We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hampton for 3 nights for my birthday and had a lovely experience.

After reading other reviews we were concerned that there might be a bot of noise from the nightclub so asked to be situated away from the noise. The staff were very accommodating and we weren't troubled by noise once.

The decor of the place is lovely and the extra touches such as bottled water in the room made it even more special.

We spent a lot of time in the city and walked to and from the hotel which took approx 30mins each way which was fine for us, but might not be suitable for everyone. Taxis cost around 10-12eu each way.
We booked in advance and took advantage of one of their offers which made the hotel just as well priced as even some of the hostels in the city centre. If you book early, you can grab a good bargain.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and I would not hesitate is recommending this hotel to others.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your stay, and for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor.
It means a lot to us; especially as we're a boutique property.

Hope you consider us again if you are back in Dublin in the future!

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    288
    54
    25
    17
See reviews for
73
482
48
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was an excellent boutique hotel. The staff were really nice and very efficient. Food great! The rooms were decorated with style and had very good amenities - very nice bathroom! Airport bus stop right next to hotel - very handy!

Room Tip: There is a late bar at weekends, so be aware of that when booking if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your kind review. It means a great deal to us. I hope you think of us if you visit Dublin again.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. The journey from the airport is about 35 minutes. We thought the taxi driver overcharged us - €38. As we arrived around 10 in the morning, the room wasn't ready. However, the very friendly receptionist gave us a map and explained the route to town. It took us 20 mins to walk to the town centre, and a further 15 mins to the Guinness storehouse - highly recommended. A further 15 mins walk to the west brought us to the jailhouse. Unfortunately, the tickets were sold out. Taxi ride back to the hotel cost around €12.
Other highlights include drinking at Temple Bar, Riverdance at the theatre, wax museum, Trinity College and of course just enjoying the friendliness of the Irish people.
The hotel room was quirkily decorated and very clean. Excellent spacious bathroom with two sinks. Shower was a bit on the low pressure but hot a great problem. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we walked about 10 mins to a nearby cafe known as the Canal Cafe.
Overall, would highly recommend this hotel. It is situated in a nice, posh and quiet residential area.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your business and for the great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your trip to Dublin and that you were able to take so much in.

I hope you consider us again if you are ever in town again.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel.
Me and my girlfriend stayed there 4 nights in st. Patrick.
Hotel comfortable and very helpful staff, to visit the city is perfect, great location and affordable price.
Opposite the hotel there are bus stops to visit the city and to the airport.
Absolutely recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Babuzzo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate it. I'm glad you had such an enjoyable stay.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a lovely clean hotel. Reception staff are very welcoming and helpful. Rooms very clean and modern. Very comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom with under floor heating. Large flat screen tv and fire effect on wall is a lovely touch. breakfast was delicious. will definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunstar1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It means a lot to us. Please do consider us again.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were blown away by not just how beautiful and spacious the rooms were, with a BATH too, but how friendly the staff were! We had driven from Limerick and wanted to leave our car at the hotel for the duration of our stay. They hotel staff gave us fantastic directions on how to catch the bus in to the main street in town (it was literally a 5 min bus ride) and even gave us change for the bus so we didn't over pay. the restaurant was great, and they even helped us with getting to the airport for our trip to the Isle of Man TT. I can't say enough good things about this place & will stay here again next time we're in Dublin!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgelett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to help you make the most of your visit to Dublin.

Please keep us in mind the next time!

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I had a quite enjoyable stay at the Hampton Hotel. At first I found the location to be out of the way, but I felt very safe walking home after a late night of drinking, and found a wonderful pub near the canal. The hotel staff weren't very polite, but I much enjoyed the hotel room and the location. I stayed on the top floor on a Friday night and had no problem with noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmer-Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 151 in Dublin
1,897 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 151 in Dublin
566 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Property: Hampton Hotel
Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's Hampton Hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 26 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing