We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic price, friendly staff, brilliant location”
Review of Grafton Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grafton Guesthouse
Ranked #59 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here with my sister and sister in law for one night in the triple room, breakfast was free the next morning. Bed was so comfy and very clean room. Provided with clean towels and shower gels, tea and a hairdryer. No problems what so ever only thing wrecked us was the stairs, and the shower door is slightly dodgey, but for how cheap it was I was in shock at how lovely it was! Really don't know how there are so many bad reviews. We stayed in room 16 and it was perfect. Will deffo be back and deffo recommend! :) p.s for breakfast you go to a lovely French restaurant! Bargain! Loved it! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 229 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
55
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Great central location but POOR accommodation! I've stayed in better hostels!we kind of knew what we were in for&only live an hour away but wud hate to think this place wud b a tourist first impression of Ireland!Staff were friendly, bed was comfortable but room tiny&ive thrown out better furnishings-yuk! Bathroom was grotty&tiny with no water pressure. Had to walk down a street to b served our continental breakfast!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here over the weekend. Room #4. Pretty basic room, not too shabby but an old building. Clean and tidy with friendly staff. There is street noise at night but ear plugs are provided so you can block it out. Beds comfy and bathroom clean. Pretty basic rooms but the location is really close to the city centre, so all is within walking distance. Our friends were in room #4 which was also good. Redecorating is in progress. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Looks like #16 is a bad move according to previous reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

If you're ready to take your luggage up 57 stairs to a stark, small, out dated, drafty room, # 16 is for you. The bathroom barely flushed and the shower pressure was minimal. No outlet for hairdryer in bathroom. It was on a wall by the only window but no mirror near it. The window is drafty and the mattress I slept in was on a slope. They supplied a hot pot for coffee/tea but no plug near it. You have to pull the bed out to plug it in. There is no reception desk at this location. You have to walk to their sister hotel down the street. The only good thing about this is when I complained, they were very nice about not charging us for the next two nights we booked. My guess is they've heard these complaints before about room 16 at least. You also are right on a busy street so ear plugs are recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The location is pretty good but because it is such an old building the noise from outside kept us up all night. Sirens and car alarms etc. The toilet didn't have enough water pressure to flush. The sink barely worked. There were basically no outlets in the room which wasn't decorated and was very small. Other reviews seem too good to be true because room 16 is not good.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rebeccavdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Pros - absolutely great location, low cost, included continental breakfast, ear plugs to keep out the street noise
Cons - no lift (we were on the top floor - room 16), mold in the tiny shower, shower door broken off the track, giant crack in the mirror, only electrical plugs in the room were over by the bed and window, only mirror was on the opposite side of the room from both bed and window, toilet had to be "pumped" to get it to flush properly, single bed that my daughter slept in sloped so much that she fell out of bed twice, no ventilation unless you open the windows.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just returned from a 3 night break in Dublin,grafton house is clean and tidy in the midst of being done up
We had room 18 a two bedroom penthouse style flat with a kitchen,ideal for a family kitted out with washing machine and dish washer,staff were helpful and kind.
Hotel is in a great location a little noisy but our rooms were at the rear,
Continental breakfast was excellent served in the restaurant across the road,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
#95 of 150 in Dublin
307 reviews
North City Centre
Kingfisher Townhouse
Kingfisher Townhouse
#68 of 150 in Dublin
416 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 150 in Dublin
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,568 reviews
Glenogra Guest House
#38 of 150 in Dublin
150 reviews
Cliff TownHouse
#19 of 150 in Dublin
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Guesthouse

Address: Apartment 6 Grafton 31/33 Merrion Road 26-27 S. Great George's St., Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £74 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Guesthouse is a quaintly styled accommodation in the heart of Dublin City Centre. Dublin City's unique nightlife, shopping, theatre's, concert venues & historic places of interest are within easy walking distance. The hotel has 15 rooms, which: 3 are Single... 8 Are Double... 2 Are Twin... 1 Is Triple... 1 Is the Penthouse Apartment, which can fit 4 people in... All rooms feature an en-suite bathroom, TV, and WiFi. Continental breakfast is served in the nearby, award winning L'Gueuleton Restaurant. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Grafton Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing