We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely comfortable hotel”
Review of Herbert Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Herbert Park Hotel
Ranked #20 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great reception staff, large airy comfortable bedrooms with minibar. Good bathrooms. I had room service which arrived at exact time they stated. Breakfast was excellent with hot food cooked to order.
The only thing I will say is that there was no tea / coffee facilities in the rooms otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    582
    193
    69
    70
See reviews for
293
537
72
721
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Booked a meeting room for a couple of hours, it was expensive but in fairness I knew the price when I booked the room. The hotel is in a great location and it is a lovely hotel. The desk service in particular is functional and somewhat abrupt. The staff say all the right things but it would be nice if they did it with a smile. However what was really maddening was the extras. They left a few bottles of water on the table and you would definitely got the impression that they were complimentary - they were the opposite, about €2.50 a pop. However the real coup de grace was the car parking charge. Even though we spent over €150 to book a room for a couple of hours they tried to charge an extra €10 for parking (subsequently reduced to €7.50 after a protest). When asked could this not be included in the charge and just about every other hotel validates car parking tickets we got a very abrupt "no, it's not our policy". It ruined a fairly ordinary and expensive few hours

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Lovely Hotel is a great location but very disappointed by Hotel Staff. They were quite frankly rude and unfriendly. Everything was an inconvenience including checking out. The personal presentation of Staff should also be addressed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Good location for RDS with clean rooms badly let down by unprofessional customer service. No tea and coffee rooms and made to feel an annoyance for requesting room service which took 20 minutes to arrive.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerbertPark_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Ann H,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the Hotel and in particular our Room Service delivery time. Our Room Service is normally very effecient and we are not aware of any recent issue. Please contact me directly on info@herbertparkhotel.ie with the specific details so that we can investigate and ensure it does not happen again.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Excellent rooms, clean, spacious with a great bed and two comfortable chairs, my first impression was very positive.

On closer inspection the room, especially the bathroom is showing signs of wear. The upholstery on the chair is ripped, the wallpaper in the bathroom is peeling. Small issues but not what I would expect from a hotel that most consider to be one of the best in the area.

Perhaps my biggest complaint is the lack of consideration for us smokers (and no it's not the responsibility of a hotel to try and change our habits).

Unusually for the Republic is the no smoking rule, I don't mind this providing some facility is provided. When I asked I was informed that smoking was only allowed outside, and the are no seats provided, nor cover in the event of rain.

£100 per night and I am expected to walk across the parking lot and perch on a low garden wall, this I find appalling.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CISSPUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Lovely hotel, have stayed here before a few years ago but was very disappointed that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Also on the Saturday afternoon there was a powercut, there appeared to be emergency lighting in the stairwells but not in the corridors which I thought was illegal. The power was off for several hours and I would have expected in a hotel of this standard to find a member of staff on each floor with a torch to guide people to their rooms as it was very difficult as many of the corridors are internal. We were going to a birthday party at 5.30pm and the power only came on just before that which made it very rushed as by then it was pitch dark in the room and we were unable to shower etc. No apology was made on check out it was just a shrug of the shoulders so in future will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherO61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here on business to attend an awards ceremony. Situated in a great part of Dublin with easy access to the city centre. Hotel is great for business travellers. Friendly receptionists who are quick and efficient. Room was lovely with all modern features and facilities. Bed really comfortable.

Room Tip: One of the few hotels in Dublin that give you a single room when asking for a single room instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,288 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,564 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
2.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herbert Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbert Park Hotel

Property: Herbert Park Hotel
Address: Ballsbridge 4, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#43 Business Hotel in Dublin
#49 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Herbert Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4 star hotel located in the heart of Ballsbridge. Overlooking 48 acres of leafy Herbert Park, Herbert Park Hotel offers a unique setting in the centre of Dublin. Minutes on foot to the Aviva Stadium and RDS and minutes by car, bus or train to The CCD and the city centre, the location is ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Herbert Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Park Dublin
Hotel Herbert Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing