We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and overall nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Herbert Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Herbert Park Hotel
Ranked #22 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean and overall nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I've been staying here for a few weeks for work, and overall it's a nice place to stay, although details could be looked at.
The good: a huge park on the back, being in Ballsbridge (nice area), nice big comfy beds, and towels replaced every day without asking. Decent breakfast too with a choice of fruit, ham, toasts, sausages, bacon, eggs, hashbrowns, yogurts, cereals, juices, the lot.
The bad: prehistoric tv sets in the bedrooms, with extortionate prices for movies or playing with a (lol) Playstation 1 (8 euros per hour). No kettle/tea/coffee in the room. Furniture decidedly tired. No iron either, which is ridiculous considering most of their clients are business men in suit that need to have a decent shirt to wear in the morning.
The ugly: No wifi in the rooms apart from the 5th floor, of course paid for with expensive vouchers. There's a cabled connection at 10 euros per day (and you have to borrow an ethernet cable from the reception to use it), slow as hell and works when it wants to. This is not acceptable in a business hotel, especially when there are youth hostels giving free reliable wifi all over the place!
So, if they'd add an iron in the rooms and free wifi this could be an excellent business choice for a stay.
Top tip: if you go in the lobby, between the reception and the right end and outside the right end by the fountain there's coverage with an unprotected NETGEAR network. Works 10 times better than their official one, I guess it's broadcasting from a neighbour living around the hotel, let's hope it lasts as it has been my last resort multiple times.

Room Tip: Possibly get a room on a higher floor to avoid facing a wall. I think rooms with view on the park ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbarry, Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Maxesse,
Many thanks for your review on Herbert Park Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel and that you found it clean and overall nice.

We are in the process of installing WiFi in all guest bedrooms and this will be completed in the first quarter of 2012. This is a considerable investment in the hotel and whilst we would be delighted to provide the service free to guests this is not a realistic possibily for the foreseeable future.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    533
    182
    65
    69
See reviews for
261
491
69
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed here for five nights in October 2011. The rooms were comfortable and clean, however I think it is ridiculous that there is no tea and coffee making facilites provided in the room so that you have to pay € 4.50 for room service every time you feel like a cup of tea. I also could not believe the prices they were charging for wi- fi. You also have to pay extra for parking and breakfast I think was €20 extra so even though the room might be decent value, your final bill could end up being considerably more. Hotels may have got away with this a few years ago but I think asking people to pay extra for such basic requirements these days is completely unreasonable. I also found that although the staff at reception were professional, they were not remotely friendly or welcoming and could come across quite cold. On the other hand, the accomodation staff who clean the rooms were very friendly and did a great job. I think this hotel would be okay for business trips but for a relaxing weekend away or a holiday, I would definately stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tasha409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbarry, Sales & Marketing Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear tasha409,

It is a shame you did not avail of our excellent value packages which are available to book on our website. We have a Business Package that includes accommodation, wifi and breakfast. We also have several other packages which are suitable for leisure guests and include parking, breakfast etc. It is definitely worth checking out these packages before you book on other websites as they are not available anywhere else.

I do hope this helps.

Kind regards,

Paula Barry
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed for one night here, and felt cheated, due to a few small, but irritating issues.
- The TVs in this place are prehistoric. For 119 euro per night, I would expect a decent telly.
- no free wi-fi. What makes hotels think that wifi is an expensive luxury? it should be part of the deal. If I can get free wifi with a £2 costa coffee, I should get it with a £110 hotel room.
- Breakfast didn't start until 7, and the staff were very unhelpful if you wanted to get anything a few minutes earlier without paying the exorbitant tray charge for room service.
- no free tea and coffee in the rooms. This really was the ryanair of hotels. I'm surprised the toilet paper wasn't charged per sheet.

When will these places realise that their customers know when they are getting ripped off with all these extra charges?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dommer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbarry, Sales & Marketing Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Dommer2000,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are disappointed with your comments on our hotel following your one night stay with us. The TV's in our rooms are Loewe which is equivelent to Bang and Olufsen and is an excellent quality TV. Breakfast is always available earlier than the advertised opening time as we always anticipate that some guests will be early.

TOP TIP: I would recommend that guests book via the hotel website as we have a really good Business Package which includes accommodation, internet connection and breakfast within the price, so there are no extras which you mention. Indeed all our best packages are only available via the hotel site and they all include extra items to make them very good value indeed.

I do hope that this feedback is useful.

Kind regards,

Paula Barry
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Have stayed here for one night in October for the last few years, as a couple or with one child. The foyer, bar, restaurant and rooms are very modern, elegant and comfortable. The bathrooms are very clean and smart. Service in the bar and restaurant were always pleasant and prompt. The hotel is located in Ballsbridge, beside Herbert Park which makes for a nice walk around the lakes and ducks. Ballsbridge is a lovely area, full of tree-lined avenues, grand old houses and embassies. It's about 15 mins on foot through Ballsbridge into Grafton Street but you can get a taxi or bus very easily. There are shops and bars across the road from the hotel and the RDS is just up the street but the hotel is set well off the road so the noise doesn't reach the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if your room overlooks the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMacBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbarry, Sales & Marketing Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear AMacBelfast,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoy our hotel.

Many thanks

Paula Barry, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Hotel lovely but lady in reception very unhelpful. Had issue with no tea or coffee making facilities in the bedroom and lady in reception unwilling to do anything to accomadate the issue despite informing her that I was a diabetic and needed the facilities in the room. Other than that the hotel was fine but this issue and the attitude of this particular member of staff would stop me from ever making a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrymanforsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbarry, Sales & Marketing Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Kerrymanforsam,

We spoke at length over the phone in September regarding your stay at Herbert Park Hotel and we discussed that the hotel offers room service tea/coffee delivery to guest rooms for a small charge. We did advise you of our service at the time of your stay but unfortunately you declined this offer.

Standards in service and quality rank highly for Herbert Park Hotel and for this very reason we do not provide self service tea coffee trays in our rooms. We do offer a complimentary serving of tea/coffee delivered to your room when an Executive Room is booked.

Kind regards,

Paula Barry
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is a hotel for people who aren't spending their own money. My room was quiet, comfortable and clean, but there was no free WiFi or tea/coffee making facilities and the prices for room service and items from the minibar were exorbitant. Don't stay here unless you have to and be very careful - as I was paying with a British credit card, they tried to charge me in pounds sterling. I suppose the excuse would be "Many guests prefer this, as they know exactly how much they are spending", but I am familiar with exchange rates and prefer the one offered by my credit card provider, thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangerine26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbarry, Sales & Marketing Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Tangerine,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our quiet comfortable and clean hotel, but sorry to hear that you were not happy with the costs related to staying at Herbert Park Hotel. As a four star hotel we ensure that all our prices are within the expected range for comparable 4 star hotels in Dublin. We do offer a facility to our guests where the final bill can be settled in their home currency which makes it easier for guests when reconciling expenses. If a guest does not require this facility then of course we will charge in Euros. Sorry if you misunderstood this at time of departure.
Kind regards,

Paula Barry
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed here while working a show at the RDS. Its an easy walk from the showground. it would be equally good for the Aviva Stadium. It couldnt be easier from the airport with the coach stopping just a few yards from the door. It's a bit far out for easy access to the city centre but you can get a bus, cab or tube.
The hotel is a nice modern style with great rooms. The bed was comfortable and bathroom excellent. Staff are fantastic and friendly. The breakfast buffet was very good and set me up perfectly for the day. I didn't eat in at night but there is a limited selection locally including a great cafe/bistro. There are also a couple of good bars directly over the road.
It's not cheap but certainly the going rate for this level of quality. I've paid more to stay in places that can't touch the Herbert Park Hotel.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazupupandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbarry, Sales & Marketing Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Sazupupandaway,

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay at Herbert Park Hotel.

Kind regards,

Paula Barry
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herbert Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbert Park Hotel

Property: Herbert Park Hotel
Address: Ballsbridge 4, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#43 Business Hotel in Dublin
#49 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Herbert Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4 star hotel located in the heart of Ballsbridge. Overlooking 48 acres of leafy Herbert Park, Herbert Park Hotel offers a unique setting in the centre of Dublin. Minutes on foot to the Aviva Stadium and RDS and minutes by car, bus or train to The CCD and the city centre, the location is ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Herbert Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Park Dublin
Hotel Herbert Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing