We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful stay!!”
Review of Fitzsimons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitzsimons Hotel
Ranked #134 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed 4 nights (weds-sun) and had no problem with noise from inside or outside the hotel (I did ask for a room on the river side rather than overlooking temple bar itself which may have helped!! Room a little tired but clean and tidy although this was the first hotel I've stayed in which doesnt have tea/coffee making in room, but no major problem. Staff on the whole not too positive - reception & bar staff all seemed totally bored and not at all interested with the exception of the night porter/receptionist who was always cheerful and seemed to actually enjoy dealing with guests, location is fantastic so will probably stay again if in Dublin

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking river if you are not there for the nightlife and want a quiet(Er) room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fd2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    77
    82
    37
    82
See reviews for
26
113
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed one night at the Fitzsimons. The staff were helpful and polite but the room was pretty horrible. Our room reeked of cigarette smoke and only about three channels on the TV actually worked. WiFi was available in the lobby. We had been warned by a friend that the Fitzsimons was a crazy party destination (after we had booked!) but we figured we would be safe on a Tuesday night .... how wrong we were! At about 1am we woke to a commotion in the corridor as the first wave of drunk people returned from their night out. We then found ourselves listening the the live bands in Temple Bar below. Despite the noise the music was actually quite enjoyable and we tapped our toes (in bed) for a few more hours.
Not a good hotel if you need a decent sleep but a fun experience and this hotel would be great if you were simply planning to crash after a big night in the bars of Temple Bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We found this very good the staff were very friendly and helpful especially Agnes on reception.The rooms could do with a bit of a spruce up. Ideally sited near the river and close to the city centre. Being on the edge of Temple Bar this is not ideal for families with young children. But as we were on a stag do the three floors of bars were just the ticket. The full cooked Irish breakfast was excellent in taste and great value for money whether booked or paid for on the day, better than any of the local café's we have tried before. I would certainly use this hotel again when visiting Dublin
Regards
Mark Wareing Staffordshire England

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_wareing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Our hotel room was directly above bar which was rockin until about 4 am on Monday night. The bed was broken and extremely uncomfortable. If you are looking to party all night and need a place to crash, this is your place. If you plan on a comfortable nights sleeep, stay away!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernard19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Bllingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had trouble when we first arrived at the hotel but the staff were quite understanding and we got our first drinks on the house which obviously helped! The rooms are quite basic but had everything that we needed as we were there on a hen do and you were only in the rooms to get ready and sleep. The hotel has everything all under one roof and we didnt even step outside on the Saturday night. The hotel is extremely central and we didnt need to get a taxi other than to and from the airport. All in all we had a fab weekend, and for value for money, the hotel cant be faulted. The manager assisted us as best they could.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengarry, Manager at Fitzsimons Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Jenni J

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Fitzsimons Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience overall and please do think of us again if you are ever back in Dublin for a visit. Hope the wedding for the Hen is a great day and congratulations to her and fiance.

All the best

Aidan P. Fitzsimons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I'm very impressed with the location of the hotel just round the corner from Temple Bar!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengarry, Manager at Fitzsimons Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear riG011

We are glad to hear you found the location of our hotel so impressive and we hope you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Dublin. We look forward to seeing you again

Best Regards

Aidan P. Fitzsimons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American in Europe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was worried after reading some pretty bad reviews... But I was VERY impressed with this hotel. I am 27 and from the United States. One thing American's always complain about is the room. It is Europe people... It's not going to be like the States... We are used to luxurious rooms... European hotels or hostels are different. Get that in your head before you travel. I will say the room here was a little outdated... BUT... Absolutely wonderful and friendly staff, perfect location to all the pubs and tourist sites, and there are 3 bars inside of this hotel! It makes it the perfect location to end the night. If you are traveling with children, you might want to look into a different hotel... If you are older and here for the countryside, you might want to look somewhere else. If you are a light sleeper and not wanting to drink until 3am, you might want to look some where else. lol It is a little loud. They do advertise 3 bars inside... Use your head people. But... If you are a looking to have a great time and drink pints all night, this is your hotel!! We traveled with another couple and could not be happier. There were TONS of restaurants and bars literally out the front door. It is right on the River Liffey so you have a great view and the river boat tour is right out side and AWESOME! We took a cab to the Guiness Brewery but it is in walking distance. (We were just lazy... haha And cabs are not more that 10 euro to most places near by) I will definitely stay at this hotel again. Like I said, I couldn't be happier with our experience...

Room Tip: The higher the floor the quitter it might be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericaninEuropeMegC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengarry, Manager at Fitzsimons Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear AmericaninEuropeMegC

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review about your time with us at Fitzsimons Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future and maybe next time you will walk to the Guinness Brewery, come on it's only 10 minutes walk up the road :-). But hey that's the beauty about being on vacation you can do what you like!

Stay in touch @FitzsimonsBar on twitter

Best Regards

Aidan P. Fitzsimons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#82 of 151 in Dublin
554 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#112 of 151 in Dublin
396 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#78 of 151 in Dublin
2,227 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#64 of 151 in Dublin
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzsimons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzsimons Hotel

Property: Fitzsimons Hotel
Address: Fitzsimons Hotel 21-22 Wellington Quay | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzsimons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzsimons Hotel is located in the heart of Temple Bar, Dublin. The Hotel overlooks the River Liffey and the Millennium Bridge. A short stroll (5 mins) to all major shopping districts and only 10 minute walk to the Guinness Brewery, all of Dublin's tourist attractions, restaurants and nightlife are on your door step. Fitzsimons is an approved 3 star hotel with a friendly service. We look forward to seeing you in Dublin soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fitzsimons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzsimons Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing