We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel lacking a view but fairly central on northern side of river”
Review of Ripley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ripley Court Hotel
Ranked #91 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The situation was convenient for bus direct from and to airport and just about within walking distance of many things to see; the breakfast lacked any real vegetarian option seeminglt targetted at those that like the big greasy Irish breakffast -fried and scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, black pudding, fried potatoes, tomatoes, toast, cereals, prunes, spreads and strong tea of coffee. I wouldn't say it was the cleanest of places either outside or inside - the lift was pretty dirty and the room a carpet was not cleaned well. The staff were friendly. They advertise a covererd smoking area outside which does not exist, and threaten a 100 euro fine for smoking in a room, not that I smoke so that did not matter. They offer a carvery lunch but only until 3 pm then there is no food available at all, and the best acceptable restaurant was 15 minutes walk. Our room looked out onto a messy yard - we did ask for a room with a view!

Room Tip: I think they are all the same but maybe try for a back one, now view but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Only a five minute walk from The Spire on O'Connell Street. Clean rooms, hot showers, tea and coffee facilities in room, great breakfast and free in room wifi. Everything you need to explore Dublin for a few days. For those driving there's a secure 24 hour garage.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank r_weatherall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, quick service at front desk as well as at breakfast.
Room and brag somewhat worn but clean and great considering season and location.
Maximum luxury to have a room facing the back, open window all night. Waken up by seaguls in the middle of a city.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

From: The Deerings, Dunnes & Southwells. Great hotel, great location. Six of us stayed at Ripley Court, Talbot Street for 10 days, arrived July 27-Aug. 6, 2014. Upon first entering you enter the security, which we thought was reception, but went in further to reception. Very nice, clean, friendly staff. It is an older hotel but kept up and clean, no air conditioning but it was fine. They let you store your bags until your room is ready. The hotel is within walking distance to most all the attractions. 15 - 20 minute walk to Grafton St. Trinity College, Temple Bar District, Jameson Distillery. Just straight down Talbot Street, there is plenty of shopping, lots of stores, malls, restaurants, pubs, bars etc. We walked to most all places. The transit system is excellent, buses and taxis galore. Cannot wait to go back. Thank you to the Staff and especially the three security guys at front when you enter.

Room Tip: We stayed on third floor, rooms 320, 322, 314 and found it very good. There was a bit of noise but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DeeringV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Bed & bathroom clean, that's always my priority but the breakfast was very lacking. In desperated need of decor update. Don't stay here if you like a nice breakfast such as fruit and yoghurt! The staff are ok but not overly helpful. We had to ring about a light bulb out in the bathroom, when we went out 2 hours later we had to report it to reception, they didnt even apologise that it hadnt been done. The hotel is in a really good area for exploring. Also the lobby was so dark and dingy, I don't know how the staff cope, its so miserable. Maybe that's why they are not very cheerful!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here a couple of months ago with friends, so wasn't exactly going to stay here much. Found the hotel very gloomy and dark, decor definitely needs doing. Staff are not very friendly at all. The hotel is also very out of the city about a 10/15 mins walk. The area is not very nice surrounding the hotel and very run down.

The only good bit I can say is the breakfast, which is very nice and rooms are basic but have facilities such as hair dryer and ironing board which was useful. Oh and the free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebeccavilday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is second visit to Ripley Court, we think it is great value, the rooms have everything you need and what a location! The bus from the airport stops right outside the hotel!
Breakfast is mighty. Staff had always been very friendly and helpful - we will be back in the future!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ChesterSparkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Beresford Hotel
#101 of 152 in Dublin
1,173 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#44 of 152 in Dublin
4,798 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#80 of 152 in Dublin
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 152 in Dublin
661 reviews
North Star Hotel
#63 of 152 in Dublin
2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripley Court Hotel

Address: 37 Talbot Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £53 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ripley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel located in the heart of Dublin city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Ripley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripley Court Dublin
Hotel Ripley Court
Ripley Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing