We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,715)
Filter reviews
2,715 results
Traveller rating
1,507
807
238
79
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,507
807
238
79
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aviva stadium city centre ballsbridge area business hotel great hotel business trip nespresso machine restaurants and pubs executive room modern hotel rooms are spacious enjoyable stay would highly recommend this hotel breakfast was excellent rds rugby ireland
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,715 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My sister and were joining a Brendan tour of Ireland but choose to arrive a day early to give us a day to explore Dublin and have some alone time. The Clayton Ballsbridge was the hotel the tour was starting was fully booked so our travel agent booked us here for one night as it was within walking distance to the Clayton Ballsbridge.

It’s a very nice, modern hotel. The front desk personnel were very friendly and gave great recommendations on where to eat, drink, etc.

The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Adequate toiletries, though finding the blow dryer was a challenge ! There is a restaurant and bar and while we did not eat there we did have a few drinks at the bar. The bartender was so nice, we felt very welcome.

My only complaint, this hotel is not close to Temple Bar or the City Centre, we had to take taxi’s to get to where the heart of Dublin, its kind of on the outskirts as I would put. We were there only 1 night, but it was a fine stay. I would stay again if necessity called for it, but would prefer to be closer to Central Dublin.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank tamstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner travelled to Dublin on 24 Aug for the World Meeting of Families WMOF2018 and to see Pope Francis. I chose the Herbert Park hotel as it was conveniently located opposite the RDS where the WMOF2018 registration and talks where being held and because the hotel had good reviews. I am not keen on small B&B's rather i prefer larger establishments so the Herbert Park ticked all the boxes. It looked was modern, stylish and sophisticated.

Positives: the hotel itself was was really conveniently placed for us as we were attending the WMOF2018. The overall look of the hotel is impressive it is slick, modern and the lobby area is neat and tidy with a business class feel. The breakfast has a good selection of hot and cold items. There is a buffet style hot section where you select your own bacon, eggs (fried or scrambled) sausages, black pudding and mushrooms. There is also a selection of bread, cereals, danish, and pancakes. There is also a menu if you wish to have your eggs poached, or as an omelette or eggs benedict. We really enjoyed breakfast and didn't have a bad word to say other than that they could have had an extra toaster for the bread.

Negatives: this is not the cheapest hotel in Dublin.. We paid £700 pound for a 3 night stay. We were looking forward to a nice view of the park as it is mentioned alot on the website however we got a room which was located in a square and we have scaffolding again the window as construction work was underway. We felt a bit cheated for the price we paid as we expected nice views. I think we we had not have been there for WMOF2018 and too preoccupied with events and excited about seeing Pope Francis we would have complained.. I certainly would have not paid the cost of the room under other circumstances for what we recieved. The free box of chocolates was a nice touch but didn't go half the way to make up for the room allocation and construction work. The hotel did not mention the construction work at time of booking nor was it mentioned on checking in which was disappointing as room rates should have been lowered....

The rooms themselves are comfortable.. Although they still could be made a bit more stylish. The annoying thing is lack of plug sockets next to the bed as there was none which made charging your phone annoying....

One downside to the hotels location is that there is not many places to eat or drink near the hotel.

Although the hotel is a great location for access to RDS and Aviva stadium it is a bit too far out of Dublin centre to walk to the major abstractions. This is not too much of an issue as you can hop on the number 7 or 4 bus which is located outside the US embassy. Be warned though you have to have the correct change for the bus as notes are not accepted. The fair is €2.80. Or you can pick up a 3 day bus pass or daily bus pass from the air port bus information desk. The bus ride is only 10mins and the buses run every 10 mins or so so you never wait too long.

To get to Dublin city from the airport by bus you can get the 474 from the airport to O'Connell Street and then jump on the 4 or 7 bus to herbert park. Ask for the RDS stop.

Overall the hotel is a nice little hotel if you dont want to be located in the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank trippopelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

It’s a nice quite hotel , walking steps from Herbert Park which is excellent for morning run , little bit far from city center and touristic attractions , food is ok not the best in town but ok , free WIFI

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank George-Albert-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We recently spent three nights at this top class hotel and could not recommend it high enough. From the reception staff on our arrival of Dominic and Gerard the entire team at the hotel could not do enough to make our stay a pleasant one
The food in the bar is of the highest quality so well done to the chef while the terrace staff are welcoming ,friendly and very knowledgeable re the menu. Our evening server Dharman was particularly pleasant and friendly. The cleanliness of the hotel is of an exceptional quality and the hotel is ideally situated to tour Dublin City Centre. Over the course of our stay we had occasion to visit some of Dublin's iconic hotels but none could surpass the staff of the Herbert Park for the service they provide. We will return and well done!
Derek and Deirdre (Cork)

Stayed: August 2018
2  Thank derek o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Lovely hotel great location , staff really made our short stay very enjoyable.
Dominic on reception was extremely helpful and such a nice guy, made us laugh, with his jokes. The rooms are all very well furnished and very clean, great coffee machine .

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Paulalan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews