We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality hotel, very impressed.”
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #28 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The Hampton is a top quality hotel, very impressed. Very well designed/decorated throughout, although some may find the very dark corridors with 'mood' lighting a bit off putting. Massive TV in room, treble sized bed, very well designed bathroom with top quality suite anf fittings. Staff very attentive, helpful and friendly. The position of the hotel is sited just outside the city centre, but a regular frequent bus service stops right outside, cost €1.60 each way, but you need the exact money. A taxi to or from the city centre is about €9. Lots of free car parking space, but I would recommend you park at the front of the hotel as it seemed a bit more overlooked and secure than round the back. Overall I couldn't recommend this hotel enough, the next time I go to Dublin I'll definitely stay there.
Cost of room didn't include breakfast, I went for the smaller cooked option €8.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurotraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed at the Hampton for a week preparing for a wedding and enjoying the city.
The wedding reception was held at the hotel. The food and facilities were wonderful. Staff was extremely accommodating and helped make everything run without a hitch. All their recommendations for florists, hair stylists, etc worked out perfect and we all appreciated all the helpful directions to get around town using the bus and driving. Being slightly off the downtown area was great as traffic and noise were not a problem and we could sit out on the patio and enjoy the outdoors when not shopping and sightseeing. We had a suite, the room and the bathroom were terrific! Thanks to the Staff for making the whole experience a delight.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I booked Hampton Hotel Based on Trip Advisor reviews. We stayed 3 nights in a normal room at a rate of 89 Euros a night with the Sizzling Summer sale. First of all booking at that price made me very happy. It was easy to get to from the airport via Air Coach. These coach buses leave from the airport every 30 mins and will drop you off right in front of the hotel for 8 Euros. Just make sure to tell them Sacs Hotel if they don't know Hampton Hotel. The name used to be Sacs.

The room itself was really cute and clean. I loved the fake fireplace with the fire noise. My favorite thing was the HUGH flat screen TV. I don't know how many inches that thing was but it's too bad there was a big sports event going on because the TV was awesome ! You know how some hotels buy the smallest cheapest flat screens just to keep up with the trends ? Not here. It was so nice. The toiletries in the bathroom were nice as well. I mean they were high quality not cheap stuff.

We had breakfast 2 mornings and it was so, so good ! There is something special about their potato cakes and sausage. One day they actually packed us a lunch because we were going hiking and didn't have time to run out to a store to grab anything to pack for the trek.

The only downside I would be the beds. They were not at all comfortable. Not only that but they were on the small side for 2 people even by European standards.

I will mention as others have said, the general manager Bruno ? , is really nice. He will go above and beyond to make sure you are enjoying your stay. The whole staff is friendly and very helpful.

I would recommend Hampton Hotel for sure especially if you can book one of their specials.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zetalambda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

This was the first time we've opted for a boutique hotel over one of the big chains and we were really glad we gave it a try.

We arrived to find our room had been upgraded - hurrah! The staff at reception were very welcoming and extremely helpful throughout our stay - it was out first visit to Dublin and they made sure we had all the information (tourist and local) that we needed.

The room was well decorated, spacious and clean although there was some dust on a couple of surfaces in the bedroom. Bathroom was very spacious - great size tub/shower, huge mirror with fantastic lighting, heated floors.

The hotel is located a little out of the centre but we rather enjoyed the peace and quiet and the 20 minute walk to the hustle and bustle of Grafton Street.

We had lunch at the hotel bar on one day starter was delicious, main was ok. Bar staff were really good.

Would definitely recommend the Hampton Hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KayLondon29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We arrived with my wife on crutches from a broken toe the previous day and got very good service from Gertude and then Lisabeth to locate a hospital after calling the local doctor. They were extremely helpful throughout finding and booking tours and events, evening bringing up the hotel menu and helping us find a hotel for the third night since they were booked!

Perhaps most impressive about our stay was our second night when we wanted to take our kids to a pub for some traditional music and dancing. The manager (Bruno) offered that we could follow him to go to a traditional Irish show that allowed kids past 8pm. While the food was forgettable, the music and dancing were both top rate and highly recommended - The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub (putting review there next)!

Our room was slightly larger than most since we'd originally booked for only 2 adults so we upgraded to a suite which was fantastic in every way. The bathroom was magnificent and modern as was the room in a chic black and white theme.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant where the food was excellent though the service depended upon your server (our waitress was very slow but helped by competent waiter). For breakfast, we walked up the street to high end supermarket for bagels and chocolate croissants in the room which were delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgsparro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Pros:

This is a boutique hotel, so the rooms were quite modern and well-maintained. The staff was also extremely friendly and helpful. Another nice feature is that there was a restaurant/bar in the lobby that had indoor and outdoor seating.

Cons:

Our room was tiny! Each room is different so maybe you can ask for a bigger room, but my friend had a bigger room, but her bathroom was tiny. The elevator was also tiny. We had to make 2 or 3 trips just to get our luggage up. Also keep in mind that the location of this hotel is in the suburbs - it is NOT within walking distance of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StowGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

pro's: nice layout (more ikea like though) - the fireplace in the room was a nice touch; very nice staff (many thanks to Gudrun);
con's: when checked in - we were given somebody else's room and charged in advance in full + deposit (instead of pre-authorization, therefore we lost money due to f/x rate) ; poor selection of breakfast (and depends also who is serving it); lack of umbrella (in a very rainy Dublin) and also slippers despite asking many times for (something we receive even in not boutique hotels); distance from downtown (in w/e the busses don't come that often); very thin walls;
Overall expensive for what you get!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Dublin
1,419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#14 of 151 in Dublin
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £73 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's hampton hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 39 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing