We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Dublin”
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #26 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Only got to spend 1 night at this hotel but was very impressed.
Rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very helpful and accommodating. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was very good and reasonably priced for a hotel establishment. The bar also seems to be a popular place with the locals and was pretty crowded for a Tuesday night.
The location is within walking distance to the park, Trinity College and other downtown areas.
I would stay here again, hopefully for a longer time, and have already recommended it to friends traveling to Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate it. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Hope you consider us on any future visits back to Dublin.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I cannot fault the hotel, we arrived late at night on a Friday to a lovely welcoming reception & stayed until Sunday.

The hotel is very modern and clean - all the staff were welcoming and the facilities are good.

The taxi drivers did comment that the hotel used to be know as a cougar hotel however they shut it down a few years ago and renovated it, and lost that reputation. We were at the front of the hotel and although the night club is attached we never heard any noise from it and when staying you receive free entry - for non hotel members it is 5 euros.

Although the hotel is set 10 mins outside the centre of Dublin there is a local bus stop right outside the hotel. You need the correct change, as they do don't take notes- this was something we didn't know at the time.

Taxis to the hotel from the airport are about 40euros ... Well it was for us and we did research before traveling yet they told us about 30 euros so to warn you it could be slightly more.

On the Sunday we had food in the bar which was lovely.

I would recommend this hotel and if I returned to Dublin I would stay at the hampton again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EJEms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Arrived at the Hampton Hotel by Aircoach without any of the traffic nightmares I'd heard about. Convenient service 8.50 euros. Check in was straightforward, the room was clean and well presented; decorated in a modern style. Had asked for quiet room and was concerned due to air conditioner noise in the corridor but this was going to be an issue, however, the noise was not intrusive in the room. The curtains were thick and possible blackout so not disturbed by early morning light. There was a TV, Safe, hospitality tray and laundry service but unfortunately no information book so not able to take advantage of all the facilities including the entertainment system. There is free wifi available throughout the hotel and extra hangers available on request ( the three in the wardrobe were not sufficient). The Irish breakfast was disappointing - plenty of it but didn't appear to be cooked to order and the rubbery eggs and value sausages were underwhelming. In my opinion the omelette was a far better choice. The bar area both inside and out was comfortable and the staff were appropriately attentive. A pleasant walk to the RDS and City Centre I would return to stay at the Hampton when visiting Dublin. I would advise caution regarding flat rate 25 euro taxi back to the airport our journey cost 30 euro.

Room Tip: 202 has a side view and is away from the nightclub which is open in Friday and Saturday. Room can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C0rnish_Maid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Booking accommodation on-line can be such as a gamble, BUT this hotel was such a pleasant surprise - exceeding our expectations. This hotel was fabulous with spacious, modern rooms. What a wonderful stay. Restaurant well-priced and the breakfast is big enough to share! he bus stop is jus ouside the hotel and the airport transport stops almost in front of the hotel. Consider booking here next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Orpha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Enjoyed the nice large room and bathroom. Very clean and up to date. The location was great for us. Easy access to the airport on the Air Coach. Breakfast was fair but convenient. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful also able to leave our luggage for the day until we caught a later bus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maryliz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to post it.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Ireland.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Superb stay. Got a local bus from the airport to town and then to the hotel. Tatiana was very friendly and helpful on the reception. Room was perfect. 20-25 minute walk to Centre/ Temple Bar area. €25 euros taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. I'll pass your remarks to Tatiana as well. She'll be delighted.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights and had a very satisfying break here. The room was a decent size, the bathroom was nice and modern and the staff were really friendly and helpful throughout. We had no noise issues as I made sure the nightclub was closed before I booked. The only dissapointment I would say is the quality of the food in the bar/restaurant. It is poor to say the least, typical bar fare from 1990's...nothing fresh and tasty so you must go elsewhere which is a shame.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Leon1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your business, and for taking the time to leave some feedback of your stay. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

I was surprised to see your remark about our food. We don't have a restaurant. It's a Bar Bistro, and the focus is on simple comfort food. Absolutely everything is cooked to order and fresh. No microwaving here.

We change specials every day and this week we've had Seared Fillet of Duck, Sea Trout with Spinach Risotto, Slow-Roasted Ham Hock with wholegrain mustard glaze, savoy cabbage, creamy mash, and apple chutney. While they aren't redefining the Irish culinary landscape, they're old favourites, well presented, and popular with our locals. Food can be a subjective beast with wildly varied opinions on what people like and don't like. To each their own, and every eatery accepts this. I'm sorry you didn't give us a try though. Our chicken wings are legendary, even if they are 90's pub fayre!

Thank you again for staying with us. We really do appreciate it.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 150 in Dublin
1,742 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 150 in Dublin
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
2,279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £86 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's hampton hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 39 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing