We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet setting”
Review of Herbert Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Herbert Park Hotel
Ranked #17 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel while participating at an event at the RDS facility. The hotel is modern in style and the staff were friendly and helpful. I stayed with another woman and we had requested 2 single beds. The beds were pushed together, but I was able to pull them apart. The room was adequate in size and the bathroom was small, but adequate. As other reviewers have said, there is no coffee service in the room. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and the dining room large and very pleasant. We only had one dinner at the hotel because eating off small low tables in the lobby was not comfortable for me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janicebrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,173)
There are newer reviews for Herbert Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,585 - 1,591 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed four nights at this hotel June 2014 mainly to attend an event at the RDS which is just around the corner. This is a modern hotel in the middle of a small complex of office/apartment buildings. On our first evening we went to the restaurant only to find it closed. The bar area was crammed with people mostly eating meals at low tables. There were a couple of staff running (literally) around the tables taking orders. When we eventually gained the attention of a waitress we asked her why the restaurant was closed. She replied that it is always closed in the evening as guests prefer to eat in the bar. We had the misfortune to find seats close to an abandoned plate of uneaten salmon steak which gave off a strong fishy aroma. After suffering the smell for half an hour we had to ask a waiter to clear the plate. The lack of tea/coffee making in the room is a nuisance though room service is quick and efficient. The buffet breakfast was overall good but on some mornings the bacon was very fatty and sometimes we had to wait for a table to become available.We asked if it would be possible to have a late check out as our flight was not until Sunday evening but we were told that the hotel was full and so it wasn't possible.Room was large, clean and comfortable, though the view was of the parking area. Overall o.k. but we thought expensive considering limited facilities.

Room Tip: There is a park behind the hotel which would provide the best views. ( There is no pool or spa)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Herbert Park is well situated, close to the US embassy, RDS and Dublin's CBD. For those travelling here on business the location is excellent for those requiring short transit times to business located on the Southside of Dublin. The IFSC is a short taxi ride. The staff are friendly, helpful. Despite being centrally located, it is not directly situated on a main thoroughfare, so in terms of sleep, there was not ambient noise whatsoever.

WiFi access is included in the rate and is fast, reliable, easily supporting streaming services such as iTunes and Netflix without problems.

Breakfast options are competitively priced and the continental option provides a good array of choices.

The gym on site is small, offering cardio options such as treadmill, elliptical, rowing and stationary bike. There are no free weights, though there is a cabled unit with pullup bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1037_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed at Herbert Park Hotel between 13th and 23rd June 2014 in Pembroke Suite, 516.

The service is superb, the staff, especially at the reception, is amazingly very helpful, kind, friendly and efficient, food is very good and inexpensive.

2 issues that let me down, there was no tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom as room service is not opened all night and although Hotel states tea and coffee is free 3.50 euros extra have to be paid for room service. Also the air conditioning in the bedroom by the window was not working, complaints were maid but the maintenance staff never managed to repair it during our 10 day stay.

If it wasn't for those two issues I would have rated it as EXCELLENT however this does not mean I'm not coming back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get written confirmation that air conditioning is working to its full capacity and the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francisco Sousa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Family dinner here- really very nice food- the soup was piping and delicious- lovely bread. Had a main course salad- tasty. The only let down was a fruit salad that was mainly apple and overpriced at €8.50. Good coffee. Service v good- all details perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank User0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

It's been a couple of years since I stayed here. Standards certainly have been maintained. Very comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Staff are very efficient and pleasant. Wish they had tea/coffee facility in the room. I need my coffee when I wake up! Had queried this before? In conclusion, a very fine hotel. But I really don't like the open plan lobby/ bar which makes me feel uncomfortable as a woman on my own. So it has to be room service. For that reason & no coffee facility not inclined to revisit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank SueTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Pleasant setting on the edge of a Victorian park; this modern hotel offers most things for the discerning guest. The only exception being lack of spa faciliies and a 'no tea and coffee' policy in the rooms! Good breakfast, spacious modern room, small gym in the basement. It was expensive at €165 per night b&b.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alister C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,587 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
4,560 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herbert Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbert Park Hotel

Address: Ballsbridge 4, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#43 Business Hotel in Dublin
#49 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £111 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herbert Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4 star hotel located in the heart of Ballsbridge. Overlooking 48 acres of leafy Herbert Park, Herbert Park Hotel offers a unique setting in the centre of Dublin. Minutes on foot to the Aviva Stadium and RDS and minutes by car, bus or train to The CCD and the city centre, the location is ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Herbert Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Park Dublin
Hotel Herbert Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing