We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barry's Hotel
Ranked #138 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Booked two double rooms for three nights as we were travelling with our friends. When we arrived I was embarassed by having booked such a shabby and run-down dump.We paid the internet rate which was not cheap as there were several big concerts that weekend so rooms were not easy to find. The hotel bore no resemblence to its web site, there was no lounge, no bar, no food available other than a basic but adequate breakfast, and eighty four steps up to our rooms on the third floor with no lift or porters. I agree with all the other poor reviews on this site - just wish I had read them before we travelled. Several taxi drivers warned us against going there when we headed back at night though its apparently a safer area now that the bar and "lap dancing" club have been closed down!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    51
    62
    62
    76
See reviews for
37
87
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Awful!!! We arrived at 10 o'clock in the moarning, you expect they give you the room...no! Because rooms aren't available until...14.30!!! So we left the luggages in a very dark and dirty cupboard and visited the city with heavy hand luggages until that hour.
First thing I noticed where the stairs: completely covered by a dust veil. Furthermore we noticed a cupcacke paper waist under a sofa in the hallway, well it remained there for 3 days!
The room was something unbelievable, there were signs of cigarettes everywhere: on the table bedside the bed, on the window, on the faucet in the bathroom and on the bathtub.
The first time I used the wc I accidentally remained with the handle in my hand.
The windows curtains were torn and cut.
But it goes further!
First time we arrrived the staff told us "when you go out please leave us the key for security reasons". One evening we came back and...THE STAFF lost our key! But I can understand, it can happen, that's a human mistake afterall. What I really didn't like was the fact that they refused to change us the room! I mean...EVERYONE could have found that damned key and enter the room! I mean we paid to stay there...change us the room was the minimum they could do! That night we slept with chairs pushed against the door.
The staff found the key the following moarning.
But....it goes still further!!!
The next day...someone stole us a t-shirt! It was there in the moarning, but when we came back in the evening...there wasn't anymore! We warned the staff, they said they even asked the lady who did the cleanings about it, but she said she saw no t shirt. Since t shirts don't usually disappear expecially when a door is locked...it has obviously been stolen!

What else can I say? They don't clean beds or change sheets. The sheets were visibly the same and when we arrived there were lots of hair already in it!

Definitely don't go there!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viviana0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Easily the worst hotel Ive ever been in
Filthy !
The bar was closed We were told for renovations But breakfast was served there and no sign of any work going on
Cigarette burns on the locker
Filthy carpets
Steep stairs up to top floor
Theres much nicer small hotels in the vicinity

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank marywat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

First time in Dublin and would definitely go back to Barry's Hotel. Great value for money,room was very clean and had everything we needed. Very friendly, helpful staff. The Irish breakfast was delicious and started our day a treat. Overall the hotel was great, suited our needs and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinelowe100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

This Hotel is awful. When we arrived in the room we noticed that the bed sheets were filthy dirty, there were cigarette burns on the furniture in the room. The room was dirty in general. The next morning when we woke up there was no hot water. Its really not good value for money for twenty euro extra you can get a clean room with hot running water down the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel having booked on its web site.Let me say that the pictures on the site bear no resemblance to the venue itself.It was rather shabby though the room was clean,I paid 84 euro not totally bargain basement, but this hotel is just that.The street outside seemed to be the venue for an all night party and I was unable to close my window resulting in very little sleep.Not for the faint hearted and I felt very sorry for the 4 french visitors who looked so bemused by the whole set up.Perhaps i am just too old now to rough it but that is exactly what it felt like.More honesty please on web sites,!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irishtouristontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

no lift and long hike to 3rd floor. Staff very nice and friendly. Room phone did not work and overheard another guest complaining about phone too. The 'Full Irish Breakfast" was poor, but overall the breakfast buffet was good for this standard of hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd fllor a real hike if on the far side from main stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
My Place Dublin Hotel
#130 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Hotel St. George
#81 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#86 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#69 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#96 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barry's Hotel

Property: Barry's Hotel
Address: 1-2 Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Barry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Barry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing