room was average for the money, however I would rather pay less considering how rude the staff are. They are more interested in talking amongst themselves than seeing to the customer. ON waking the first morning we went to drive into the city for some shopping. When i reached my car I noticed a leak underneath, on inspection the tray which protects the oil-sump on my car had been torn open by the speed ramps, causing the oil to leak from my engine. Managment waived any responsibility for this, leaving me to front the 250 euro bill myself in the garage down the road. What gives them the right to do this? Its completely outrageous, yet no manner of talking and debating with them yielded any result. I noticed the baldy-headed manager split the scene every time I approached him, leaving me to deal with his less-than-competent employees. A truely dreadful and angering experience in this hotel, they have no interest in the customer, only your money.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HARR1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2010

Myself and my partner spent a weekend in the Regency Hotel in January and we would never recomend it to anyone !
First of all - staff very rude, unpleasant and they don't give [-] about anything.
Room cleanness very poor.
Food very awful - I got a food poisoning on a first day.
Gym in the basement - dirty, scruffy and there was something floating in the pool !!!

If you like the above go to Regency Hotel !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szakal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

I regularly enjoy a visit the public bar, restaurant and leisure facilities of this hotel. According to hotel staff in December 09 there was an issue with handbag snatchers in the grounds who were driving away at speed. However they have installed a speed bump which they say resolves this.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
Thank rye1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regencymanager, Manager at The Bonnington Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2010

Thank you for your review regarding our Hotel.
The Regency Hotel has introduced traffic calming measures on our private road in response to both speeding and failing to stop at a STOP sign. This was done in an effort to reduce the possibility of a road traffic accident and also to ensure the safety of our Guests and Patrons while entering and exiting the Hotel. The measures introduced are completely legal and will not damage any vehicle which adheres to the speed limit.
The Residents of an Apartment Complex at the rear of the Hotel, that have access via our private road have orchetrated a campaign against the traffic calming measures. They have posted a notice in the public areas of the Apartment Complex urging People to post negative reviews of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are currently seeking legal action against the people responsible for this campaign of intimidation, and the matter has been reported to An Garda Siochana, the Irish Police Force.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend break. Location very good and close to the airport and close to the city centre but I will never return to this hotel again. Some of the staff were very unfriendly when asked some questions and the food was very poor too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian12342010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

If you are using your own car to travel to the Regency please be careful of the ramps - there are three very sharp ramps on the way to the car park. These can cause a lot of damage to the bottom of your car, particularly if you have a low car. Management at the hotel claim these are for reducing speed and making the hotel more secure - however damage to vehicles can not be accepted. Just be careful.

Stayed: January 2010
Thank MistyGLEN1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regencymanager, Manager at The Bonnington Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2010

The Regency Hotel has introduced traffic calming measures on our private road in response to vehicles both speeding and failing to adhere to a STOP sign. This was done in an effort to reduce the possibility of a road traffic accident and more importantly as a measure of safety for our Guests and Patrons. The measures are completley legal and will not damage any vehicle that adheres to the speed limit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

While this hotel boasts a location close to the city, it offers very little else. They have a ridiculous amount of speed bumps leading up to the carpark, 5 in total on a small stretch of road, which are insanely rough and steep, and damaged the underside of my car and bumper. When I informed management they didn't seem to care at all, and fobbed me of with saying that the speed limit is posted on the sign. Truth is i was doing less than the indicated 5km/h on the sign and still damaged my car, I'd hate to think what would've happened at that speed. Would not recommend to anyone after such an experience and lack of interest in the customer - try the Skylon hotel 5 mins down the road towards the city.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoshi_Meath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regencymanager, Manager at The Bonnington Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2010

The Regency Hotel has a lot to offer all Guests. Not only are we close to the City and the Airport we have also undergone a major refurbishment in the last 2 years which has given us an exceptional product which is hard to beat at todays rates. We have a state of the art Leisure Club which is available complimentary for all Guests along with excellent bedroom and dining facilities.
The Regency Hotel has introduced traffic calming measures on our private road in response to vehicles both speeding and failing to adhere to a STOP sign. These measures were put in place for the safety of our guests and patrons and in an effort to reduce the possibility of a road traffic accident. The measures introduced are legal and will not damage any vehicle that adheres to the speed limit. The Residents of an Apartment Complex at the rear of the Hotel, who have access via our private road, have started a campaign against these measures, including the posting of a notice in the public areas of the Apartment Complex urging people to post negative reviews on TripAdvisor. We would like to advise all Guests that we are currently seeking legal action against the persons behind this campaign of intimidation and the matter has already been reported to An Garda Siochana, the Irish Police Force. We hope to have a resolution very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

My wife and I are fairly well travelled and usually are okay with a 3 star hotel, especially when we don't plan on spending much time in the room. For example, we always choose the cheap inside cabin when we do cruises. In our opinion, this hotel is a 2 star motel. We were given a "renovated" room, and I can't imagine what a non-renovated room would be like. Our tour company that booked us told us it wasn't worth upgrading to a better hotel, because they said the Regency was a good place to stay. We firmly disagree with their opinion. Here's why...

The front desk was not cordial; the room smelled like smoke; the hallways are narrow, dark and looked dingy; the furniture was stained and scratched; no air control so the room was stuffy and hot; the toiletries were sad; the bed hard and uncomfortable with low quality beddings; no safe; we saw an ant by the coffee fixings; my wife thought she had seen the moving shadow of a mouse one morning; the hotel IS a drive away from the city action; the toilet had stains on the outside upon check-in, let's leave it at that; and the stairway exit door didn't close entirely leaving one to feel unsafe, as anyone could have strolled on in and up to the rooms. I can go on about how the carpet didn't match up to the wall and how the walls are thin, but do you get the point by now?

Do yourself a huge favor and pay extra for a more proper hotel in the city itself. It will be well worth it. I suggest the Hilton Conrad near St. Steven Green. We had a very nice stay there and for a special Priceline rate of $160 USD, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VacationDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regencymanager, Manager at The Bonnington Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel.
I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The Regency Hotel is far from a 2 star Motel, having recently undergone a major refurbishment to all public areas and Guest Rooms.
Our hotel has just gone Non Smoking since the 04th January 2010, so this will combat the smell of smoke in any bedrooms. If you had brought the issues with your room to the attention of the Duty Manager I can assure you we would have rectified the situtation as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,044 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#113 of 150 in Dublin
797 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#70 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
312 reviews
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonnington Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonnington Dublin

Address: Swords Road | Whitehall, Dublin D9, Ireland (Formerly The Regency Hotel Dublin)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £62 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bonnington Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel is a Superior 3 * leisure & business hotel located on the north side of Dublin City. The Flagship Hotel of the McGettigan Family Group, it enjoys a prime location midway between Dublin City Centre and Dublin Airport offering easy access to all that the bustling city of Dublin has to offer. Located just a short walk from Croke Park, home of the GAA and venue for major sporting and music events, The Regency is also just a quick taxi journey from the new 3 Arena or Aviva Stadium for Rugby & Soccer fans, leaving you in the perfect location for all major Dublin events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bonnington Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Dublin
Regency Dublin
Regency Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing