We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lap dances downstairs - says it all! Dodgy.”
Review of Barry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barry's Hotel
Ranked #137 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lap dances downstairs - says it all! Dodgy.”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Old, bad-smelling hotel. After a long round-about trip to find our room, we found it. The room itself was fine. The breakfast was fine, just okay. The shower was tiny. We were not so happy to see a lap-dancing place in the basement of the hotel. There was no wifi, and when using the lobby 1€/8 minute internet, it only gave 4 minutes for a 2€ coin! The staff person simply shrugged her shoulders and said it wasn't their problem. As someone said, it's fine for the night...but I would NOT recommend this place. THere are so many nicer places in Dublin. Just make sure you book ahead, or you'll get stuck in a dump like this place, as we did.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palkorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    54
    69
    66
    79
See reviews for
44
92
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The staff was excellent, location great, and accomodations are being renovated. We are an extended family of eleven so had five rooms for 3 nights. One of our family injured their knee and had difficulty with the stairs. They are installing new carpet, paint, drapes and beds on the first floor. The manager, Tara, was able to move them onto the first floor in a room that was nearing completion (still smelled of paint and curtains were't hung on the first night). The other four rooms were adaquate. Another member of our family broke their wrist while we were in Scotland and had surgery during our stay in Dublin. The entire staff went out of their way to arrange transporation and relayed messages from the hospital. Chef Ryan, made a special meal (Steak and Guinness caserole that was superb) for us as he knew we would be getting back after the kitchen typically closes and he made sandwiches for us to take to the hospital. The staff at Barry's Hotel are extraordinary!

Room Tip: Best rooms would be on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiahistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Close to Citycenter, friendly and helpfull staff. Everything was clean,
Breakfast was good.

Not too noisy, but we were there in the week.. so we didn't notise the pubs during the weekend. But the staff did tell us that it can be a bit noisy before we checked in.

Room Tip: its quiet there during the week, not weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessTurku_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend 17th June as we went to see take that. The hotel is ideally located near the town only a 5 minute walk. Tempal bar, where all the pubs are is only about a 10 minute walk. The room was spacious and very clean. Recently decorated and colt not fault it at all. We were on the first floor and did not hear any noise for below. The staff wer very friendly and the drinks in the bar were cheap. We will be stopping here again an would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstybailey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Total dump Wouldn't stay there again if they paid me.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Castlebar, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

On arrival we were greeted by dirty, unplastered walls. At our room we were met with a badly damaged door. The room was overly hot and with a window having a broken latch this was not going to be resolved. The walls were caked in dirt. The en-suite showed little improvement from the sleeping area. The door didn't lock and the tiles on the floor were cracked. I can not describe any more faults in the bathroom as I tried to keep my eyes shut from the grime before me. As for a good night's sleep, that would be impossible with the paper thin walls allowing us to hear the ins and outs of couple's relationships. This was an all night occurance.
I would rather bed down on a doorstep than stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paudie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The room was clean and basic which is fine for the price. I had issues with the bathroom, the shower was extremely tiny so much so that my son could not turn round in it and he's not a big lad. The bathroom door had warped so would not shut properly. It was fine for a nights stay but i would not like to stay longer here

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank neobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#91 of 151 in Dublin
630 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#73 of 151 in Dublin
359 reviews
Hotel St. George
#80 of 151 in Dublin
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#132 of 151 in Dublin
472 reviews
The Belvedere Hotel
#62 of 151 in Dublin
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barry's Hotel

Property: Barry's Hotel
Address: 1-2 Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Barry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing