We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot of luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Ranked #71 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spot of luxury!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Absolutely brilliant hotel and ideally located on the outskirts of the city! Very nice, friendly & helpful staff! The rooms are very cozy and the beds are extremely comfortable! The only problem I had with the hotel was the €12 fee for overnight parking! The food is fantastic, I recommend anything on the menu! :D

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darragh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments regarding the staff and food, it's always so nice to hear comments like this. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    901
    469
    193
    108
See reviews for
547
634
109
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in January 2014 with friends we had 3 rooms all of which were nice and spacious, very clean, breakfast €13.00 for full with a good variety and choice, food in the restaurant was good quality reasonably priced. Reception could be more informative. On check in regarding. Services available ( breakfast, dinner) maybe.because we were room only the did not feel the need to inform us. Car parking is €12.00 per 24 hours for hotel guests, bus 4 and 7 easily got directly from outside hotel to city centre and cost €2.35 (small tip have exact change) over all a great stay, good food and spotlessly Clean. Would definitely return to thus hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GTCHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you found the food of good quality and selection. We hope to welcome you back again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed in Bewleys, Ballsbridge, for two nights with my wife while on business in Dublin recently.
The experience overall was good, but there are also a few cribs. Firstly there is a car parking charge of twelve euro per day which is an unwelcome extra cost. The bedroom we were staying in was on the small side as was the shower cubicle. Drink prices in the bar were also on the high side, even by Dublin standards, which I find outrageous anyway.
On the positive side, all the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The atmosphere was pleasant and relaxing. The bedroom was quiet, warm and clean as was the rest of the hotel which we saw. The food was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast, despite being totally self-service, was very good.
I would certainly go back if I didn't have the car. I also think the hotel's four star rating is one star too generous.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. It seems you had mixed feelings about your stay with us, but I do hope the positives outweigh any negatives. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Was very impressed upon arrival at hotel. Building is really pretty and historic looking. Receptionist was very friendly and had us checked in in no time. Our room was on second floor. We went via the lift. Corridors were nice and airy and bright looking. When we opened door to our room there was a smell of stale cigarette smoke. The window was open so I suppose the staff had tried to get rid of the smell. We were only staying 1 night so didn't make a fuss about it. The room was spacious and bed very comfortable. I found the room terribly cold and didnt realise I could turn on the radiator until the following morning. There was no toiletries in the bathroom which I have never came across before and found a bit annoying. There was a dispenser unit attached to the wall marked "shampoo" so we used this to wash hands. Overall it is a nice hotel but I would not go back again. I would try somewhere else.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found the staff friendly during your stay. I am sorry to hear that you were allocated a smoking room, however, we are in the final phase of a refurbishment which involves removal of all smoking rooms, all well as updating furnishings, fittings and bathrooms, so I do hope you will return to us to see the transformation.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

First the positives. Great location especially if visiting the RDS or attending a game at the Aviva stadium. The hotel is just a few minutes drive from Grafton street and easy to find. It has an underground car park which is good but there is a charge and I noticed some folk found the spiral ramp difficult to navigate. Wifi is free and worked well. I found all the staff to be very pleasant and helpful which is always a plus. Pleasant area to take a stoll and several bars and restaurants are within a short walk from the hotel.


Now why a disappointment? First off I generally stay at Bewleys Newlands Cross and find it very good for the price they charge. Parking is free, good restaurant and bar and easy access to M50 and the city. In comparision Ballsbridge is dearer but offers nothing extra except the location. Adding parking on top just emphasises the price difference. While I appreciate that the building was a former school it does mean that the layout is quite unusual and you end up doing a lot of walking up and down stairs as both bar and restaurant are in the basement. Lifts are available but there were a lot of guests so it was quicker just to use the stairs. My main issue was that I specified a non-smoking room and didn't get one. This has never happened at the other hotel and was really annoying. As it didn't bother my wife or son I let it go but really not good enough. Restaurant is okay but nothing special. The alternative menu at the bar was useful as it offered more family friendly items such as pizza, burgers and the like.

Overall consensus from the family is that we would stick with Newlands Cross in future.

Room Tip: Check that they are actually giving you a non-smoking room if you have requested one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimerickguyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was delighted to read that you found our location suited to your needs and that staff were friendly and helpful throughout your stay. However, I was disappointed to read your negative comments. Taking your biggest disappointment to be being given a smoking room, when you had requested a non smoking room - I am delighted to let you know that we have just finished a major refurbishment on all bedrooms in the hotel, and no longer have any smoking rooms in the hotel. I do hope that this will encourage you to return to us in the near future for a much more comfortable stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xghajra, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Beautiful antique building. Very clean rooms and friendly staff. Filling breakfast with lots to choose from. Hotel restaurant serves a variety of dishes at a reasonable price. Hotel also offers parking facilities which makes life very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it seems you really enjoyed your time with us and also the history of the hotel as a Masonic School. We would be delighted to offer you more information on this subject during your next stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanthi
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed there for three nights on a business trip. My room was clean and spacious, bathroom too. however it was quite cool, I believe the temperature was around 20c at most. Breakfast had variety but it was a bit disorganized regarding the placement of food. In the morning there was queuing at the lifts.

Room Tip: even numbered rooms look at at the interior of the hotel complex whereas odd numbered rooms look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. I was delighted to read that the room was suited to your needs. The temperature of the radiators can be controlled in each room should you stay with us again, which I do hope will be in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.6 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#89 of 151 in Dublin
2,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
2,220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,674 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#19 of 151 in Dublin
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Property: Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Address: Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#62 Business Hotel in Dublin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the RDS Arena in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district and embassy belt, Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, formerly Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge, is a beautifully restored 19th century Masonic School with presebtable gardens. With luxurious bedrooms, dining facilities and Tom's Bar the hotel is popular with guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Dublin
Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge
Bewleys Ballsbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing