We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goo hotel, awful location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ripley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ripley Court Hotel
Ranked #94 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Goo hotel, awful location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I'm doing this review because I wish someone had told me before I went. The hotel was lovely. Clean, spacious rooms. Helpful staff. And very good value for money. And it's location in terms of only being a short walk to the main town and temple bar etc was brilliant. However, it was also located near a methadone clinic and therefore had druggies, drunks and tramps outside and in he surrounding areas pretty much 24/7. We constantly had people shouting outside our window and these were the people who made our stay uncomfortable. As a result of this we had to get a taxi back every night because we didn't want to walk the 15 mins bk from temple bar alone (being 2 women). If you could have picked the hotel up and moved it, it would have been perfect. This is no reflection on the hotel, simply it's location. They did have a security guard sitting out in the reception.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninni20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    533
    397
    100
    84
See reviews for
187
515
82
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
181 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is centrally located north of the Liffey, not far from the Busaras (Bus Station). It is not far to walk to Trinity College, the Books of Kells and the other sights on the southern side of Liffey - or to Temple Bar if you that is what you prefer - or even Crafton street if you are looking for shopping. In Dubin you are never far from a nice pub no matter where you are staying. Rooms in Riply Court were nice, spacious and clean. Breakfast was included and good. Staff was very helpful and nice. The Hotel was also surprisingly quiet, very good value indeed.

Room Tip: I cannot think of anything, it was a nice place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for a short trip with my teenage son - we just wanted a civilised B&B close to the city centre. That's exactly what we had. The room was spotless (as is the whole place, pretty much) and spacy, beds comfortable, plenty of hot water in the shower and the included breakfast would satisfy Godzilla and was served with brisk efficiency - just as well, because the dining room can get quite full at this time. The location makes for easy walking around most of the city centre, with some good pubs and restaurants even on Talbot Street. All of this at a very reasonable price - what's not to like?
Could have been better? - well, there are not a lot of entertainments in the hotel - it's a little downbeat (so look for your jollies elsewhere) and our bathroom needed an extractor fan for water vapour. OK, so nothing is perfect, but at this money, I'm not complaining.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

In Dublin for 2 nights we had read the reviews on this hotel before we went so weren't expecting too much.

As other reviewers have said, the area around the hotel is not the best but is full of character nevertheless. As a lone female I would hesitate to be in the immediate area at night.

So ... to be fair, the good points first:

Near to the tourist area, the 747 bus from the airport drops you at the front door, staff are on the whole extremely good (see my later comment on that one!) and it's clean. Staff are happy to give you the key to the luggage room to leave cases on your last day (but be aware there is no tagging sytem so no security as to who walks off with your luggage)

The bad points: room 201 is to be avoided at all costs (it's literally 20 feet away from the D.A.R.T railway which thunders past every 15 minutes) the hotel is dingy and dark and needs updating generally (cracked tiles, slightly shabby towels, tiny bathroom with no shelving to put toiletries, etc) My biggest moan is for the completely charmless evening receptionist who could do no more than scowl at me when asked to replenish the tea ,coffee and milk as it hadn't been done by room cleaners. A smile costs you nothing sir!

Also a comment on the dreary dark reception and bar - what's wrong? Turn the lights up, it's very depressing!

Food? Don't know, we decided to not risk it.

The cost - too much for what we got ... £187 for 2 nights in a hotel needing a lot of TLC. Better to be a bit farther out and maybe find a Premier Inn - at least you are guaranteed consistency. And getting around Dublin is easy.

We need to thank the staff who when asked to move us to another room due to the thundering trains, were very helpful, but couldn't as the hotel was full. They offered to move us the following day. (In the event we stayed where we were as the trains stop around midnight ... but if you go to bed earlier than that you won't sleep)

Overall comment? Clean, tired and dreary, lovely staff, awful initial reception area. Could do so much better.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept Room 201 on ANY account - see comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

we stayed here as a group of 6 in 2 triple rooms. We got the airlink and the hotel was right next to the bus stop. Check in was quick and easy having pre-booked through booking.com. and staff were really helpful. We had room 219 which was really spacious with 3 single beds. The shower was fabulous, very powerful and no issue with the temperature. There was no noise on the corridors and as we were facing out the back of the hotel, no street noise. Breakfast was really good with plenty of choice of hot food and as much as you wanted. The location is perfect, right near the airport bus stop, easy walking distance to O'Connel street and Temple Bar. Having stayed in Dublin many times, for the price we paid we could not have done better and will definitely stay here again. I really don't see what people have to moan about, if you want 5 star then you will have to pay for it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macca28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We loved the location but the hotel itself was average. Very misleading photographs -- I think they had a really good photographer. The 'front desk' area was really dark and not very inviting. Same with the rooms -- they were clean but very basic. I definitely think this place needs some improvements made. The location was great for what we were planning to do in Ireland. We did a lot of walking around the town and spent very little time in our room. The hotel did have a car park which is a bonus in downtown Dublin.

Room Tip: Not sure on this one -- we had a room that had a great view of the building next door. If you are vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLovePrinting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Don't normally post negative reviews but hoping this one will help. The Ripley Court is well placed for getting off the airport bus but the entrance is REALLY off putting. When we arrived it was filthy with squashed in food on the mat and cigarette butts everywhere. There is a manned desk just inside the foyer so I don't think it would be too much to ask to keep it clean. Once inside its a bit better and the staff on the reception get a full 5. Breakfast is OK if you like an immense cooked plateful but the 'continental' it advertises is very limited. Like a lot of older hotels its a bit noisy from the corridors as the doors have gaps but its quite clean, just a little dated especially the bathrooms. Ours had cracked tiles and gaps everywhere but the very worse thing was the shower which was fixed to the wall with no movement and a solid shower door, which meant you had to stand in the shower to switch it on resulting in freezing or scalding water on you whilst adjusting the temperature-ouch. Needs a bit of an overhaul.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Beresford Hotel
#95 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#86 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#88 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
North Star Hotel
#62 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripley Court Hotel

Property: Ripley Court Hotel
Address: 37 Talbot Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ripley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ripley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripley Court Dublin
Hotel Ripley Court
Ripley Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing