We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Dublin
Ranked #51 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We landed at 730 AM and were amazed our room was available that early! Staff was wonderful, and sent amazing homemade granola bars to our room! They also gave us great advice on places to eat in Trinity Bar... We stayed a total of 3 nights, had great breakfasts every day and would stay there again!

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room away from train if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazkiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Annette P
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to you enjoyed your stay with us. I was especially delighted to see you got an early check in, we do try to have as many rooms ready for our overseas guests as we know how long the flights can be. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team. They send their thanks.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Hilton on your return to Ireland.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    737
    282
    78
    45
See reviews for
207
661
113
543
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This hotel is in a prime location for accessing everything Dublin has to offer. It's right on the canal, has easy access to the Luas Green Line as well as Dublin buses, and you can walk most places in a reasonable amount of time.

The rooms are good sized and have all the standard amenities. We arrived too early to check in but they stored our bags while we explored the city. Upon return we found a bottle of wine and a snack tray in our room with best wishes for our birthdays. My friend and I had forgotten we'd mentioned we were celebrating our birthdays to the woman who checked in our luggage, and were impressed that she had gone that extra mile to provide us with such a nice surprise.

The breakfast buffet is generous in size and variety; though they did open a bit late. We sort of snuck in one morning shortly after 7 am as we were taking a day tour that left around 8 am. Although most of the breakfast items were already out, they claimed they didn't open until 7:30 am. Since no one was around when we arrived, we helped ourselves to breakfast, probably to the consternation of staff, though they did not show it. The staff at the hotel were always friendly and helpful.

The bathrooms have nice large towels and face cloths, the latter of which can be optional in some hotels. My only complaint would be the lack of top sheets on the bed. I called to housekeeping twice to ask for extra sheets but they didn't appear until the last day (of a 3 night stay), and likely only because my friend had started filling out the comment card and had left it (face down) in the room while we were out for the day.

They also do not have free internet in the rooms, but I believe you can get free WI-FI in the common areas. Fortunately, I had my own mobile broadband USB stick.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CelticWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Celtic Wandering
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location suitable to your needs. Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your birthdays the team were delighted you enjoyed it. Our breakfast buffet is open from 7 am and I have highlighted your feedback to the Food and Beverage Manager for review.
My apologies for any delay in service to your room, we do not expect any guest to wait for any needs they may have.
I hope you will consider us on your next trip to Dublin.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Dublin Hilton is conveniently located on Charlemont near several attractions as well as a rapid transit line. The rooms are well appointed and the staff attentive. Restaurants are more than adaquate. I've stayed there on two different occasions this summer and was not dissapointed. My room was not ready on my first trip (I got in around noon) and they provided me the code for free wi-fi in the lobby so I could get caught up on my email while waiting for my room. Very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear HughC
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location so central. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff and service you received.
We look forward to welcoming you back a fourth time to the hotel.
Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

My partner and i stayed here for two nights for a weekend away and it was fantastic! Superb breakfast, keen and friendly staff, spotless and very comfortable rooms. We didnt want to go home! Fantastic price too for a Bank Holiday weekend - £85 per room per night including breakfast booked through booking.com. We would definately go back.We arrived very early on a Saturday morning at 8.30am and were allowed to check into our room - that is a first for me, usually you are made to wait until the correct check in time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Emma8888

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

The team were delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and send their thanks for your kind words. I was delighted to see you enjoyed the Hilton Breakfast and of course the guest room.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your partner back to the Hilton Dublin

Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

I stay in hiltons quite a bit and am please to say that this one is right up there. My room was very comfortable with easy to use wi Fi from BT Openzone. The decor is relaxing and the bed , sofa and workspace were all very well laid out and conducive to the business traveller. Breakfast was extra on this stay but was an affordable €12.50 and was up there with the best offerings.
My only one gripe is that as a regular traveller to Dublin the Hotel put me in what was the probably the worst room they had, room 219 , right beside the LUAS light railway line which despite all their sound proofings was still quie noisy. I will be coming back though but not to room 219!

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Sbz100

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the rooms and the team, we are delighted the room was convenient to your work.

Please accept my apologies for any disturbance encountered during your stay with us, as you mentioned we have triple glazed this room to help with any noise from the LUAS line.

We hope you will return again soon to the Hilton Dublin


Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

The staff were professional, happy and nothing was too much effort. We were always greeted with a smile and any requests we made were dealt with quickly and the staff on reception had a diverse knowledge of Dublin. Rooms are excellent, safe and secure with all the expected facilities. The Still bar and the restaurant have good food at sensible prices. Easy access to all floors. Rooms were very clean and secure. The walk to the city centre and Grafton Street was approximately 15- 20 minutes. Taxis are always available outside the hotel and cost about 10 euros to get to the city centre.
The room did not have a great view as we looked over the tram lines at the back of the hotel, but we had come to see Dublin not to sit in our room. We used the air coach from the airport which dropped us at the top of the canal on Leeson Street and we walked down to the hotel. There is a car park at a cost of 10 Euros per night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELFAST, NI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was my first stay at the Hilton Dublin. Great location beside the Grand Canal, beside the luas stop and an easy 10 min walk into the city centre. The hotel is modern, rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful.

There are some downsides though with this hotel. Wi-fi is extremely patchy and slow. I was in a room at the end of a corridor and the signal kept dropping.

Breakfast was disappointing and definitely not up to the normal Hilton standards. Great range of food items on offer but the quality was very poor. It was a busy Sunday morning and items had run out as well as the coffee machine but these went unnoticed by the staff.

Luckily my breakfast was complementary as an Honors member, I'd certainly chose not to eat there if I was paying for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulster_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Ulster_Traveler
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such us a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with and found the location so central. The team send their thanks for your kind comments.

I am sorry to see you experienced issues with our WIFI during your stay, we were upgrading our systems in July and August to ensure a better service but unfortunately this caused some problems in the interim.

I have passed your comments regarding breakfast to our Food and Beverage Manager, he sends his apologies for any service issues you encountered.

Thank you again for your valued feedback, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Conrad Dublin
#20 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Property: Hilton Dublin
Address: 2 Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#44 Business Hotel in Dublin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green and Grafton Street areas, perfect for shopping or to enjoy a bite to eat. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum town centre. Only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center, and close to the RDS and Aviva Stadium, this hotel is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers alike. Enjoy a full Irish breakfast with views of the Grand Canal or indulge in a Charlemont sandwich made from the freshest ingredients; enjoy a fillet steak from our grill in our Charlemont Bar & Bistro. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour or on the Hop on Hop Off tour bus. Visit the Guinness Storehouse, the Jameson Distillery or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has 8 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 2-450 people. •City Centre Location •Close proximity to Convention Centre Dublin, RDS & Aviva Stadium •Fitness Centre •Accessibility to key shopping areas such as Grafton Street and Dundrum Town Centre •Situated in the business district •8 flexible meeting rooms for up to 450 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing