We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Ballsbridge”
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #29 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Just a quick note to say what a very enjoyable experience we had staying at the Hampton. Staff very friendly, food very good, we had a room with a 52 inch TV and remote control fireplace, also underground floor heating in bathroom. Very clean and excellent value for money, would stay again if we were in Dublin, well done to the Hampton.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fermanaghgirlIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

826 - 832 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2010

Stayed at Hampton a few times. Fab decor, excellent staff. Good food , free parking. Sea water pool, sauna, steam included nearby. Raymond

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RodgerCashel_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

we stayed at this hotel for one night whilst at an event in the city, on arrival i was saddened that we had whole day planned out as i would have loved to have simply hung around the hotel. Front desk staff - especially Steffi were extremely helpful providing maps, directions and information on everything you need. We were directed to our room which was simply stunning. We'd booked the Hampton Preferred, which included huge flat screen tv and fake plasma fire place, all controlled with one remote control by the bed. The bathroom was spotless and quite large with plenty of towels and toiletries.

We were out of the hotel for most of the day and returned around 11 at night and had a quick drink in the bar, we were extremely tired so went to bed but DVDs are available free of charge to watch in your room if you are bored.

If you are planning on breakfast i'd advise on pre-booking it for value for money, we prebooked for 10euro and were allowed to order what we wanted off the menu in which most of the food was well over 10e. We both had full irish fry which was yummy and made to order unlike most hotels which serve buffet breakfast.

check out was fast and efficient and Steffi again offered us directions and maps to our next destination.

This hotel is fantastic, although a little out of the way, its only 15 min walk to city centre and bus stops right outside. Free on site parking is also a huge bonus, I would highly recommend it and will definitely stay here again if in dublin

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

It was simplya pleasure to stay in this wonderful hotel! great servise, great rooms, great location. Thanks to Steph for hosting us there!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank temile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

The Hampton is very worthy of your consideration for a stay in Dublin. It is a stylish, clean, well run establishment. We arrived very early on a Sunday morning (thanks Delta) and met Steffi at the front desk. We dropped off our bag and explored the neighborhood. When we returned to the hotel it was obvious that we were pretty tired and Steffi went above and beyond to see that we could check in as soon as it was possible. Our room was a good size and nicely appointed. i.e. large flat panel TV, electric fireplace, CLEAN, and large bathroom. There is a supermarket with a very good deli a block south and McCloskey's pub next to it. We adopted McCloskey's as our neighborhood pub for an evening nightcap. The people there were first rate (say hello to Barney if you stop). We stayed 4 nights before going to Cork and Galway for several days and 2 nights on our return to Dublin. On our return we were given the same room, which was a nice touch. The only issue we had was that our room was not cleaned on one of the evenings we returned around 7:00pm. It was immediately taken care of and we had a deli picnic in the sitting room with complimentary wine. It was no big deal at all.

The very slight drawback is that it is a 20 minute walk south of St. Stephen's in Donneybrook. This is of no concern in good weather and very little concern in bad weather (which we had every day) because the city bus stops immediately outside the hotel. From the airport take the Air Coach Leopardstown Rd. route to the Morehampton Rd. stop. Returning to the airport step outside the hotel's front door to the Sach's Hotel bus stop. It is easy and convenient. The Air Coach and city bus stops are next to each other.

I will absolutely consider the Hampton for our next trip to Dublin. The staff is frist rate, competent, friendly, and professional. Stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EC_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Who knew that Halloween was such a big thing in Ireland. We'd picked this weekend because it worked with my work schedule and we had been meaning to spend a few days in Dublin for a while. It was the reviews on this site that made us decide to stay at the Hampton Hotel. I would agree with all the reviewers: the refurbishments are lovely and the rooms are really modern yet still very cosy. I have to say the remote control defeated me (but then they so often do). However even hubbie couldn't get the radio to work and that is saying something. The fireplace adds a nice touch and flatscreen tv is awesome.

As others have said the location is great, a little out of the centre but a 20 minute brisk walk takes you straight into St Stephen's Green. Just crossing the road takes you to a lovely park which is nice for the post Sunday lunch amble or your morning jog if you feel really energetic.

We found all the staff to be especially helpful and taxis can be summoned very quickly. The only thing they need to work on is the restaurant. It struck us that they were missing a good, confident chef. The bar/restaurant is layed out nicely and should be humming however it was clearly having trouble attracting a crowd. The bar pours generous drinks and does great cocktails so there is plenty of potential. Hopefully this is something they can fix quickly to make the whole experience delightful.

We'll definitely be going again - both for business and pleasure.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Duck4360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

My wife and I took a two-day break to Dublin and stayed in this hotel. After reading the rave reviews on tripadvisor we were looking forward to staying here. Our expectations were exceeded! The room was very spacious, clean and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful - nothing seemed too much trouble for them. I would highly recommend this hotel - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Dublin
1,420 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#14 of 151 in Dublin
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £75 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's hampton hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 39 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing