We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service”
Review of Hotel St. George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. George
Ranked #71 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel is a short walk from O'Connell Street and access to the Airlink buses to the Airport as well as the Hop-On-Off Bus for sightseeing. Our room was on the first floor next to the car park, but was very quiet and had plenty of room. Breakfast in the downstairs area was very good - only caution is there appears to be only stairway access to the eating area - the elevator does not go to that floor. If anyone needs that type of access, would need to check with management about breakfast arrangements - it was noted they did do room service for breakfast for an additional fee - possibly this would be waived if access was a problem. The staff was very accommodating and helpful in planning our activities. Theatre and museums only steps away. I would stay here again if in Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherie6132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

A very cramped, tired, airless facility in a not so pleasant part of Dublin. Apart from this we had an issue following payment of account by credit card. Payment should have been taken out in Euros, the security deposit upon arrival was in Euros, however final payment was taken out in our country's currency at who knows what exchange rate and then converted to US$ which were also on our credit card and debited in US$.

When contacted and requested to credit this transaction and debit it for the amount owing in Euros our request was totally ignored. Needless to say we are totally unimpressed.

Our suggestion, spend a little more money and go somewhere with a bit more class

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolindaduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The location is great.A 5minute walk to O'connell Street and if using the Airbus the stop is very close tp/from the airport.Although the hotel is on a very busy street with bus stops right outside once you are inside the hotel the thick brick walls block out the noise.The hotel offers free wifi in all rooms but my room on the 5th floor ( room 506) could not pick up any wifi.They insisted it did work & would get the engineer to check it the next day.It was checked and it just was not working on that floor.Also as it was a very hot weekend being up high the room was very hot even with the window fully open.I was moved to room 105 on the ground floor.. Perfect wifi but it is right next to where the cars park in an alleyway so with a hot night & window open you could hear cars coming and going and doors slamming late at night and early in the morning.Also the cold tap on the bathroom sink did not function !
It does need some upgrading decor wise.
The breakfast was very good value as it was included.
The staff were extremely helpful throughout the stay but it does appear hit & miss as to what sort of room you get and if wifi is important in your room.

Room Tip: Roomw on the ground (1st floor) or second floor are better wifi reception and cooler on a hot summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmfherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked the family room at this hotel. This room is amazing, and very big. my children really enjoyed this room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had a beautiful big bathroom. The breakfast was very nice and lots to eat although the room is a but small. I will come back to this hotel and I recommend for families. One small problem was that car park was full and had to park in another car park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ioan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have just returned home from our stay at St George Hotel. The staff were all really helpful and we received great service from the minute we arrived until we left. We had a room overlooking the car park at the back of the hotel which we found to be quiet enough. The room was very comfortable and was definitely worth the money we paid. The room was cleaned each day and towels etc replaced with clean ones. The breakfast was good with a wide selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts as well as a hot breakfast menu. This hotel was in a great location within close walking distance to the centre. We will definitely be returning to this hotel the next time we visit Dublin. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for somewhere quiet in the centre of Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The whole experience with this hotel from start to finish was horrific. The staff were unfriendly and the room I booked was not the same room that was offered to us on arrival. no other options were offered. In addition there was no parking offered even though I had rang up and was told there was 'ample' parking which there wasn't. The room was unsatisfactory having to take a lift and then carry our heavy luggage up two flights of stairs after the lift. There wasn't one member of staff on hand to help us with our heavy luggage. The room wasn't particularly clean and the décor was very dated. NOTHING that was offered online was the same. I would not mind but we paid a considerable price for this room for a one night stay.The atmosphere was morbid and I will never be returning to this hotel again. I'm a totally dissatisfied customer.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuamlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Brilliant value for money and an excellent location for exploring the city. Close to the centre, shops, restaurants and bus stops to all the attractions and city tours. Clean, basic rooms with a nice breakfast.

Room Tip: We were lucky and had a room at the back, but I would imagine that rooms at the front may be noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#59 of 152 in Dublin
1,435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#45 of 152 in Dublin
4,798 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beresford Hotel
Beresford Hotel
#105 of 152 in Dublin
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#40 of 152 in Dublin
2,744 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 152 in Dublin
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. George

Address: 7 Parnell Square, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £50 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. George 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. George by theKeycollection is a three star property, within walking distance of the Abbey & Gate theatres, the Municipal Art Gallery, Dublin's Writers museum and the James Joyce Cultural Centre. We are adjacent to the Garden of Remembrance, which was visited by HRH Queen Elizabeth on her historic state visit to Ireland in 2011. We are only a five minute walk from Dublin's famous Henry Street shopping district and from Moore Street, Dublin's famous daily fresh food market, which is a must for any visitor to the city. For those who would like to experience Dublin's night life we are only a short walk from Temple Bar. Hotel St George is the ideal location for tourists and corporate clients with world class restaurants, pubs and clubs right on the doorstep. Hotel St. George has 53 rooms and suites, free WiFi throughout, as well as a restaurant. We are renowned for our friendly service and if there is anything you need during your stay with us, please don't hesitate to ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing