We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #29 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel two nights after our wedding - it was the start of our honeymoon, as we were travelling around the country and this was our first stop. My bridesmaid had booked it as a surprise for us and I assume that she told them that we would be on honeymoon but this was not mentioned on check in, a little disappointment. We were in a Style Room, which was lovely and spacious, and the decor of the place is very funky. Not very much to choose from on the menu, but what we ordered was nice and girl was very pleasant serving us.

My main reason for posting this review is to thank the accomodation staff for their honesty. When we checked in we put an envelope with all our cash gifts from our wedding in it into the safe in our room, but checked out without it!! We got a call for Ronnie to say that the girl that had found it, went and got a witness and they both signed and sealed the envelope and it was in the general managers safe waiting for collection. Needless to say we were very red faced by our mistake (we are blaming sleep deprivation :) ), but are so so grateful the Hampton staff...

Thank you for a lovely stay and hopefully we will be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funbobby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate it.

We're delighted that you chose us as a part of your honeymoon. I'm afraid we had no remark on your reservation mentioning this. We are usually a lot better picking up on such important details. I would have given you an upgrade had I realised. I am very glad you liked your room, and the hotel, regardless.

I will pass your thanks to our housekeeping team. They are very careful when it comes to guest belongings. We always make sure that there are two staff members present whenever items (cash in particular) are found in a safe. We package, sign, and seal the envelope with witnesses present - and I hold them in my safe until collected. I trust my team completely, but this process gives our customers added peace-of-mind in the event that anything is left behind.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon. And please pass our thanks to your Bridesmaid for choosing us.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

I was the guest in the Hampton Hotel as I was taking part of a conference nearby the hotel.The experience was great.The night receptionist was great, really helpful and recommended me and my husband great places to visit and eat around Dublin.And would like to bring this into managers attention(I think the guy's name was Sergio)because we previously had bad experience with untrained reception staff.As we had this nice experience,everything else followed it:the room,the bathroom which was hudge and exactly what we needed after exploring Dublin.
I highly recommend this to you all,as you won't be disappointed.One small thing,I was surprised how in a hotel's bar,the staff can watch TV during their shift,with customers around.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much, both for staying with us, and for sharing your experience in a review.

I have congratulated Sergiu for delivering such good service to you. He was delighted to have received the recognition. A hotel can have the funkiest decor and rooms but ultimately, it is our staff who make all the difference. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the long hours at a nearby conference.

I'm surprised by our bar team. We have two large TVs and a Big Screen in our bar, and with the football back on, we would always show the matches. If their team is playing, you can expect the odd glance to catch the score, but the focus should always be on our customers. I'll be sure to mention it to them.

Thank you again for your custom.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is an older hotel with good parking for a rental car; it has free Wi Fi and nice large rooms and my wife was real happy with the bathrooms, beds, and pillows. The staff is very nice here, We did not eat in the Hotel Restaurant because we wanted to eat at the rip Advisor's top rated restaurants in Ireland, and for the most part we were not disappointed.

We stayed at the Arbutus in part to get more familiar with Dublin, this being our first trip to Ireland. The hop on hop off bus tour will pick you up at the front desk, for a very nice all day tour of Dublin. We hopped onto the Red Buses and were entertained by the Irish tour directors. Talk to the Arbutus Staff and they will make the arrangements.

If you drive a rental car in Dublin you would be wise to rent or buy an navigator or else you might not find the Arbutus and many other hotels.. I purchased a Nuvi 1300 Garmin, based on reviews of those that traveled around Ireland,before we came to Ireland. I would have been totally lost if not for the Garmin, but even the Garmin got confused on some streets in Dublin. We did find the "Vintage Kitchen Restaurant on Poolbeg Street which is the number one rated restaurant by Trip Advisors in Dublin, and that is a very hard place to find. .

The Arbutus is a good hotel, it is not a truly great hotel, however it is well price for the value it offers and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertW34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks you so much for taking the time to submit a review, of both the hotel, and your experience in Dublin.

It is very useful for anyone planning a visit to our city.

We hope you had a safe journey home to Utah.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Definitely recommend this hotel. Spent an enjoyable couple of nights here, the room is stylish and comfortable. The reception staff were great, very friendly and helpful. Takes 15-20 mins to walk into the centre of Dublin, look out for cafe java on the way

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. It is much appreciated.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I traveled solo to a conference, for which this was one of the hotels a short walk away from the conference venue. The hotel is conveniently located in the upscale neighborhood of Donnybrook, but easily accessible to the city center. The room was ample, my bathroom was huge, and clean. The front desk staff were exceedingly friendly and went out of their way to provide information and guidance about Dublin. Breakfast was included in my room charges, was a choice from the menu, which was just okay. I'll be back when I have more time to explore as a tourist.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lutraperegrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting a review of your hampton hotel experience. It means a lot to us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back when you have your 'tourist' hat on!

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We loved this hotel in a quaint Dublin suburb. The room and hotel was absolutely gorgeous and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was good at the restaurant and the atmosphere was chic and cool. Modern with a twist of art and comfortable feel. Loved it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0riandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Guests,

Thanks a million for your fantastic review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and liked our 'look'. We're very proud of our hotel!

It was very kind of you to leave a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great Boutique Hotel at good value. Located in a very nice neighborhood, within Walking distance from aviva Stadium. Friendly staff. I found our room very nice and well equipped. Would definitely stay again if visit Dublin or going to a concert.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misslcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Guest,

What a great review. We really appreciate your kind words. It was very good of you to take time out of your day to submit a review of your experience.

We hope to see you again.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,569 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,429 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £74 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's hampton hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 39 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing