We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended! Had it all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #23 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Highly recommended! Had it all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

I booked this hotel as I took my g/friend to Dublin for her birthday and we were totally blown away with how friendly the staff were, the quality of the rooms, the bar, the food - everything really! The location is in a very nice part of Dublin giving you a 10 min walk to Gresham Street and Temple bar which allows you to appreciate Dublin more so than if you were based in the centre of town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank densafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    280
    52
    24
    17
See reviews for
70
472
46
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Myself & fiance stayed at the Hampton Hotel to celebrate my birthday.
The service was excellent from the moment we checked in to the hotel. We were very lucky, and were upgraded to a suite, & we were both totally blown away with this room. The decor in this hotel is very funky & modern. The room was well equiped with all the latest gadgets ( eg: cd & dvd player ). The room was very spacious & very comfortable, with a wall mounted TV & fireplace, the bathroom was also enormous, with double showers & a huge bath. We dined in the bistro and the food was delicious. Once again the service was fantastic. The staff were very efficient & very friendly. I would most defintely recommend this hotel, and can't wait until we go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

Having stayed in several Dublin hotel chains and being extremely disappointed by the rooms and value for money, I found the Hampton to be way above anything else available in this price category. The room was large, quiet, equipped with everyhing you could need, the bathroom was luxurious, and the staff were friendly and extremely efficient. I really appreciated the lack of a loud tv in the bar/breakfast area and the all round comfort and quietness. I would have no reservations in highly recommending this hotel for anyone who is considering a trip to Dublin.
Although the hotel is not located in the centre of Dublin, it is in one of the best close in areas, and it is a very pleasant walk to the centre or a very quick bus ride if you prefer.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl_in_Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

Wanted to go to dublin without the hasle of staying in the centre.
located about a 10 minute drive from centre in a nice quiet area.
Free parking was a big bonus. A taxi in to the centre was 15 euro but that dublin prices for you.
The room was large with a large flat screen tv dvd player and remote control fire!!.
we had room service breakfast which was great. The only faults I could find were our room was located above the bar so there was some noise from people outside the bar, also a bit dusty in places so attention to detail cleaning the room could of been better.
but saying that my wife has booked to go back, so overall its a good hotel especially if you want something a little bit different from chain hotels

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

My husband & I, along with some of our family booked into the Hampton Hotel in September '09. The rooms are very impressive with huge beds, huge lcd t.v's and wall mounted fire. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotless. Would definitely stay here again, and hopefully soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

We booked the Hampton Hotel based on the reviews previously stated on this website and I can tell you we were not disapointed. The hotel was stylish and modern as were the rooms (loved the large plasma and fire), extremely well maintained and clean. The food served in the resteraunt and room service was excellent. We ate in the resteraunt both nights as we enjoyed it that much.

The hotel was situated 5 minutes from the centre by bus in a high end part of Dublin. The aircoach only took 1/2 hour and stopped right outside the hotel saving money on transfers (14euros return each).

We initially went to Dublin as a birthday celebration, however, I asked my girlfriend to marry me. The staff at the Hampton (especially Gudrun & Steffi) were all too pleased to help me do this. They arranged everything as a suprise when we got back and I could not have hoped for a better setup. Champagne and chocolate coated strawberries were all I ordered. They took it upon themselves to put rose petals, a rose and candles on the bed which made everything even more special. We cannot thank them enough for there help and it is something we will never forget.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Our trip was made very memorable and I am positive we will be visiting the Hampton again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rushton555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Property: Hampton Hotel
Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's Hampton Hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 26 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing