We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Ripley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ripley Court Hotel
Ranked #91 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was our 4th visit to this hotel. It's excellently situated for the centre, all the sights and eating places. The main thing for us is the fact it has it's own car park. It could do with a little TLC in places but very comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic, the staff are very nice and helpful. We will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

El hotel está bastante viejo, bien merece una renovada, los baños viejos y no muy limpios (los tradicionales cabellos en la regadera y excusado), las llaves del lavamanos poco funcionales pues no mezclan el agua, así que o tienes agua muy caliente o muy fría. Las camas muy usadas, el desayuno normal, no mucha variedad. El personal siempre muy atento y dispuesto a ayudarte, todos, desde el portero hasta la recepción pasando por el restaurant. Tiene parking privado muy seguro. Si bien la zona puede engañar en parecer un poco fea e insegura, no hay nada que temer. La limpieza de las habitaciones y exteriores es adecuada (no huele a sucio). En general mi estancia no fue desagradable. No sé si volvería.

= = = = =

The hotel is quite old, it needs a renovation urgently, not very clean bathrooms (traditional hair in the shower and toilet), unfunctional water keys in the sink, do not mix the water flow, so either you have very hot or very cold water. Widely used beds, spacious rooms, very noisy (you hear everything from your neighbor and the hall) average breakfast, not much variety. The staff always attentive and willing to help you, everyone from the doorman to the reception through the restaurant. Very secure private parking. While the area may seem a bit deceiving in ugly and insecure, there is nothing to fear. The cleanliness of the rooms and exterior is adequate (does not smell like dirty). Overall my stay was not unpleasant. Do not know if I would come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATRICIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was a nice little hotel. Used the Airlink to get from airport to hotel. Drops off right in front and picks up around the corner. Staff was very nice and helpful. Had a great Irish breakfast included with the room. Room was comfortable and clean. Some have complained that it was dark. Ithought it was charming and cute. The area is typical of an urban area but I never felt unsafe. Walking distance to many areas or you can catch a bus around the corner. They stored our bags while we were out before catching our flight. Would certainly stay there again if I get back to Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

the hotel is about a ten minute walk from the city centre, the reception area is massive with lots of leather chairs and sofa's plus an internet station there is also a room where you can leave your luggage if your room isn't ready or you have a late flight, we were in room 123 which didn't have a view only of the roofs of other parts of the hotel, the room it's self was big and clean and tidy with a tv tea and coffee making facilities and a safe, the bathroom was of ample size and the shower was hot and powerful but both the room and bathroom are showing signs of general wear and tear, breakfast was really good with plenty of cereals to choose from plus a full Irish which was really tasty, again this area was large with two seperate eating areas, the hotel also has secure parking, all the staff were friendly and polite

Room Tip: room 123 does not have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed at the Ripley Court Hotel with a friend, whilst attending a concert at the 02. The hotel is centrally located and has secure off street parking at 10 euro per day, which is reasonable when staying in Dublin.
First impressions on entering the hotel could be a bit of a “put off” as the reception area is quite poorly lit, my concerns however where unnecessary.
The twin room at 97 euro including breakfast was basic but clean and the bed fairly comfortable, the bathroom is a bit small but adequate and the shower was very refreshing. The breakfast wasn’t the best I’ve ever had but was still good value for money.
This is an excellent little hotel at the price we paid and I would have no hesitation booking this hotel again if on a one or two night break, for a longer stay I would probably look for something a little more luxurious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goonersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Area - run down and dirty area of Dublin, may be central but there are certainly better areas to stay in. Room - poor, stains on the carpet, broken dirty tiles in the bathroom, sink plug hole dirty and blocked, we had to wear ear plugs to sleep due to noise from a generator and when we complained about the noise no one seemed to be interested we were told the hotel was full and there was nothing they could do, no apology. Breakfast was terrible, uneatable, toast kept warm on a hot tray so was soft and soggy, eggs like rubber, and we are certainly not fussy eaters. There is nothing good to stay about this hotel certainly will not be coming back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bkearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After reading the reviews prior to staying at The Ripley I was a little dubious about our stay. The area is average but if you want fancy pay fancy prices, the hotel itself was a surprise and a real little gem. The entrance way is open and there is loads of room to sit and relax, we were almost 3 hours early for check in due to our flight and the staff were extremely kind and let us sit and wait while they checked our rooms were ready. We had two triple rooms which were very spacious and very clean. The only small fault with the room was that when we showered the water sprayed on the floor due to there being no sealant on the bath/shower door, but common sense allowed us to put towels down so this was not a problem. If we came back to Dublin we would definitely stay here again and I would urge everyone to give it a try and not be put off by the bad reviews as this hotel was really lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Beresford Hotel
#99 of 152 in Dublin
1,169 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#44 of 152 in Dublin
4,789 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#81 of 152 in Dublin
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 152 in Dublin
660 reviews
Hotel St. George
#70 of 152 in Dublin
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripley Court Hotel

Address: 37 Talbot Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £52 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ripley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel located in the heart of Dublin city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ripley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripley Court Dublin
Hotel Ripley Court
Ripley Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing