We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient for Luas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Dublin
Ranked #54 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very convenient for Luas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is very convenient to the City Centre, either on foot or via the Luas Tram service. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is good but we preferred to dine in the city rather than in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Arthurgree51,

Many thanks for your recent review, it is great to see you had an enjoyable visit. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    727
    277
    76
    45
See reviews for
200
648
110
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaillimh, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I found the service in this hotel to be very good. The rooms were a good size, very clean, comfortable and it had all of the amenities that we needed. The staff were also very friendly and provided a very good service. I also loved the use of the Irish language in signage. I enjoyed my stay and I will defiantly recommend it to my colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Brid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Brid N,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was a great hotel. The rooms were spacious and you had all the usual facilities including a TV, safe, electric kettle and a great selection of tea and coffee. Even the fridge was stocked which was a surprise since all the other hotels up to this stage on our tour were empty. Our room was right next to the tram so it could get noisy but it wasn't an issue during the day since we were out and about and we tended to close the window at night when we slept and turn on the air con instead for some air flow. Breakfast in the morning was very good - a nice selection of foods and you could even make your own carrot juice. Location was also pretty good. It's about a 10-15 minutes to Grafton Street for some shopping and another couple of minutes to O'Connell street. There's also a Bar across the road if you don't want to eat at the hotel itself. My gripe is that there was no free wifi in the rooms whereas I could access free wifi in even 3 star hotels. At least you could access it for free down in the lobby. Overall a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear S P,

Many thanks for your recent review, it is good to see that you enjoyed your visit overall. Unfortunately it is Hilton policy that we charge for WIFI usage in the guest rooms, this is something that may be reviewed in the future. We certainly hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Not a bad hotel, average at best. In Dublin the buses have free wifi however you have to pay for wifi at the hotel. Though it is not expensive, 4.99 euros what is super annoying is only two devices can be used per room. So if you gave a smart phone and ipad it'll work for you. However if your traveling with your partner you can only use one device each. Once you have logged onto Internet, the main page says don't close this page as you have to log out of it to use the wifi on another device. With the iPad and iPhone you have to close the page to get to the safari icon. So to switch devices you have to call the front desk to have them log you out. After traveling in Ireland for 10 days EVERY hotel we stayed at had free wifi for unlimited devices. Based on this inconvenience I would not stay at the Hilton again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grayson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Grayson C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripdadvisor regarding your recent stay.

Thank you for your feedback it is most appreciated. Unfortunately it is Hilton policy that we charge for WIFI in our guest rooms this may be reviewed in the future, complimentary WIFI is available in our public areas such as the lobby, bar and restauarant.

I have shared your feedback with our I.T manager, but at this moment each connection purchased is limited to two devices per connection.

Once again thank you for your feedback, we do hope you will afford us the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
365 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just back from a weekend staying here and thought it was fine! The rooms weren't perhaps anything special compared to other hotels in Dublin that i've stayed in such as the Burlington but they were fine, clean and adequately equipped. The bathroom doors didnt seem to have locks with the result that the door creeps open a bit when you're in the bathroom which can be a bit annoying! I found my room very comfortable though and very quiet. Just had breakfast one of the mornings. It did the job but wasn't anything to particularly rave about! You could probably get a better value breakfast somewhere nearby. It is right next to a tram stop which is useful too. Overall, a decent enough hotel but I would only really stay here again if I was getting another good deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belfastguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
DearCatherine S,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for Hilton Dublin. I am delighted you had enjoyed your visit, I have shared your feedback with our team. We hope to see you return in the future.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
269 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

I selected this Hotel as I expected a good service from this brand but it was an absolute disaster. The location of the property was central - the only good thing about it. The rooms were noisy due a function in the backyard. I had to pay for Internet as per the reservation - which was fine - but despite the charge the speed was limited to a very slow 256kb and two devices (which was nowhere mentioned). Most of the day the service was offline and frontdesk just said to be patient. Later in the day reception did not even answer the phone anymore to deal with the problem. An absolute rip off. I would not recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: find another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C, hot at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Dublin on Tripadvisor.

I am sincerely sorry to hear any disappointment you have encountered during your stay and I am very sorry that you did not feel that your issues with the internet service was not adequately resolved during your stay.

Unfortunately our internet provider had a fault with their systems which did have an effect on our hotels cover over a few days. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced as a result.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Dublin in the future.

Kind Regards

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Nice simple hotel for business travelers. Simple gym, no swimming pool and only 2 food outlets - a pub and coffeehouse.

Positive: Daily morning buffet breakfast was nice and sufice with the necesaary eggs, bacon, pasties, fruits. The carrot juicer was a nice touch. We ordered the steak and also the scallops for dinner, and the scallops wete particularly nice.

Room had an excellent and comfortable king sized bed.

Need improvement: Staffs in general are friendly but can do with more initiative instead of waiting to be asked. From our stay here for the week, made us feel that as an international brand, Hilton staffs have never seen Asian customers. Most would not greet us unless we initiate - were they assuming Asians don't speak English I wonder. Getting attention of restaurant staffs was a challenge as we observed them greeting and taking orders quickly from Caucasian or European guests.

Only bad callout here apart from the non-friendly staffs, was the Bad wifi connection. Constantly getting disconnected and once connected and idle, it will self-disconnect. Would have thought as a global chain, simple thing as wifi connection be made simple and good.

Helpful?
Thank seb_julian
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear seb_julian,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Dublin on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you had enjoyed our famous Hilton Breakfast and that you had found the rooms to be very comfortable.

I sincerely regret any disappointment you have encountered during your stay and I am very sorry that you did not feel adequately recognized. I wish to assure you that we greatly appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton brand and you are indeed a valued guest at our hotel.

In regards to the Internet issues you experienced during your stay with us. Unfortunately our internet provider did have a fault with their systems which affected our hotels cover over a few days. I apologise for any inconvenience you might have experienced as a result and I am very sorry that your expectations were not met on this occasion.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back at the Hilton Dublin.

Kind Regards

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Conrad Dublin
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Property: Hilton Dublin
Address: 2 Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#44 Business Hotel in Dublin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green and Grafton Street areas, perfect for shopping or to enjoy a bite to eat. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum town centre. Only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center, and close to the RDS and Aviva Stadium, this hotel is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers alike. Enjoy a full Irish breakfast with views of the Grand Canal or indulge in a Charlemont sandwich made from the freshest ingredients; enjoy a fillet steak from our grill in our Charlemont Bar & Bistro. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour or on the Hop on Hop Off tour bus. Visit the Guinness Storehouse, the Jameson Distillery or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has 8 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 2-450 people. •City Centre Location •Close proximity to Convention Centre Dublin, RDS & Aviva Stadium •Fitness Centre •Accessibility to key shopping areas such as Grafton Street and Dundrum Town Centre •Situated in the business district •8 flexible meeting rooms for up to 450 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing