We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - great location”
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #28 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - great location”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Arrived quite late for a 1 night stay after a busy day at the office and was delighted with the warm welcome and the availability of free parking in central Dublin! Room on 4th floor was very modern and spacious with wonderful large bathroom! Had a very good breakfast the following morning-only downside was that staff were not great at giving directions!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank roisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments.

I would be interested in knowing where you were looking to get directions to. Our reception team know Dublin quite well, and it surprises me that they were stumped. Even if they didn't know the street themselves (many taxi drivers don't know all the streets!) they should have checked it online for you.

Thanks again for your stay.

Regards,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    289
    58
    26
    18
See reviews for
75
490
50
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Lovely spacious room and bathroom with stylish contemporary décor, featuring a huge flat screen TV and large modern wall mounted electric fire - we had paid for a standard room but it was a quiet Sunday night so this may have been an upgrade. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. We had the full Irish breakfast which was perfectly cooked and presented. The hotel is situated in a very pleasant location on a bus route with the nearest stop right beside it. There's also a free private car park. The night club in the basement is only on Fridays and Saturdays so not on the night we stayed. All together a great hotel experience and we will definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The road at the front of the hotel has quite busy traffic in the morning, so if you want to sleep a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EllenLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We were delighted to offer a free upgrade during your stay. Sometimes we have plenty of availability in the Select Rooms on Sunday nights, and we like to upgrade on these quieter nights.

I'm glad your enjoyed your stay. Hope you consider us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Welcoming, fantastic room and great service, would recommend and stay again,only down side is nightclub which is one to avoid , club has fantastic decor, pity about the crowd or lack of that go there ,

The bar/lounge in the hotel is a great place to have a drink before you head out

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conoror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate it.

We're in between Nightclub promoters and theme nights at the moment. Within weeks, we'll have a new theme in place for Fridays, and we just started an 'Urban Vibes' theme on Saturday, which is taking off fantastically - it really suits the funky decor.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel overnight as part of a 21st Birthday celebration in Vanilla nightclub below in April 2014. I was very pleased with the experience from start to finish, both in the club and later in the hotel itself. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating throughout my stay, and the Nightclub and Hotel managers did everything they could to make the evening as enjoyable as possible for all involved. The highlight would have to be the rooms - I got to see several of the various price categories and all of them were of a very high standard, particularly the bathrooms, but the Hampton Luxury room really can't be beaten. For an overnight or weekend stay, I would recommend the Hampton unreservedly.

Room Tip: Go for the Hampton Luxury room at the front of the hotel if there's more than one of you staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your business and your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your 21st party with us.

Please keep us in mind if you have any events in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel is small with a friendly feel. The location was perfect for us as I got the bus there and it was right opposite the bus stop! It was easy to get a taxi to the theatre: Borde Gais. The room was clean with a lovely bathroom. Nice decor in the hotel (but I felt like I was Alice in wonderland!) We had breakfast in the hotel which was a la carte rather than buffet style- not as nice an experience but good food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your business, and taking the time to leave a review.

I'm glad you were able to use us as a base for your night out at the Bord Gais theater. Even though we are not in the center, Dublin is quite compact and nowhere is that far to travel.

Thank you for your comments about breakfast too. We considered doing a buffet, but to be honest, we are probably a little bit too small for it to be financially feasible (in terms of waste). At least with a la carte, you know that everything is fresh!

Thank you again for your stay. Hope you consider staying with us down the rabbit hole again on your next visit!

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We both really enjoyed our stay. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. The bed was one to get lost in. It's a walk from the center but we enjoyed the walk each day, the surrounding area is beautiful. Lovely, would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandzdena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your stay with us, and for leaving such a kind review. We really appreciate it. I hope your eyes have readjusted to the normal world since your visit!

Thank you again.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

First, best way to get here from the airport is with the air coach, 14 euro round trip and it stops right across the street from the hotel.
Great staff, however,
The entire hotel smells of the cooking in the Bistro, a fried smell, which avoided us eating there, you would end up smelling of fried cooking.
The benches in the Bistro are of low quality and that is evident in the shape they're in.
We were on the 4th floor, at the top of the stairs the cleaning crew accumulated bags of laundry, left over room service and cutlery, not to mention the stains on the carpet left over on that spot, not acceptable in a 4 star.
The rooms are nice, and the bathrooms are very nice, however the dust on the surfaces in the rooms was a clear sign the cleaning was not at 4 star standard.
The rooms are not sound insulated from the hallway or other rooms, and the occasional noises are clearly audible.
I can't honestly say I would recommend the hotel to others.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Moshe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your room and commented on our great staff.

From your headline stating that we are "not a true 4-star", I assume that you are very well versed in the 36-page hotel classification document that determines the grading of hotels in Ireland. I can't imagine anyone making such a comment flippantly on such a public forum. To do so would not just be irresponsibly inaccurate, but deeply insulting to our hard-working team here. So I will respectfully assume that your dog ate the last five pages of this classification document, which led you to make this casual, throwaway remark. I can happily confirm, being in possession of the entire certificate, that we sail through the four-star classification process every year, with no caveat or addendum attached.

Regarding the two damaged banquette seats in our bar bistro, you are quite correct. We had some electricians in recently installing some extra lighting above these seats. In their child-like exuberance, they stomped around carelessly on the seating causing the seams to tear. Not to doubt your expertise in banquette materials but they are not low-quality, as you state. The true fact is that they are of the very highest quality. We have an expert coming in the next few weeks to re-cover the two seats. I can assure you that nothing was done on-the-cheap in this hotel.

I was a little puzzled by your remark that the entire hotel smells of the cooking in the bistro. I was even starting to question not only my own olfactory system, but that of every other guest we had had the pleasure to welcome. None of us can pick up this smell around the entire hotel. If by entire hotel, you mean inside the Bar Bistro and at the entrance of the Bar Bistro, then I will concede that it is highly likely that you smelled food in these areas. Our most popular item in the bistro is our Chicken Wings. They are making quite a name for themselves in the locale. This may be what you smelled. Most of the items on our menu are grilled rather than fried though. To say that you smelled this food around the entire hotel is just not factual. Exaggeration is the insidious enemy of truth... .

On our housekeeping practices, I am sorry if you came across some dust in your room. We always score very highly on our housekeeping and cleanliness and it disappoints me that we didn't get it right when you stayed. Every hotel on earth has bags of laundry and room service trays outside doors as the room is being serviced. A housekeeping porter then goes around clearing these items throughout the day. The corridors are completely clear at the end of the afternoon. This is the same process that is practiced in every property, from humble B&Bs to the best five-star hotels.

On hearing occasional sounds from your bedroom, I apologise if it impacted on your stay. As a hotel that was created from six Georgian-era houses, the shell is very sturdy, but no hotel can truly guarantee a sound-proofed environment, even a hotel in a leafy suburb, as we are.

Thank you again for your stay. Constructive points are always welcome and something that we will always act upon. Exaggerations, inaccuracies, and flippant remarks can sometimes lower the weighting that people attach to a reviewer's feedback, but I promise to extract the points that we can genuinely address, and make improvements that our future guests can appreciate.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 151 in Dublin
570 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#30 of 151 in Dublin
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Property: Hampton Hotel
Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's Hampton Hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 26 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing