We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay!”
Review of Ripley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ripley Court Hotel
Ranked #93 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Texarkana, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was a nice little hotel. Used the Airlink to get from airport to hotel. Drops off right in front and picks up around the corner. Staff was very nice and helpful. Had a great Irish breakfast included with the room. Room was comfortable and clean. Some have complained that it was dark. Ithought it was charming and cute. The area is typical of an urban area but I never felt unsafe. Walking distance to many areas or you can catch a bus around the corner. They stored our bags while we were out before catching our flight. Would certainly stay there again if I get back to Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    564
    436
    108
    92
See reviews for
201
558
85
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

the hotel is about a ten minute walk from the city centre, the reception area is massive with lots of leather chairs and sofa's plus an internet station there is also a room where you can leave your luggage if your room isn't ready or you have a late flight, we were in room 123 which didn't have a view only of the roofs of other parts of the hotel, the room it's self was big and clean and tidy with a tv tea and coffee making facilities and a safe, the bathroom was of ample size and the shower was hot and powerful but both the room and bathroom are showing signs of general wear and tear, breakfast was really good with plenty of cereals to choose from plus a full Irish which was really tasty, again this area was large with two seperate eating areas, the hotel also has secure parking, all the staff were friendly and polite

Room Tip: room 123 does not have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed at the Ripley Court Hotel with a friend, whilst attending a concert at the 02. The hotel is centrally located and has secure off street parking at 10 euro per day, which is reasonable when staying in Dublin.
First impressions on entering the hotel could be a bit of a “put off” as the reception area is quite poorly lit, my concerns however where unnecessary.
The twin room at 97 euro including breakfast was basic but clean and the bed fairly comfortable, the bathroom is a bit small but adequate and the shower was very refreshing. The breakfast wasn’t the best I’ve ever had but was still good value for money.
This is an excellent little hotel at the price we paid and I would have no hesitation booking this hotel again if on a one or two night break, for a longer stay I would probably look for something a little more luxurious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goonersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Area - run down and dirty area of Dublin, may be central but there are certainly better areas to stay in. Room - poor, stains on the carpet, broken dirty tiles in the bathroom, sink plug hole dirty and blocked, we had to wear ear plugs to sleep due to noise from a generator and when we complained about the noise no one seemed to be interested we were told the hotel was full and there was nothing they could do, no apology. Breakfast was terrible, uneatable, toast kept warm on a hot tray so was soft and soggy, eggs like rubber, and we are certainly not fussy eaters. There is nothing good to stay about this hotel certainly will not be coming back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bkearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After reading the reviews prior to staying at The Ripley I was a little dubious about our stay. The area is average but if you want fancy pay fancy prices, the hotel itself was a surprise and a real little gem. The entrance way is open and there is loads of room to sit and relax, we were almost 3 hours early for check in due to our flight and the staff were extremely kind and let us sit and wait while they checked our rooms were ready. We had two triple rooms which were very spacious and very clean. The only small fault with the room was that when we showered the water sprayed on the floor due to there being no sealant on the bath/shower door, but common sense allowed us to put towels down so this was not a problem. If we came back to Dublin we would definitely stay here again and I would urge everyone to give it a try and not be put off by the bad reviews as this hotel was really lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leinster, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I am pleased to say I am a regular for breakfast in the Ripley Court diner (a part of the Ripley Court Hotel - which I have never stayed over in).

They do excellent classic full Irish Breakfasts - good coffee and lovely, courteous and helpful staff.
Dont be put off by the appearance outside - it is really very good.

You can tell it is good by the number of locals frequenting the place!

Dont expect la de dah treatment - it is a classic diner - just enjoy the fry up and toast, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here last night for the eagles concert ,and I can honestly say this was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in ... The staff were lovely ...but that's the only good point about this hotel ...dark .dismal dirty and grotty ... I had a shower and the shower got blocked ...my husband attempted to clear it and the dirt filth and hair that came up was REVOLTING ..we complained at reception ... They were very apologetic about it and when we returned from the concert it had been cleaned ..but had a shower this morning and the same thing happened ... Could'nt be bothered mentioning it when we checked out ...had lunch ther ..AWFUL ...no residents bar .we would have been better off staying in a hostel

Room Tip: Don't attempt to even socialise around this area ...really rough
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maryfitz122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,132 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#101 of 151 in Dublin
1,092 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#91 of 151 in Dublin
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,523 reviews
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripley Court Hotel

Property: Ripley Court Hotel
Address: 37 Talbot Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ripley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel located in the heart of Dublin city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ripley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripley Court Dublin
Hotel Ripley Court
Ripley Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing