We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Fitzsimons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitzsimons Hotel
Ranked #134 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

It's in an ideal location right in the centre of everything! The rooms are fine, good size and has everything you would need. If your staying in temple bar you won't be spending time in your room so it's perfect for a fun visit to dublin. I will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lavellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The room size is great, plenty of room with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was simple but no issues. And room cleaning and room service was excellent, new towels every day!
Location is great, you are in the heart of town and walking distance to absolutely everything, however if you are a light sleeper, stay over the river, it's loud here!
Hotel is due for an update however. The bathroom hardware is extremely tired, I could count the springs in the bed, color/decor scheme is dated and windows do nothing to block any sounds.
Staff were helpful.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank AusB_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Location can't be beat, right in the heart of Temple Bar district. We were there to have a blast in the district and check everything out. Check in was easy and sorta impersonal. Secured door to buzz to get in, so belongings are safe. Room decent sized, clean, and hot water. Complimentary still and bubbly water upon check in.

Sleeping,, that is another story.... They have a restaurant and bar downstairs, that goes up a few floors to the rooftop veranda bar (very cool), BUT if you have any issues with any sort of noise while sleeping, this is NOT the place for you! I wore earplugs due to the street noise/drunk people cruising by/car alarms going off/chirping of the crosswalks all night/bum fights,,, not really a big problem at all. BUT then the house band kicked in at whatever time for a few hours, which literally shook our room. I felt like I was in the front row and lay in bed for over a few hours until they were finished playing. If you can sleep through a rock band in the middle of the night, then go for it. If not, then choose another location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I recently stayed here on a business trip, hotel is very basic, staff were not friendly and helpful, it was very clean though, facilities very basic, could be quiet noisy as it's in one of the most lively areas of Dublin but this didn't really effect me. don't think I'd stay again to be honest.

Room Tip: rooms at front are best for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is grand for what I wanted cheap and cheerful. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The only thing I can complain about are the curtains they really could do with some new ones and windows cleaned I had to wash my hands after touching them they were filthy,so all I can say at least wash but better if ye change them

Room Tip: Don't take 312 without sleeping tablets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel for 2 nights over a weekend.When i read the reviews on this hotel i was DREADING my stay here. However we where both pleasantly surprised. The room was big, clean, had an extra bed-when we only booked a double and the bathroom was a great size too. Towels provided every morning and beds freshly made. Some previous reviews on this hotel were ridiculous. People complaining about the carpets and wallpaper?!?!?! Well for this price and a "party" weekend this hotel is perfect so please ignore all others. Obviously dont be expecting a 5 star luxury hotel slap bang in the middle of Temple Bar for the price you pay. Location is SPOT ON!! 2 second walk from the famous The Temple Bar.
The ONLY thing i could possibly complain about was the noise of a morning, i.e lorries unloading and cleaning streets as in bin wagons but that is understandable as they have to clean early ready for the next load of tourists :) Other than that, would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I hesitated To book this hotel, as it had so bad reviews, but I am truly happy i booked it. The hotel is ok. Nothing luxorious, nothing great, but The location is The best possible in dublin. The rooms are old, but clean. You can hear The bar noices in The corridor, but not on The room. We had a big room on The top floor.
The only negative thing in this hotel is The breakfast. It's really modest.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KatIh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 150 in Dublin
1,049 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#91 of 150 in Dublin
577 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Clarence
#42 of 150 in Dublin
1,746 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#79 of 150 in Dublin
2,348 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#117 of 150 in Dublin
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzsimons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzsimons Hotel

Address: Fitzsimons Hotel 21-22 Wellington Quay | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £61 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzsimons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzsimons Hotel is located in the heart of Temple Bar, Dublin. The Hotel overlooks the River Liffey and the Millennium Bridge. A short stroll (5 mins) to all major shopping districts and only 10 minute walk to the Guinness Brewery, all of Dublin's tourist attractions, restaurants and nightlife are on your door step. Fitzsimons is an approved 3 star hotel with a friendly service. We look forward to seeing you in Dublin soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Fitzsimons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzsimons Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing