We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jackson Court Hotel
Ranked #142 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Outside looks great, when you walk in it's ok!
However, taking the lift is hit and miss whether it'll get you to the right floor or even if the doors will close!
The room was horrible! Just enough room to walk around the bed! No channels to watch, windows dirty. The bathroom had been re-done which was quite nice but dont try and bend down to wash your face in the sink as you cant, shoulders get "in the way" of the closed in walls!
Breakfast was nice however so cant grumble at that.

Then you have the constant noice from the night club. It's open every night and with no sound proofing you hear EVERYTHING! There are no bouncers on the door to try to quieten down the revellers! shouting swearing and generally blarring noise until 5am EVERY day.

I would never recommend this hotel. It's great if you plan to stay up all night and never sleep. We changed rooms because of the noise but it was just as bad!

AWFUL HOTEL DO NOT STAY HERE. PAY THE EXTRA AND GET A BETTER HOTEL.

You do get what you pay for, granted, but dear lord, that was awful!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shellipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

When I walked into the hotel, I started to have serious doubts.

When I got to my room, it was like a box room in a student house. It was dirty, the windows were open, the carpet was terrible, there were insects on the bed, there was no soap in the bathroom, you couldn't sing a cat in it, the toilet roll holder was far too close to the toilet...
I could go on. Quite simply, I just left the hotel.

This establishment is a nightclub with a budget hotel for those who "get lucky" to stay should they wish, and don't care about where they lay their head.

Avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OctoberFall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

The standard of the rooms are really awful, its a very strange place, more like a hostel than a hotel, nightclub is free if you stay, but no need to go there because all the music and sounds can be heard perfectly in the rooms...i think its a nite club with bedrooms not a hotel with a nite club.
strange the owners don,t improve on such a valuable property in such a great location.
oh, and they start clamping cars at 7am so if you park across in the side street as i was advised by staff to do so , get up very early.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seabirdfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Great hotel, decor a bit dated. We arrived at the Hotel and had originally booked a twin room, but were told on arrival that there had been a technical issue with the room they had booked for us so we got upgraded to a superior room. Massive room with a king size bed and another sofa bed that would sleep two more, great bonus !! Entry to Copper Face Jacks through the hotel which was perfect, one minute you are in the hallway of the hotel and the next thing you open this door and your in the middle of the smoking room in Copper Face Jacks, perfect because it was a Sat night and the ques were crazy. The breakfast the following morning was fab and the nice receptionist gave us 12 pm check out instead of 11.a.m with no extra charge. Overall the Hotel was perfect for us, maybe if your looking for a good night sleep i wouldnt recommend it but for us it was perfect, going booking again the next time we head up to Dublin !

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Not the hotel we had originally booked, but due to a double booking our hotel moved us to the Jackson Court Hotel which worked out much better! It is located no more than 10 mins walk from the main shopping area and St. Stephen's Green and about 20mins walk from Temple Bar.
Our room was massive, with two double beds for myself and my friend and was very well kept and decorated. The hotel is split over the main building and the one next door and has a nightclub downstairs which might not suit everyone but being in our twenties it was perfect for us. Although it did operate an over-21s policy and being 20 we weren't allowed in. However the second building (which our room was in) had a one way door leading straight into the nightclub and we weren't troubled once inside. Very random! Not sure how noisy it would be on weekends though as we stayed mid-week but i imagine it could be very loud with the people leaving in the early hours. The management were also a bit dubious about letting two young girls stay in the hotel for some reason, so may not appreciate large groups of young people!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwanttoseetheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Stayed in the Jackson Court Hotel in March 2010, primarily due to the fact that we were planning to go to the hotel nightclub, Copper Face Jacks that night (a Monday night). When we arrived at the hotel, we were checked in by the only receptionist there, a girl who clearly didn't want to be there and who appeared to have very little interest in what she was doing. She checked us in anyway, and we paid the agreed rate (e55) there and then to get it out of the way (in hindsight, a very bad idea if we had have known what was to come!) We weren't offered any kind of receipt after payment, and had to request one, which seemed to inconvenience the receptionist. Following this we went up to the room, a standard twin on the 3rd floor. There was one headboard over the two single beds, but the headboard was hanging down off the wall on one side! We straight away let reception know about this, as not to get the blame for doing it, yet the same girl didn't appear to care. Went back to the room again, and tried to look for a socket to plug in the kettle which was on the table - yet there was none anywhere nearby. After at least 20 mins searching for a plug socket , we eventually found one - very conveniently located behind the bed with the broken headboard. Therefore to even boil a kettle, we had to lift it off the table, over to the opposite side of the room, put it on the floor, struggle to lift a heavy headboard off the floor where it was covering the socket, and struggle behind the bed to find the socket. It was absolutely ridiculous.
Later on that night when leaving the room, I closed the door behind me and just gave it a small push to double check that it was shut properly. Unbelievably, the door just pushed right open again. Once again I slammed the door, and pushed it open again, opening absolutely no problem! We once again told the same receptionist as earlier, who seemed to be getting more agitated with us each time. She called a man to help us, who we later learned was acting as a bouncer and barman of the hotel nightclub, and hotel handyman, all in one. He was extremely helpful and came up to the room, but couldn't fix the door at all. When we told reception this, we were very reluctantly told that we could change rooms if we really wanted to, but then they told us that they didnt even know if there was any available rooms. At this point we just werent even bothered waiting around anymore so we stayed put in the original room, but had to take all our valuables down to the nightclub with us which really wasn't ideal. Also, the noise from the nightclub is huge so if you fancy an early night, be prepared to suffer through the noise.
The breakfast in the next morning was just okay at best. Although acceptable, the food wasn't great, it was definitely just average, although the dining room was quite nice.
The hotel in general was very outdated and a bit shabby, and most definitely didn't look the cleanest. The walls in the bedroom were stained and there was even tea/coffee marks on the little table in the bedroom. On checkout in the morning, there was a different receptionist on, and when we told her our grievances with the hotel she was not impressed and didn't offer any kind of apology or refund what so ever. Although not much is expected for a hotel room costing 55 euro, this service was definitely unacceptable....although there is perks to staying in the Jackson Court such as the good location and free entry into Coppers (which for people not in the know is extremely sleazy - so although a good venue, enter at your own risk!!), and the convenience of running upstairs when it all gets a bit too much! Overall though, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody...really disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wexkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We booked this hotel due to its location-short walk to central shopping and eating areas. Also as we know the city we were happy to stay in the hotel as we were planning on meeting friends that night and intended going to the nightclub that is linked to the hotel.
First impressions of the hotel were ok. Despite the fact that we had to go into the hotel, get a key for the car park and return to car to park it, then drop key back again-same when leaving.
Staff were pleasant until it came to our room. There were no curtains in our room. There was some netting, but no actual curtains. When we notified staff of this we were told that there was no other rooms available. We had paid in advance and they offered no creit or renumeration of any sort. We were thoroughly disappointed with how we were treated and therefore I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparkles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#130 of 150 in Dublin
479 reviews
Portobello Hotel
#109 of 150 in Dublin
272 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#89 of 150 in Dublin
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel St. George
#79 of 150 in Dublin
727 reviews
South City Centre
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#116 of 150 in Dublin
1,360 reviews
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#110 of 150 in Dublin
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Court Hotel

Address: 29-30 Harcourt St, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £46 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jackson Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Jackson Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Court Dublin
Hotel Jackson Court
Jackson Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing