We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Friendly, full of Dublin character”
Review of Barry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barry's Hotel
Ranked #136 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant, Friendly, full of Dublin character”
Reviewed 8 November 2009

This is a nice place to stay if you're looking for somewhere central and authentic. The cheap bar is a big plus in this expensive city, and full of locals who will invite you to join their company if you so wish. We stayed on a weekend and didn't find it particularly noisy considering that it incorparates a large pub and a nightclub (the lap dancing place is thankfully quite separate). You might want to ask for a room on the top floor as we did, although there are a few stairs. Great value and comfortable for a city centre bargain.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elevtheria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    52
    67
    66
    76
See reviews for
40
91
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tipton westmids
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2009

stayed at barrys for three nights the rooms were clean and very warm,staff and regulars were very friendly the breakfast was great and the hotel has a great location, there is entertainment on in the hotel but finished at 2.00 am on the dot ,there is a lap dancing club below which we never seen or heard anything from ,dont know why this hotel has so many negative reports if you expect 5 star then pay for it angie & andy Tipton Westmids

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2009

a complete kip the worst place i,ve ever stayed in 2 star hotel for wat the sevice was bad the room was bad no1 else there and we where up at the top why i dont no nearly 20 quid for my car to be parked outside then

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woski6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

lanc's
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2009

All the rooms I saw were in a very poor state, the communal area also needed renovating to any standard. The Room I was staying in slept 4, it was only designed to sleep 2 but it looked like an extra couple of single beds were was put in the give away was only having two towels in the bathroom which was in need renovating or at least a clean; I don't mind budget, but 320 euro per night is not cheap. The Owner was too busy with Pole dancer to attend to the needs of the guests; one door man was very good the other 2 walk round looking to start trouble. This venue is not worth more than £25 per person per night. The only thing that could have made my stay any worse is if I’d have stayed 4 nights instead of 3.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nik099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Stayed here for one night in July '08. Came to Dublin for some quality time together. Rooms are in serious need of decorating, new beds, carpets (well they are if they'e all like the one we stayed in). The bed was the worst we've ever slept in, room was fusty, and there were cigarette burns in the quilt. The bathroom was clean, thankfully. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was fine but I wouldn't have wanted to stay more than one night. You get what you pay for !

  • Liked — Checking Out
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

Barry's Hotel was good, but could be a lot better. The bar and reception area was nicely turned out and the people were friendly. However, the rooms were quite run down. One set of curtains were off the wall, the paint-work was chipped and the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The walls are VERY thin - we were kept awake both nights by the noise from the nightclub (and lapdancing bar) below and couples in the rooms adjacent.

Bar and breakfast were good. Good location just off O'Connell Street but very noisy at night - take ear plugs! Ideal for a budget traveller, if you don't mind the noise.

  • Liked — Location, price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Noise and a few problems with the room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelagentNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

......this is possibly the worst place I have ever had the misfortune to stay in - in fact it most definitely was!! Noisy, dirty, not safe or secure (people trying door handles in the early hours!!) - do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else!!!!

Loved Dublin, hated Barrys!!!!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Hotel St. George
#82 of 151 in Dublin
662 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 151 in Dublin
612 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#131 of 151 in Dublin
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
My Place Dublin Hotel
#124 of 151 in Dublin
520 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
347 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#99 of 151 in Dublin
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barry's Hotel

Property: Barry's Hotel
Address: 1-2 Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Barry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing