We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reception staff made the difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #23 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Reception staff made the difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I traveled solo to a conference, for which this was one of the hotels a short walk away from the conference venue. The hotel is conveniently located in the upscale neighborhood of Donnybrook, but easily accessible to the city center. The room was ample, my bathroom was huge, and clean. The front desk staff were exceedingly friendly and went out of their way to provide information and guidance about Dublin. Breakfast was included in my room charges, was a choice from the menu, which was just okay. I'll be back when I have more time to explore as a tourist.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lutraperegrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting a review of your hampton hotel experience. It means a lot to us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back when you have your 'tourist' hat on!

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    280
    52
    24
    17
See reviews for
70
472
46
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We loved this hotel in a quaint Dublin suburb. The room and hotel was absolutely gorgeous and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was good at the restaurant and the atmosphere was chic and cool. Modern with a twist of art and comfortable feel. Loved it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0riandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thanks a million for your fantastic review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and liked our 'look'. We're very proud of our hotel!

It was very kind of you to leave a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great Boutique Hotel at good value. Located in a very nice neighborhood, within Walking distance from aviva Stadium. Friendly staff. I found our room very nice and well equipped. Would definitely stay again if visit Dublin or going to a concert.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misslcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Guest,

What a great review. We really appreciate your kind words. It was very good of you to take time out of your day to submit a review of your experience.

We hope to see you again.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Big room with huge TV, helpful reception staff who gave me fresh milk for my tea and offered to print out work for me, and lovely porridge for breakfast.
My only quibble would be the positioning of the tea tray and accessibility to plugs for working with a laptop, but that's not enough to lose a star. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miffytastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time. I appreciate you leaving a review of your recent stay. I'm very glad you enjoyed your three days with us.

I'm also grateful for your feedback. I'll take a look at the positioning of our tea/coffee trays and the socket positioning.

Thanks you again. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is really nice.
If you are a light sleeper, the nightclub in the basement could be a problem. So ask for a room on the back. The view isn't as good, but it is a great deal quieter.
Rooms are sumptious and the feature fireplace in each room is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nyk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was very good of you to take the time to submit it. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

You are right with respect to our nightclub. The rooms at the back do offer more quiet on Saturday nights. During the week, this is a quiet neighbourhood, but if you need an early night, it is best to request a room on our fourth floor.

Thank you again and I hope you keep us in mind if you return to Dublin in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My son celebrated his surprise 30th Birthday recently in the Hampton Hotel. The food, refreshments and the ambiance was fantastic. The staff were very obliging and went out of their way to accommodate us.
They room we stayed in was of the highest order. A great vote of thanks to John and all the staff.

Peter

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this kind review. It was a pleasure looking after your party. You all added to the great atmosphere on Saturday night - and I believe Sunday as well!

I really appreciated your business. If we can help with any other event in the future, you know where to find us!

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here for a rugby match and the staff, room, service and value for money were fantastic.

Great location.A short bus ride to the city and close to the Aviva. I would recommend everyone coming to Dublin to try and stay here as there are lots of overpriced hotels in Dublin, but this is not one of them!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FergieCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very grateful for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with here. Please keep us in mind on your next visit to Dublin.

Yours sincerely,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Property: Hampton Hotel
Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's Hampton Hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 26 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing