We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, and the best breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Ranked #76 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, and the best breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly, the scrambled eggs are amazing! A great buffet breakfast. Fairly far out of the city, so you need to bus it everywhere but it is a quiet and gorgeous area. Lovely rooms, very posh and clean and the receptionists are very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pennylane95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraDunne, Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear pennylane95,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge.

I am very pleased to learn of your positive experiences with us.

I will pass your lovely comments to all of my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Gavin Stapleton.
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    849
    441
    185
    105
See reviews for
508
589
108
517
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were in Ireland for 9 days and didn't have any amazing meals until our last day in Dublin at Bewleys. We went from Dublin, to New Ross, to Kilkenny, Killarney, Killorgan, Dingle, Lisdoonvarna and back to Dublin. It's hard to believe we had only 1-2 great meals. We didn't expect it to be at a hotel restaurant! We stayed closer to City Center our 1st night and at Bewleys the last 2. It's not a great location for walking into where all the action is. You will have to take the cab or bus.
Only issue we had was wifi access was weak throughout the stay.

Room Tip: As front desk to re-set wifi so you can get a signal. Eat dinner and full breakfast here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100gracem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraDunne, Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge.

I am very pleased to read your positive comments about the Hotel, I will pass them to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Gavin Stapleton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We held a. Conference at the hotel and booked a room to stay there. The room was lovely and breakfast was fantastic. As for the conference the Thomas prior hall is brilliant and the staff were very helpful

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraDunne, Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Dear Melanie P,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge.

I am very pleased to read your positive comments about the Hotel, I will pass them to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Gavin Stapleton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sallynoggin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Beautiful hotel very big. Nice location for Dublin City. Gardens lovely which was perfect for wedding photos. Staff very friendly and professional. Food wonderful. The only one thing that let this hotel down was charging 12euro for car park.i found this an absolute disgrace especially for wedding guest's.

Room Tip: Ground level was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraDunne, Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Dear Catherine G,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge.

I am very pleased to read your positive comments about the Hotel, I will pass them to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Gavin Stapleton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel at the end of July and this hotel delivered what we needs and expected for a family. Easy to find and get to, hotel grounds and reception lovely. Check in smooth and courteous. I had an 8 month old baby with me to I asked for a cot and a quiet room. You never know with a baby. We got it. Lovely room, clean spacious and quiet. Hotel was busy with tours but the dining room is massive with a fab self service breakfast. Loads of seating and baby chairs and helpful staff. Coffee was lovely!!. We ate in bar every evening and food was lovely, services friendly and swift. Bar staff lovely. I really can’t fault this hotel. 10minutes drive to city and shops, bus stop outside, 10-15 minutes to Sandymount. Parking is a bit tight and you have to pay 12€ per day but it suited us. Only negative I can say about this hotel is that the baby cot could have a better mattress for the baby. So happy with the hotel we came home and booked another stay there later on in the year. Keep up the good work Bewleys's

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zxc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraDunne, Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Dear Zxc01,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge.

I am very pleased to read your positive comments about the Hotel, I will pass them to my team.

I will pass your comments about the Cot to our accommodation manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Gavin Stapleton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

It had been a while since I stayed in this hotel. I thought it definitely looked a bit more shoddy than my previous stay a few years earlier. Staff are friendly and access to the city is good - rooms were as you expect - the only real bug bearer was we were woken up just before 9am to drilling noises which apparently were coming from the floor beneath us but felt and sounded like it was coming from the room next to us. 9am might be a late start for some but we had been to a concert the night before and to be honest as two mums who rarely get away, we were looking forward to a lie in! I complained to reception and they validated our parking for free - whoop dee do! As per my title - grand if you are not looking for any frills

Room Tip: check and make sure there are no renovations going on if you are looking for a lie in !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraDunne, Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Dear VickiOD,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge.

I am very pleased to read your positive comments about the Hotel, I will pass them to my team.

Please note we have recently finished our rennovations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Gavin Stapleton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is perfect for when your up in the capital and need somewhere central, you can walk into the city center in approx 20 mins and always seems to be really busy place. I opted to eat there one of the nights and it was beautiful, The rooms are nice and spacious and bright. Breakfast is also lovely, I always find it difficult to find a good buffet breakfast when your cooking for a mass number but they run a great operation here. I stay here whenever I am up in Dublin for a shopping weekend,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lillymaeOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraDunne, Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Dear lilymaeOC.

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge.

I am very pleased to read your positive comments about the Hotel, I will pass them to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Gavin Stapleton
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#88 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#19 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Property: Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Address: Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#62 Business Hotel in Dublin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the RDS Arena in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district and embassy belt, Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, formerly Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge, is a beautifully restored 19th century Masonic School with presebtable gardens. With luxurious bedrooms, dining facilities and Tom's Bar the hotel is popular with guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Dublin
Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge
Bewleys Ballsbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing