We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Hotel St. George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. George
Ranked #82 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for three nights. We are aged 20 and 22. The hotel is in a perfect location, just a few minutes walk onto O'Connell street. Hotel was very clean, towels changed everyday. Bedding made, glasses changed etc. Tea/ coffee making facilities. A lot of people comment on it needing refurbishing but don't actually understand that this is a GEORGIAN hotel therefore it is designed to look old fashioned. Breakfast was lovely, perfect choice of cereals, toast, preserves, yoghurt, fruit and full Irish breakfast. Would very much recommend this hotel for a stay in Dublin. Only down side was the rooms walls were thin therefore was woken early by the inconsiderate people above.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma220611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    282
    136
    47
    36
See reviews for
115
269
57
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Kilpatrick, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel is situated at the top of O'Connell St so perfect for THE Post Office, the Dublin Writers' Museum and a Joyce Museum - as well as lots of Dublin Landmarks, being at edge of Parnell Street and Square + O'Connell. Also The Gate Theatre is directly across the road.
Hotel itself has lots of Georgian features, but is rather old, and a tad antiquated...rooms are basic, and though my shower was brill the toilet had no plug in the sink and a loose toilet SEAT! The tap water was also quickly red-hot (and no warning sign); the towels okay but bath-towel far too small. The en-suite was modern; but the room itself was small and basic with lights that didn't work, dirty windows and a door snib that was almost falling off! Needed a wee biscuit with your kettle n tea + coffee stuff (I always think!). The walls seemed paper thin noise-level wise!!
Breakfast was very good and had a range on offer from full Irish to healthy items - coffee v nice (side-plate had no knife both days and on both I had to ask for butter to go with the toast!
No 'Smoking Area' so I had to stand with the pigeons at the back towards the car park (front was no space and v busy street)... though as I left they said that they do have 'a few' Smoking Rooms!!
Lift, but goes only as far down (4 floors) as level 1 (Ground) so a steep set of stairs down to the Dining area!! I helped an old man down and a large lady up!!
TV was a basic choice of 8 channels but I stuck on Sky News - despite its being 'snowy'!
Alcohol-list for small bar (no Draught Beer) was in the lift but when I bought a bottle of beer there was a choice of only 2!!! (And the girl gave me a Non-alcohol Beck's by mistake!! She did replace it!).
Staff were all very helpful and nice; chatty.
"Murray's" bar is but 50 yards away at v top of O'C n very good - indeed it's an open square owned by 2 bars Murray's + The Living Room and both are excellent for food and every beer, and have large and multi-screens showing many sports, and more - Recommended!
All in all great location-wise and despite its faults (most easily rectified) good for a 2/3 night stay and maybe on your own? Price + Location was enough for me! :-)

Room Tip: A Parnell St, ie FRONT road-facing room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterlmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel is older,but we found everything there we needed that we didn't find in some of the newer hotels we stayed in,in other locations,Very handy to town. Best appointed room we have stayed in.Loved the commercial scales in the reception area to weigh our cases before our flight,wonderful. Breakfast was good.If you are looking for a new flash hotel this is not for you.We have been travelling for 2 months staying in lots of upmarket hotels and we found this the best including only room that had 2 chairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent two nights in the St. George. I must say it was the perfect location right at the top of O'Connell St. The place was fine and clean it's just it was very hard to maneuver our luggage and it was very impersonal. The breakfast was fine and the room was OK, but very simple. It worked but of all the places we stayed in it was the least impressive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mag121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Old, dirty, no AC or fans, hard bed, single-flat old pillow, one thin towel, hair dryer didn't work ... and back packers sleeping in the lobby on the sofas. My room (and only window) was directly over the dumpsters ... YUCK! Not in the best part of town, either.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine_m34233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel is situated at the top of O'Connell St which enables to reach all the buses, tours, bars and river etc quite easily.
The hotel itself is quite adequate, we booked a deluxe room which was marginally better than a standard room. There was a party of seventeen of us so we had access to a few alternative types of rooms and these differed quite a lot , the lower floors being a bit better. The lift does not stop at floor 3 or 6, and also floor 6 is the smoking rooms.
Our room had a large bed with duvet, a good size bathroom and an alcove which held the wardrobe and dresser, fridge and tea making facilities.
The breakfast was okay, it got a bit busy and queues formed at times, but this wasn't too big an issue, as the staff tried to help as much as possible. In fact the staff were fantastic, all of them, especially Zoe and Carl who managed to acquire a wheelchair for our use free of charge.
I would stop here again if ever back in Dublin, as the price and everything was okay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I m traveling weekly to Dublin at the moment and have been staying at different hotels to decide which one suits me and i made the mistake of booking this place.
Yes it is very central, but then everything is in Dublin really. The most I've spend on cabs to and from Temple Bar district is €9.
Whats wrong with the place? It's like a B&B that's got delusions of grandeur! The room was tiny, the bathroom was really tired and bordering on unacceptable and people were crashing ion and out all night and from 0530 in the morning.
Picture this, the maids hoover and cleaning kit is simply plonked in the hallway behind the door that is always shut! Don't they have a cupboard?
Anyway for the money i could point you at 10 WAY better hotels.
Swerve it!

Room Tip: choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Belvedere Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,338 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 151 in Dublin
4,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castle Hotel
#58 of 151 in Dublin
1,932 reviews
Cassidys Hotel
#45 of 151 in Dublin
2,546 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#90 of 151 in Dublin
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. George

Property: Hotel St. George
Address: 7 Parnell Square, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. George 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. George is a three star property, within walking distance of the Abbey & Gate theatres, the Municipal Art Gallery, Dublin's Writers museum and the James Joyce Cultural Centre. We are adjacent to the Garden of Remembrance, which was visited by HRH Queen Elizabeth on her historic state visit to Ireland in 2011. We are only a five minute walk from Dublin's famous Henry Street shopping district and from Moore Street, Dublin's famous daily fresh food market, which is a must for any visitor to the city. For those who would like to experience Dublin's night life we are only a short walk from Temple Bar. Hotel St George is the ideal location for tourists and corporate clients with world class restaurants, pubs and clubs right on the doorstep. Hotel St. George has 53 rooms and suites, free WiFi throughout, as well as a restaurant. We are renowned for our friendly service and if there is anything you need during your stay with us, please don't hesitate to ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing