We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Dublin
Ranked #49 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We found this hotel to be very comfortable and the staff very friendly and quite helpful. It was within walking distance to Grafton Street and we took the hop on hop off bus to travel around the city. Taxis were readily availble in front of the hotel if you did not want to walk.
The only thing that was inconvenient was they did not have an operating business center. However, the front desk was more than willing to print our boarding passes for us. Also, this hotel unlike other Hiltons, did not have a gift shop within which to purchase odds and ends or vending machine to purchase snacks or soft drinks.
I also found it strange that none of the guest rooms were furnished with dressers that contained drawers. There wasn't even a draw on the night stand. For the length of our stay, we had to work out of our suitcases.The ony other negative, was our room faced the canal and was quite noisey as this is an old building and noise travels easily through closed windows and doors.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Catherine S,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for Hilton Dublin. I am delighted you had enjoyed
your visit, I have shared your feedback with our team. We hope to see you return in the future.

Kind Regards

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    762
    290
    86
    47
See reviews for
216
690
116
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Location of the hotel was great and relaxing. Room was ok, not too big, not too small; just about right. Service was average but for a one night stay, it was fine. check-in was slightly delayed. We arrived a bit earlier than the check-in time and usually hotels offer early check-in for the customers. Even though hotel was not too busy, this did not happen. So we had to wonder around a little bit (1.5 hours) before checking-in. In comparison to hotels in London, rooms were not so expensive. Overall, it was an average experience but expected better from Hilton hotels. It was my first time in Hilton, so have no benchmark from other stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aryansooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Aryansooren,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.

Its great to hear that you had enjoyed most aspects of your stay, we hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Many Thanks,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Started with big stains,what we they?after they cleaned the carpet,we could not turn off the
Fan or air on,though it was only 40 F. At night.safe didn't work,so we had to cart our iPads/
Etc. all over town.freezing with air con.next morning handle on toilet door came off after
Not working properly.gave it to front desk,returned 6 hrs. Later and walked into toilet,and shut
Door noticing tree was Still no handle!they never fixed it!When front desk was called they were like
Get you out right way,to which my spouse lost it and said get my spouse out right now.
Bright side was main trance finally was able to shut off air con from outside room.
we stay at Doubletree a lot,never 1 problem.Tourists spend a little more and stay somewhere else.this place not worthy of the name Hilton.Only the help very nice.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all.spend $50. More and save yourself the trouble
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The hotel is clean, modern and staffed with very friendly and helpful people. Our room overlooked the canal which was delightful. The room was spacious and very clean. We ate in the bar at night. The food and the service were first class. The hotel is next to the tram stop and only 2 stops from St Stephens Green so is ideal for getting to the City centre. We walked it several times. The walk is lovely through impressive Georgian terraces and only takes 15 to 20 minutes to amble to the centre. Overall a great place to stay in a lovely city and we will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Guy R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

Its great to hear that you had enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning our city centre location and our food in our lovely Stil Bar we are happy to hear that you had enjoyed it.

Once again thank you for your feedback we hope towelcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

Our favourite. When you compare price and location with service it is hard to beat. Have always found staff very helpful around issues with late checkouts and extending stays. Recently they were very accomodating regarding an early check in and although busy, got me sorted, as i had just landed from a long haul flight

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank boots c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear boots c

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review on tripadvisor.

I am thrilled to hear your kind comments regarding our staff, and that you had been able to check in to our hotel early after your long flight.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Staff at reception as well as bar were very friendly and helpful.
Situated somewhat far from the airport but very close walking distance to Grafton street.
Property looked outdated (could do well with refurbishment) Rooms were still very big and spacious, room service did very well with cleanliness. Good selection of in-house entertainment channels.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaArthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear StellaArthur T

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you found our rooms to be of a high standard and found the room to be comfortable clean and spacious.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

A great hilton, located in a nice quiet area with temple just 20 minutes walk away. Staff extremely helpful and full of good local knowledge. Room quality very good and attention to detail very high. Very impressed and will be back next time I am in Dublin.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PhilEmery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear PhilEmery

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at our hotel.

Many thanks for mentioning our hotels central but quiet location, we are delighted that you where very impressed with our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Conrad Dublin
#18 of 151 in Dublin
438 reviews
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Property: Hilton Dublin
Address: 2 Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#44 Business Hotel in Dublin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green and Grafton Street areas, perfect for shopping or to enjoy a bite to eat. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum town centre. Only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center, and close to the RDS and Aviva Stadium, this hotel is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers alike. Enjoy a full Irish breakfast with views of the Grand Canal or indulge in a Charlemont sandwich made from the freshest ingredients; enjoy a fillet steak from our grill in our Charlemont Bar & Bistro. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour or on the Hop on Hop Off tour bus. Visit the Guinness Storehouse, the Jameson Distillery or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has 8 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 2-450 people. •City Centre Location •Close proximity to Convention Centre Dublin, RDS & Aviva Stadium •Fitness Centre •Accessibility to key shopping areas such as Grafton Street and Dundrum Town Centre •Situated in the business district •8 flexible meeting rooms for up to 450 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing