We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast”
Review of Hotel St. George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. George
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
201 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We arrived earlier then the allocated check in time and they allowed us to go into the room. I asked for a room away from the road, specfically. The room was not only on the road side but above the front door. It was too cold then way too hot, they have radiators not aircon. We actually slept with the window open. The spare blanket had another persons hair all over it.

Overall, good value for money, pretty central and the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZKirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    271
    136
    46
    36
See reviews for
112
264
56
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jordan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a weekend break here in Dublin and found the hotel to be pretty good. The location is perfect, literally a stone's throw from the main street and easy walking distance to most places, but the Green or Big Red Hop on/off, and normal bus service stops are very close too and you can get a ticket from Reception. We had asked for a quiet room so were a bit dismayed to find ourselves in a room with a view over the main road and single glazing, but either the Guinness, luck, or the comfortable beds meant we did not have a disturbed night!
The room was comfortable with plentiful tea and coffee facilities, twin beds and used but serviceable furniture. The bathroom was clean and the shower hot. My only complaint was that the hall and stairs area was very overheated, but I imagine this was to keep the reception staff warm as they were placed close to the front door!
Breakfast was excellent, very filling full 'English' and very quickly served. All in all a grand little hotel and well recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittygangar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cross Hands, Llanelli
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stopped over at this hotel en route to Rosslare Ferry. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable and clean. TV, hairdryer and toiletries all provided. Hotel situated just a 5 min walk into the centre of Dublin, where there are numerous bars, restaurants and great shopping.
Breakfast really good with friendly, helpful staff. We would definitely stay again should we be back in Dublin.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

On a recent trip to ireland to catch up with some friends in the in Cork we overnighted in Dublin at the St George Hotel in Parnell SQ. Our long haul flight got us to Dublin tired and perhaps a little travel weary early afternoon and after picking up our rental we made our way to the Hotel St George. A shower and change of clothes followed by a meal and then sleep was planned in that order.

The hotel promised parking... Well it turned out that there was a parking area however to access it was necessary to check in first. The hotel fronts Fredrick Street North, a 4 lane one way street leading onto O'Connell Street in Dublin. The left hand lane fronting the Hotel is a dedicated bus lane, no stopping or parking! Picture late afternoon in Dublin's CBD trying to find a place to park so we could check in. A check of the website on our iPad offered no help.

Some time later, while one of us circled the block in rush hour traffic, the other jumped out and proceeded to check in. Since I wasn't present for this part of the experience I'll refrain from comment and simply state that it took some 35 minutes.

Suffice to say the experience went downhill from here. The room was small if not poky, the shower worked after a fashion and breakfast was a combination of help yourself and poorly prepared and badly served fry up in a dining room filled with a coach full of very hungry and irritated fellow travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rintoul353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have just stayed here for the last 2 nights of our holiday in Ireland. The staff are very friendly and helpful, in particular Zoe and Maeve on reception. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom was fine.
We loved the breakfast room and the staff were very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennyC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

stayed for three nights, beds were very hard and not comfortable, rooms need updating, only 3 tv channels. Very VERY noisy as staff arrive for work in the mornings, breakfast ok, Staff not very welcoming, thereafter you had to initiate conversation to get any response. Far from being a luxury hotel, first room we were offered had signs of an inside break in which we refused to stay in as the door was not secure. All in all, ................... wont be returning :(

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rubyruby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We were in Dublin for an afternoon and evening, leaving mid-morning. We wanted a simple place, in town. St George was exactly what we wanted. With free parking, free wifi and a full Irish breakfast included in the price, right on Parnell Square in the theatre district, a short and interesting walk in to the restaurant district, it was exactly what we wanted for a very reasonable price. The staff were delightful. We would happily stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank glts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,408 reviews
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Castle Hotel
#58 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. George

Property: Hotel St. George
Address: 7 Parnell Square, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. George 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. George is a three star property, within walking distance of the Abbey & Gate theatres, the Municipal Art Gallery, Dublin's Writers museum and the James Joyce Cultural Centre. We are adjacent to the Garden of Remembrance, which was visited by HRH Queen Elizabeth on her historic state visit to Ireland in 2011. We are only a five minute walk from Dublin's famous Henry Street shopping district and from Moore Street, Dublin's famous daily fresh food market, which is a must for any visitor to the city. For those who would like to experience Dublin's night life we are only a short walk from Temple Bar. Hotel St George is the ideal location for tourists and corporate clients with world class restaurants, pubs and clubs right on the doorstep. Hotel St. George has 53 rooms and suites, free WiFi throughout, as well as a restaurant. We are renowned for our friendly service and if there is anything you need during your stay with us, please don't hesitate to ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing