We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location if you're at the RDS”
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #28 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

There's a lot to like about this hotel:
Stylish interior kept well
Good sized room with spacious en-suite
Black out curtains
Good bar downstairs with a nice seated area outside
10 minutes walk to the RDS and lots of pubs around there
Tasty little restaurants up the road
Short bus journey into town
Reception and bar staff are very friendly and helpful
Plenty of parking around the back

Considering we were in town for a concert, every other hotel in this area seemed to hike their prices about 100-200%, this place was priced reasonably for a Thursday night.

Bad points? ... I can't think of any. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rokan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed in this beautiful newly refurbished boutique hotel in mid June and it was nothing short of fantastic. We arrived early (9.30am) and went for breakfast (the full irish breakfast is delicious) whilst the hotel acoomodated an early check in for us with no issue. On arriving in our room we were impressed with the attention to detail this hotel has clearly paid to ensuring each guest has a pleasant stay. The rooms are modern, with a quirky (think Alice in Wonderland) touch, and our room had a huge widescreen TV mounted on the wall. The bathroom was large, with plenty of towels and toiletries including a well lit basin area with great lighting for make up application!
The hotel bar was busy throughout the day and there was an ample outdoor seating area great for a warm summers evening. In the basement of the hotel there is also the 'Vanilla' nightclub, although we visited mid-week so the nightclub wasnt open. I therefore cannot comment on how much noise this creates for the hotel guests but we are a couple in our 20's so this woud not have been an issue for us either way.
If like us you like exploring when you visit a city then make the most of it and walk into the city (about 30 minute walk from the hotel to Grafton street) or if not there is a bus stop located right outside the hotel that goes into the centre every 10 minutes. The airport buses also stop here so dont waste money on a taxi, you can board the bus at the airport and it will drop you right at the hotel door.
We only stayed one night on a pre-booked early bird discount tarrif booked directly through the hotels website, but all in all we had a great stay. The room was of a good size with great amenities, the staff were extremley helpful and polite, and the bar area was just right! Well done to the owners on taking the time to pay attention to the little details, this place truly is a hidden gem!

Room Tip: Use the APH airport transfer bus for door to door transfers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G00dy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed here as we were going to concert in Aviva - Nice boutique hotel - loved the tv/fires in room - nice rtouch - breakfast not included but had it anyway - just ok as breakfast go - only real negative was car park at back of hotel - no access from rear and walk around side which has been neglected - takes away from an otherwise fine place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puglerdaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I recently stayed in the Hampton hotel for my dad's 60th birthday. All the staff were so friendly and the rooms were beautiful. The whole occasion from beginning to end was fantastic, with the most delicious meal. The night was finished in the exclusive nightclub. We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_rachel_quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

It was so simple to get to with the airport coach stopping right outside and the quirky and yet addictive design of the hotel were a direct hit! Bags dropped off in our room and aimed to be in the restaurant in 5 mins, so wowed by our room and fantastic bathroom that I just needed to fit in a bath! Finally torn away from my room we went downstairs to the restaurant, had great tasting food in the restaurant which had a great atmosphere. Only regret, is I wished we had been able to boogie in the club, but sadly we had to see our friends in town!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Me and my boyfriend visited for a long city break for my twenty-first birthday, staying in a hampton luxury room. The room was fantastic but there were the little things that stopped it being the perfect stay.

The hotel in general needed a lick of paint. The walls were grubby and marked, which gave the whole place an air of disrepair and disregard. Our room was also close to the nightclub, which made it quite noisy. It wouldn't have been so bad had we been allowed in, but the one night we went to go in we were told it was over 25s only, despite us being guests (On checking the website today to confirm this, it says that it accepts all guests, so perhaps this has changed recently) so that sort of spoilt the one night for us.

The staff, however, were generally friendly. The woman who checked us in was really helpful, giving us a guide to Dublin and plenty of information to help us settle in. However, we spoke to one member of staff on reception one day to ask if our room had been missed out of the cleaning because we returned around 4:30pm and our bed hadn't been made. She replied snappily that they weren't finished and that we should be patient! In my opinion, rooms should really be cleaned by midday so it doesn't interfere with the guest's day.

The food in the restaurant is good, but there are better places to eat. We only ate there on the first evening but had paid for breakfast in advance, which was a bad move. We paid 10 euros in advance but your choice from the menu was limited. We were told we could have the Irish breakfast (which was about 15) or a continental that was 5 euros. One day I asked could I have an option that was 8 euros, and despite being cheaper than what I paid, wasn't allowed to change.

I enjoyed my visit but the small niggles plus the location would mean that I probably won't be booking again when I return later this year.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mca89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We arrived at the hotel from Dublin Airport by Air coach which conveniently stops opposite the hotel.

Check-in was prompt and the receptionist very friendly. We were allocated a room on the 4th floor which was clean and comfortable with a large two-basin bathroom. We did not encounter any noise from the nightclub.

The hotel is about a 25 minute walk, that takes you through beautiful St Stevens Green, to the centre of the city.

The hotel provides an excellent breakfast which was included in the tariff.

Sandymount railway station is an easy walk from the hotel and from there you can go north to the fishing village of Howth or follow the coastline down to Greymouth. Both towns are worth a visit.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and efficient and we were well looked after during our week at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuffsUmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Dublin
1,419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#14 of 151 in Dublin
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £73 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's hampton hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 39 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing