We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a quiet neighborhood”
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a quiet neighborhood”
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a fine hotel in a quiet neighborhood just south-east of the center. The room was very large, with a great bath. Big windows, nive TV, even a somewhat odd fake fireplace (an image of dancing flames) operated by remote control. The staff were all friendly and helpful. It took us 20 minutes to walk in to the base of Grafton St through St Stephen's Green. The area around the hotel is pretty and residential. Many busses available as well, including Air Coach to and from the airport with stops in front of the hotel. There is a night club in the hotel at the front on the weekend, so best to request an upper room away from the entrance.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    288
    54
    25
    17
See reviews for
73
482
48
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
karamiav
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Found the Hampton to be a reasonable four star. A good 20 min walk into the centre of things, or about 8 quid in a taxi. Rooms are a good size and the huge telly is a nice plus. The only thing I'd change is the breakfast - really average. Average prices too, but not 4 star in the slightest. There is nothing in the immediate area for food wise so you may be a bit stuck if your hungry. It could be me being a bit picky mind. Overall, I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karamiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I absolutely loved staying at the Hampton Hotel. I had previously stayed at other hotels around Dublin that cost more and gave the customers less. I was extremely pleased with the Hampton Hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and very comfortable. I especially enjoyed the fireplace and the DVD player. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a wonderful place to stay that is close to city centre. I will absolutely be coming to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in early April, 2012. Very nice hotel, modern inside, rooms rather spacious for European hotel and was a great price. Hotel staff reception and checkout staff was very nice, bartenders not as attentive as you find elsewhere in Dublin. In the suburbs a bit and not in the "heart" of downtown Dublin...if you want to be in walking distance to lots of bars, sites, restaurants, etc. stay closer to Trinity College area as the Hampton required a bus / taxi to most places we went. The other thing to consider about the Hampton is they have a nightclub, Vanilla, that goes until early in the morning and you do hear the techno music until 3:00 am, even on the top floor...didn't really bother me but if you are a light sleeper take note.

Overall for the price we paid, the interactions with most of the staff and the size of the room it was a great deal. Will consider staying again next time in Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I cannot say enough good about my stay at Hampton. First, it's a 5-8 min bus ride into the heart of City Centre depending on how south or north you want to go. So very easily placed. And you're in Donnybrook which has some good restaurants and pubs too if you want in the evening. Second, the rooms are nicely sized and impeccably clean. Third, the restaurant in the hotel is very good. I had dinner once and breakfast twice. All excellent and reasonably priced. What makes it stand out to me was the service. I interacted with 3-4 different folks at the front desk - all of whom were outstanding.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmlondontx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Everything you would want in a hotel, great rooms, excellent service, parking and great location. Room was really lovely large plasma, fire, great space and lovely decor. The only flaw I could find was the shower, small shower head and not very powerful, but that is really picking!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Travelbugs57,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our bedroom features and look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly at christiane.foller@hamptonhotel.ie if I can be of assistance with planning your next stay in Dublin.

Kind Regards,
Christiane Foller
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our room was spacious and had trendy decor. The huge flat screen TV and fireplace were impressive. The location in Donnybrook is great. A 20 minute walk to city center or short bus/taxi ride. You are in a great neighborhood with cafes, pubs, restaurants and a fantastic food market.
The bar/bistro was good for drinks, food and live entertainment.
There is a nightclub in the bottom of the hotel that is open from 11pm-3am and is loud. Earplugs help somewhat but you really can't drown out the music and all the boisterous, loud people out front. The windows are not double paned or sound proof so be prepared if you stay over a weekend.

Room Tip: Top floor and rooms that do NOT face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear SKWorldTravelers,

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay with us.

Donnybrook is indeed a great neighbourhood and I am delighted you enjoyed the bedroom features and our hampton bar bistro.

Vanilla Nightclub is open on Fridays & Saturdays from 11pm and features an outside patio area. I am sorry to hear you were disturbed by our nightclub patrons. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss your concerns in more on christiane.foller@hamptonhotel.ie

Kind Regards,

Christiane Foller
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 151 in Dublin
1,897 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 151 in Dublin
566 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,447 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Property: Hampton Hotel
Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's Hampton Hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 26 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing