We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Grafton Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grafton Guesthouse
Ranked #56 of 151 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The location is pretty good but because it is such an old building the noise from outside kept us up all night. Sirens and car alarms etc. The toilet didn't have enough water pressure to flush. The sink barely worked. There were basically no outlets in the room which wasn't decorated and was very small. Other reviews seem too good to be true because room 16 is not good.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rebeccavdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Pros - absolutely great location, low cost, included continental breakfast, ear plugs to keep out the street noise
Cons - no lift (we were on the top floor - room 16), mold in the tiny shower, shower door broken off the track, giant crack in the mirror, only electrical plugs in the room were over by the bed and window, only mirror was on the opposite side of the room from both bed and window, toilet had to be "pumped" to get it to flush properly, single bed that my daughter slept in sloped so much that she fell out of bed twice, no ventilation unless you open the windows.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just returned from a 3 night break in Dublin,grafton house is clean and tidy in the midst of being done up
We had room 18 a two bedroom penthouse style flat with a kitchen,ideal for a family kitted out with washing machine and dish washer,staff were helpful and kind.
Hotel is in a great location a little noisy but our rooms were at the rear,
Continental breakfast was excellent served in the restaurant across the road,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Hotel was very central, near many bars and restaurants, close to temple bar and many attractions. Although many reviews claim it's noisy it wasn't so bad, we were on the street side and didn't notice any, earplugs are provided.

The stairs are a bit of a killer, but the hotel does mention there is no lift access. Clean and comfortable.
Breakfast is served across the road, continental with the option to buy a cooked option. Although I found there was plenty: toast, cereal, pastries with tea, coffee and juices.

Lovely.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank HelsF11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Grafton was a good price with really helpful staff who went the extra mile when there was a problem with my credit card. The decor was a little dated in my room and the hall was in in the middle of renovations, but these were small things compared to the positive experience of being in the heart of the great city of Dublin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The pic on the booking page doesn't do this comfortable and quirky accommodation justice. It was central ,,two minutes walk to Temple Bar and five to Stephens Green. Inviting decor.only negative was some small but unsightly leftovers from renovation. Staff helpful and friendly. Room small but very adequate. Price very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NatureLover1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I was a little dubious about this, given the location (back in my day it wasn't the best of areas). I must say I was more than pleasantly surprised. Check-in at Kellys Hotel was simple, quick and friendly. The room was very clean and more than adequate with a very stylish shower cubicle. Breakfast at the nearby restaurant was very good - cereals, yoghurts, pastries, ham and cheese.

Our room was at the front overlooking South Great Georges Street - I could see this being an issue on a hot night when you would need the windows open as the street noise is pretty loud and there is no air conditioning.

If you are looking for a good pub which is not noisy or over-crowded do try the Long Hall across the road - what we used to call an old man's pub but now is an oasis of perfection.

I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would certainly be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0 mi away
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
#95 of 152 in Dublin
312 reviews
1 mi away
Ferryman Hotel
Ferryman Hotel
#96 of 152 in Dublin
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 152 in Dublin
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 152 in Dublin
2,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trinity Lodge
Trinity Lodge
#29 of 151 in Dublin
584 reviews
0.5 mi away
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Guesthouse

Address: Apartment 6 Grafton 31/33 Merrion Road 26-27 S. Great George's St., Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £64 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Guesthouse is a quaintly styled accommodation in the heart of Dublin City Centre. Dublin City's unique nightlife, shopping, theatre's, concert venues & historic places of interest are within easy walking distance. The hotel has 15 rooms, which: 3 are Single... 8 Are Double... 2 Are Twin... 1 Is Triple... 1 Is the Penthouse Apartment, which can fit 4 people in... All rooms feature an en-suite bathroom, TV, and WiFi. Continental breakfast is served in the nearby, award winning L'Gueuleton Restaurant. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grafton Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing