We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The grand finale of our tour around Ireland and we were not disappointed!”
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #28 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We were greeted by the most amazing hotel receptionist we have ever met! Gudrun. Even before checking us in she asked if we had visited Dublin before and when we said no, she materialised maps and a dummys guide compiled by the hotel staff of the best places to go, recommended restaurants and bars etc. Then she guided us through the map of what buses to take into the city and marked all the dropping off and picking up points. She also marked all the best bars and restaurants. She went well over her call of duty! Very impressed. She then upgraded our room, even better! The room was gorgeous, a nice size with a massive flat screen tv. The bathroom was bright and spacious with heated flooring and a double washbasins. A full size bath and shower. It was all very lovely. Yes as a previous reviewer has stated the hallways are dark with low level lighting - literally the lights are at the bottom of the walls! But this all adds to the ambience of the hotel. Breakfast was lovely we had the egg benedict with smoked salmon - highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pookiepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2010

This is a great place to stay, yes it is a bit out of town, but the walk is pleasant and if you feel tired at the end of the day you can catch the local bus back, it stops right outside the hotel. The airport bus stop is right outside as well. The rooms have everything in them, i just loved the modern style to this hotel. the staff were excellent and friendly, what more can i say, we were away 5 weeks in the UK and this was one of the best hotels

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Just back from 2 nights in the Hampton Hotel. Dont let the fact that it is a little out of the city centre put you off. The hotel is located in a lovely part of Dublin and the stroll ( 20 min max) is very pleasant in to St Stephens Green, also there is a bus stop right outside the front door. Our room was a little on the small side ( a minor detail really) but the bathroom was very spacious. The staff, particularly the receptionist whose name unfortunately eludes me, were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. We will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ingrid45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My wife booked this hotel as a treat for my 40th Birthday, we booked a 2 night stay in a Hampton select room , but we were given a complimentary upgrade to the Luxury suite due to it being my 40th , a really nice gesture and wow what a room , large room with a huge seperate bathroom with under-floor heating which my wife just loved , 42" Plasma , wall mounted fire which just added to the rooms style..

On arrival the receptionist could not of been more helpful , very welcoming and told us all the info we needed on restaurants , bars, supermarkets and transport.. we met Bruno the hotel manager shortly after settling in. He made us welcome and even gave us a complimentary drink at the bar.. as for the food in the hotel , i would highly recommened trying it we could not fault it..

Dublin itself is expensive but its up to you how expensive you want it to be..

All in all a great hotel and Bruno and all his staff do a great job in making this hotel a luxury to stay in..

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee9870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Hampton has been the first hotel I've visited, which combines the modern style of Hilton-like hotels with the charm of smaller, leisure hotels - with success. Hampton Preferred room, which we've stayed in was somewhat small for both of us along with our suitcases. So if you prefer some more elbow space, an upgrade to Hampton Select would be recommended. We chose not to upgrade, as we only stayed there for two nights and the only difference between those two rooms is the size.

The staff is out of the ordinary, topping even much more luxurious hotels. The assistance we've received throughout our stay was some of the best I have ever experienced - both with regards to what to see and do in Dublin, but also with car rental and more practical tasks.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lunow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I booked this hotel mainly due to its location as we were attending the Dublin Horse Show. When we first saw our room I was a bit surprised by how small it was - really too small for a double room. There was a small free standing wardrobe but it did not have any full length hanging space. The bathroom was in a stairwell so while it was clean and adequate for use it felt very claustrophobic. The bathroom window was very shabby - dusty with a rickety catch and needed repainting. There was an iron but nowhere to use it. The bedroom carpet had hairs from a previous guest on it and the remains of a hairband so housekeeping wasn't all it could have been. The bolster on the bed had a dark stain on it and the bedroom walls had black scuffmarks and needed repainting. We were a bit put off at this stage but we were only staying for one night so we (foolishly) decided to persevere and headed off to the horse show. Later that evening when we were getting ready to go for dinner we discovered the sink plug didn't work properly and the poor receptionist had to come to unblock it with a screwdriver. At this stage we realised we were in a Fawlty Towers situation but laughed it off and went to dinner. The real problem happened next morning at 6.30 am when we were woken by people outside our door as our room was right next door to a conference room. The sound insulation was so poor that we might as well have been at the meeting ourselves. The room we had (Room 100) should never have been used as a bedroom for guests - on the ground floor beside a conference room and away from all the other bedrooms. I have never had a worse experience in any hotel and this hotel should definitely not have been awarded four stars. When I complained that morning we were refunded 50 euro but to be honest it was little compensation for a very unpleasant stay. We would have been more comfortable sleeping in our car in the car park which was the best part of the hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

it was my wifes 40th, so i took her to Dublin for the weekend.

i chose this hotel because it looked fantastic, and the reviews were promising.

we loved every minute of our stay, this hotel is "simply fantastic" and we would stay there again. the staff are so helpfull, so much great advice for visiting places, and restaurants.

we mentioned upon arrival it was my wifes birthday, when we returned from our first trip into town, they'd put a bottle of wine and large chocolate muffin with a candle in it in our room, such a great gesture, they really made us feel welcome.

the rooms are huge, just antastic luxury, the only small item of crticism was the toilet was crammed between the end of the large bath and wall. other than that, faultless.

getting into town was simple, a 20 minute walk, or jump on the bus right outside, so easy, and being outside of town there was no late night noise. so a great sleep every night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jd14_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
2,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
1,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#17 of 150 in Dublin
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 150 in Dublin
552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#40 of 150 in Dublin
1,719 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £95 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's Hampton Hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 26 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing