We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Front Desk”
Review of Ripley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ripley Court Hotel
Ranked #93 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed her on August 24 because I had realized that I was missing a nights stay during our trip to Ireland! Major mistake on my part, so we were frantically looking online for a room for the evening. We stumbled across this hotel, it was the best price (which was still wayyyyyy inflated due to it being the weekend of the Mayo/Tyrone semifinal game), and it was close to our drop off point to our previous tour. When we arrived at the hotel, the lady who worked the front desk was cheerful and lovely not only to us, but every guest I saw her interact with. I think she felt sorry for us that we were paying the inflated price we were because she threw in a breakfast for each of us the next morning, and thank goodness she did! Firstly, the breakfast was a delicious continental Irish breakfast buffet with lots of variety of breakfast foods, hot and cold drinks, fruits and bread. Secondly, this is where we found out about the game. Virtually every guest was Irish (a bonus for us Canadians) wearing a Mayo jersey. I asked a neighbouring table what was happening and he told us it was the semifinals for Gaelic Football. We went back to the lovely receptionist for info on the game. She was so pleased that we would be interested in the game, it made us more excited to check it out. She gave us walking directions to Croke Park and told us how to buy tickets. The hotel was a 25 minute walk to the park, perfect!
As for the actual room, it gave us all we needed. The bed was cozy, the room and bathroom were clean. The television was a small flat screen. The lobby is spacious with cozy chairs everywhere. Wifi is free but only works in the lobby. The hallways are run down but we were just happy to get a room. There is a hair dryer in the room.
The hotel is a 20 minute walk to Temple Bar. The actual stretch the hotel is on is a bit dodgy in the evening, not unsafe, just a bit ugly later on.
If the receptionist wasn't so amazing, I'd probably rate the hotel 3.5, I wish I got her name so her management could praise her. We would definitely stay here again for a better price :) by the way, we paid 138 euro for one night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsKHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
There are newer reviews for Ripley Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Had an overnight stay in this hotel in June very close to city centre and all amenities required very quite place considering its next to Connolly station rooms bright and airy very comfortable polite and pleasant staff good full Irish and continental breakfast very clean and spacious surroundings in rooms an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2013. Nice big rooms. Very close to everything, no need for a car. Hop on/off tour bus is a 5 minute walk and the bus to airport is 3 minutes. The bed was comfortable, towels and linens were new and fresh. The toiletries need to be improved. Only one dispenser in shower, no soap to wash up at the sink. There are 2 grocery stores on the street as well as Euro stores for cheap toiletries that the hotel does not provide. There is no wifi in the rooms which needs to be addressed, but the wifi in the lounge is strong and reliable. While sitting in the lounge we overheard every guest's disappointment about no wifi in the rooms while they were checking in. Overall not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here on the 19th to 20th of june after our long trip in europe. The hotel is very easy to get to, we flew into dublin airport and got the Dublin Bus airport service which actually brought us right outside the door of the hotel. The receptionist was very nice and helpful. The room was a bit on the old fashioned side but was very nice and cosy and had a kettle and tea making facilities. The hotel is very near o connell street and a few shopping centers around the place . It is also Very near the Busarus Luas stop which brings you right to the train station. The rooms have no WiFi but the reception lobby does. All in all it is a very reasonably priced hotel in the center of dublin and i will be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corkman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here with a friend, the hotel is only 15 mins walk to the Temple Bar and only 5 mins from the shops etc.. It probably wasn't in the best area of town so to speak but by Dublin prices was great value. The room pretty average but certainly did the job. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would consider staying again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying_Scotzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights here in triple room and was very impressed with the size and comfort of the room.The room was cleaned every day and also had a decent shower.The cooked breakfasts were fantastic,,also a choice of cereals,scones,ham and cheese. .The hotel front could do with a spruce up as it does not look too appealing from the outside, but has an old fashioned comfortable feel once inside. Room 309 was great and very quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A number of us (14) stayed here for 2 days as part of a resdiential. We had never stayed here before and where suprised how good the hotel was. It is ideally suited for getting of the train in Connelly station. Easy access to O'Connell street, the bus station and the LUAS. the rooms are good, the breakfast cooked. The staff where more than helpful. It was quiet at night time despite the place being booked out although I could hear traffic passing at the back of the hotel in the night. A nice stopover which me and my partner will use some time in the near future. It is not a 5 star hotel but it is value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#81 of 150 in Dublin
1,151 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#101 of 150 in Dublin
1,118 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#89 of 150 in Dublin
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,577 reviews
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripley Court Hotel

Address: 37 Talbot Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £60 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ripley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel located in the heart of Dublin city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ripley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripley Court Dublin
Hotel Ripley Court
Ripley Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing