We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jackson Court Hotel
Ranked #143 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dreadful Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

Stayed in the Jackson Court Hotel in March 2010, primarily due to the fact that we were planning to go to the hotel nightclub, Copper Face Jacks that night (a Monday night). When we arrived at the hotel, we were checked in by the only receptionist there, a girl who clearly didn't want to be there and who appeared to have very little interest in what she was doing. She checked us in anyway, and we paid the agreed rate (e55) there and then to get it out of the way (in hindsight, a very bad idea if we had have known what was to come!) We weren't offered any kind of receipt after payment, and had to request one, which seemed to inconvenience the receptionist. Following this we went up to the room, a standard twin on the 3rd floor. There was one headboard over the two single beds, but the headboard was hanging down off the wall on one side! We straight away let reception know about this, as not to get the blame for doing it, yet the same girl didn't appear to care. Went back to the room again, and tried to look for a socket to plug in the kettle which was on the table - yet there was none anywhere nearby. After at least 20 mins searching for a plug socket , we eventually found one - very conveniently located behind the bed with the broken headboard. Therefore to even boil a kettle, we had to lift it off the table, over to the opposite side of the room, put it on the floor, struggle to lift a heavy headboard off the floor where it was covering the socket, and struggle behind the bed to find the socket. It was absolutely ridiculous.
Later on that night when leaving the room, I closed the door behind me and just gave it a small push to double check that it was shut properly. Unbelievably, the door just pushed right open again. Once again I slammed the door, and pushed it open again, opening absolutely no problem! We once again told the same receptionist as earlier, who seemed to be getting more agitated with us each time. She called a man to help us, who we later learned was acting as a bouncer and barman of the hotel nightclub, and hotel handyman, all in one. He was extremely helpful and came up to the room, but couldn't fix the door at all. When we told reception this, we were very reluctantly told that we could change rooms if we really wanted to, but then they told us that they didnt even know if there was any available rooms. At this point we just werent even bothered waiting around anymore so we stayed put in the original room, but had to take all our valuables down to the nightclub with us which really wasn't ideal. Also, the noise from the nightclub is huge so if you fancy an early night, be prepared to suffer through the noise.
The breakfast in the next morning was just okay at best. Although acceptable, the food wasn't great, it was definitely just average, although the dining room was quite nice.
The hotel in general was very outdated and a bit shabby, and most definitely didn't look the cleanest. The walls in the bedroom were stained and there was even tea/coffee marks on the little table in the bedroom. On checkout in the morning, there was a different receptionist on, and when we told her our grievances with the hotel she was not impressed and didn't offer any kind of apology or refund what so ever. Although not much is expected for a hotel room costing 55 euro, this service was definitely unacceptable....although there is perks to staying in the Jackson Court such as the good location and free entry into Coppers (which for people not in the know is extremely sleazy - so although a good venue, enter at your own risk!!), and the convenience of running upstairs when it all gets a bit too much! Overall though, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody...really disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wexkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    78
    72
    70
    154
See reviews for
26
124
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

We booked this hotel due to its location-short walk to central shopping and eating areas. Also as we know the city we were happy to stay in the hotel as we were planning on meeting friends that night and intended going to the nightclub that is linked to the hotel.
First impressions of the hotel were ok. Despite the fact that we had to go into the hotel, get a key for the car park and return to car to park it, then drop key back again-same when leaving.
Staff were pleasant until it came to our room. There were no curtains in our room. There was some netting, but no actual curtains. When we notified staff of this we were told that there was no other rooms available. We had paid in advance and they offered no creit or renumeration of any sort. We were thoroughly disappointed with how we were treated and therefore I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

Please do not stay in this place if your planning to sleep. Unbelievable, the noise was incredible. We didn't get any sleep till about 4 in the morning. The bass guitar was vibrating the bed!!! (thats not a joke by the way) So I'll start from the beginning...Arrived about 7 in the evening after a flight and plenty of walking all day. Walk in and my girlfriend falls in the lobby, floor was wet, but we got over that, as we were just thinking about a good nights rest. We then confront the receptionist (we stayed tues 27th oct 09), she had a face that would frighten Satan, she was unfriendly, uninterested and unhelpful and obviously did not went to be there. When my gf fell she didn't even ask my gf if she was ok!!!!!!!!!!! Just looked down at her on the ground and moved on to the business of getting rid of us out of her sight. So off we go to our room, it was clean but very very very small. Bathroom was clean and nice but the shower is very very small. The main light switch turns on both the bathroom and bedroom light!!!! Very strange. So I then go to turn on the telly...no remote, looked everywhere, so went downstairs to ask where its located in the room. To my shock she hands me a remote and of a box of them! Surely she should have given it to us BEFORE we went to the room. I was abit pissed off by this but theres more....try to turn on the telly with remote....no batteries!! Have to walk down stairs AGAIN. I stay theres no batteries in the remote, she just gives me another remote and doesn't even say sorry!!!! So then we settle down for the night. We were not given a choice of bed sheets i.e. light or heavy sheets. So we sweated buckets as there was just this big heavy heavy heavy blanket. Then the band started playing followed by the dj, they might as well have being playing the the bathroom ....................... breakfast was ok but didn't enjoy it because we only got a few hours sleep. WELL NEVER GO AGAIN. Its a pity because the price was good...but I know now why it was!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hblock21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

great hotel rooms decor stunning food was great night club in basement load when closing but dint realy disturb my famiy location great near the museums and a stunning park lots of good pubs around i would return there again

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naruto86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipp
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Just reading the reviews, i have booked this hotel twice, stayed once will be staying again this weekend. The hotel is adequate, facilities are basic, the bathroom was after being done up so was clean. each time i booked the receptionist did remind me there is a night club downsatirs which can be quiet noisy.The rooms are over a night club so you can expect noise, every effort was made to sound proof rooms I noticed, with two pains of bouble glazed windows.
For us 25-35 year olds it was ideal very cheap B&B plus free entry to Irelands renowned night club with no queing and no taxi fare home its an obvious choice. looking forward to this weekend again, having said all that the night club is pretty sleezy for a city centre club but you will be guaranteed to have great crack if your up to let your hair dowm... and keep an eyeout for our Irishcelebs through out they do frequent the establishment.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TippNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkIreland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed here for just one night and that was quite enough! We went to Dublin for a U2 concert and as there was not much else available We booked here as it was near to Croke Park. I hated it the very moment I walked in the front door and My mind was never changed after that moment. We booked a superior double room costing 159.00 euro for a double room b&b if these rooms are superior cant imagine what the standard rooms are like. When You open the room door its like traveling back in time a tiny room You have to shuffle around the bed to look out the window that has two frames the one on the outside has open windows but the one in the inside can not be opened.The bathrooms a joke there's a frosted window out in to the bedroom for what reason I don't know other then to remind You that You left the bathroom light on when You go to get in to bed! The shower cubicles so small You have to walk in and back out! Don't drop the one bar of soap that's provided in there because You will have to open the shower door back out in to the bathroom to bend down to pick it up!The bed was the most uncomfortable bed Ive ever slept in not that You would get much sleep anyway because the night club underneath is so loud You haven't a hope until after four am that is if the other guests on Your floor haven't been there and are running up and down the hallway for two hours after it closes! The breakfast is something else, the two waitress in the dining room most be two of the most arrogant humans on this planet.The heat in there was sickening not even a window open to leave a bit of air in.The fry came out on plates that were so hot the beans were still bubbling on them,there was a taste of soapy water from the tea,the toast got a passing glance at the toaster because it didn't look as if much else happened it.There was two guys came to the door of the dining room five minutes after the breakfast was suppose to end and were turned away abruptly being told the breakfast was finished not even tea and untoasted bread was offered to them! We checked out that was the only pleasant thing that happened for the stay the young girl on reception was very nice and Id say used to getting the flak she had to endure upon checkout! Never again would I stay here what a rip off!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usuallyhappy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

Stayed for one night which was more than enough. Arrived for check in a bit early but was told room would be ready for 2.00pm. At two was given card for the room, room had still not been cleaned. got into room about 2.45pm. All i would say was that the room was no bigger than a box! Not even enough room to open suitcase on the floor!!! Got back at about 2.30am in the morning, loads of people still waiting to get into the nite club, no receptionist on reception. . Went up to room on the first floor to find no lights- managed to get bouncer to get supervisor who looked at the lights and managed to fix them, trip had blown. Knew that there might be some noise from the niteclub - that was an understatement. Managed to finally get asleep about five in the morning after everyone had gone home from niteclub. As checkout is at eleven did not even manage to lie in. Definately would not go back or recommend to anyone,

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindeeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#89 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#132 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Harrington Hall
#84 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Portobello Hotel
#104 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
South City Centre
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#111 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Court Hotel

Property: Jackson Court Hotel
Address: 29-30 Harcourt St, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jackson Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jackson Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Court Dublin
Hotel Jackson Court
Jackson Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing